We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldest cafe in town”
Review of Nya Konditoriet

Nya Konditoriet
Ranked #5 of 5 Quick Bites in Umea
Description: Classic pastry shop and bakery in the central of Umeå.
Restaurant details
Description: Classic pastry shop and bakery in the central of Umeå.
Reviewed December 10, 2015

This place still got charm. On the upper deck you can sit down and enjoy some silence with coffe and maybe a cake with a view over town.
On the ground floor you can buy things to go.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank tomash918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 75 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2015

It has been around forever it seems but every time we visit it we are satisfied when we leave . It is a bit of a landmark among the cafes in Umeå and more than well worth a visit in this "fikatown"

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Birgitta-Kenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2015 via mobile

Nya Konditoriet, best known as NK, is a long time staple in Umeå. The bakery and café in the town center is a favorite meeting place for many.

They have a wide range of cakes, sandwiches, cookies, muffins and tarts to suit anyone's fancy. I ordered a chocolate espresso cake that was heavenly. The most difficult thing is choosing only one item, since everything looks so temping.

Unfortunately, the brewed coffee was borderline undrinkable and not nearly worth the 28 kronor they charge. It's so bad that you won't take advantage of the free refills. Sadly, it ruined the overall experience. You'd expect more from a quality café.

My advice is to order a specialty coffee (espresso or cappuccino) to ensure the quality of your "fika" at NK.

They lose one star due to the sub-par coffee. I'll definitely return in the future but will drink tap water or a cappuccino next time.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank bigapplesverige04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2015

When I’m abroad I always try to also have my “afternoon tea”. In Umea I noticed this nice outdoor café and went in to buy a tea with a cake. Very nice place, friendly staff.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leffex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2015

Old-fashioned style, on the verge of looking ready to be refurbished. High-quality "fika". Perfect place for cafe´ nostalgics- Ordinary for other cathegories.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Swedishtraveller767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nya Konditoriet also viewed

Umea, Vasterbotten County
Umea, Vasterbotten County
 
Umea, Vasterbotten County
Umea, Vasterbotten County
 
Umea, Vasterbotten County
 

Been to Nya Konditoriet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing