We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but nothing to rave about”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ProfilHotels Hotel Aveny
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Umea
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good but nothing to rave about”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

Firstly my gripes:
1) Bed too soft - both myself and my colleague got sore backs!
2) The space in the shower doors - there is a space under and in the middle of the shower doors which therefore soaks the tiny bathroom and the bath matt

The hotel itself is very nice and the restaurant excellent (especially the steak).
The rooms are modern and have everything you need for business (fast free internet).
I would choose to stay here for business but not for pleasure - the rooms are quite small and despite having a double room you get 2 single duvet covers.

I have also stayed at the best western and, despite it being not nearly as modern, I had a huge room and a better breakfast there (and it probably cost less and is in a better location!)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emi2786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    109
    51
    3
    5
See reviews for
35
94
11
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

I was travelling alone on business and stayed at Hotel Aveny. The staff were very helpful and the rooms were clean and modern. I was particularly pleased to see that there was a set of dumbbells in my room since I had my exercise DVD with me! The breakfast was very good - lovely rye bread! The university is only 10 mins away by taxi so it was very handy for me. I had room service in the evening and it was very good.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankietwospots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2008

The hotel is situated in the city and this was evident due to the noise which partly originated from their own restaurant and Scottish Theme Pub, as well as the other surrounding leisure amenities. The noise started around 11 and went on till around 3 in the morning. The room although air conditioned, was too hot and even with the heating turned off, would not allow a comfortable enviroment to sleep in. The bed was also too soft.
The wash basin was situated outside of the shower/toilet cubicle which appeared odd, not too mention the frosted door which left very little to the imagination especially as it faced an opposing mirror making the subject visible to everybody in the room!
A satisfying breakfast was served till 11am. The hotel in general was clean and the staff appeared to be helpful, although they were unable to transfer us to a different room when we complained about the noise. This was despite the hotel being fairly empty after Xmas day. Due to these annoying factors we rated this hotel more of a three star rather than the four it states.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sweedy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2008

very nice hotel situated in the centre of town near stations.
Hotel is very modern, with modern decor. Rooms are well furnished but I did not like the wash basin idea. Shower is excellent. beds are extremely soft & gave me back ache. So moved the top part on to the floor.
Never got to try the restaurant as it was always full...a good sign??
You also get a 50K voucher for each nights stay...one free small beer.
Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Akersolinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2008

The hotel is conveniently located about 2 minutes walk from the station and the town centre, it's also got free underground heated parking which is really useful if you're there in winter as we were. The staff are helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included in our rate, which was extremely welcome given the price of things in general. The room itself was clean, modern and warm. The bathroom was a on the small side and if you're travelling with friends does lack a certain amount of privacy with a frosted glass door. The hotel itself is modern and has a restaurant downstairs and a pub next door. The town is definitely worth a visit, and the countryside around it is beautiful (specially in winter)

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bear73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umea hotels
0.1 km away
Comfort Hotel Winn
Comfort Hotel Winn
#3 of 14 in Umea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.3 km away
Stora Hotellet Umea
Stora Hotellet Umea
#1 of 14 in Umea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.3 km away
Elite Hotel Mimer
Elite Hotel Mimer
#4 of 14 in Umea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Uman
0.4 km away
Scandic Plaza Umea
Scandic Plaza Umea
#6 of 14 in Umea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.4 km away
First Hotel Dragonen
First Hotel Dragonen
#8 of 14 in Umea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ProfilHotels Hotel Aveny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ProfilHotels Hotel Aveny

Property: ProfilHotels Hotel Aveny
Address: 14 Raadhusesplanaden, Umea 903 28, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Vasterbotten County > Umea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Umea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ProfilHotels Hotel Aveny 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avenue Hotel is a design hotel located in central Umeå. The hotel is designed for those with high demands on quality and service and seeking an accommodation with exciting and different surroundings. All rooms are equipped with Carpe Diem beds, rain shower and mini bar. Hotel suites include jacuzzi and sauna.Guests have free Wi-Fi and free access to Formtoppen, one of the city's best gym located in the same building.The hotel's own restaurant, Angelini, serves à la carte dishes inspired by the Italian and American cuisine. If you prefer a snack or just a drink, you have the pleasant lounge bar. For those who prefer rustic pub food, beer or whiskey, you are welcome to join us at our own pub, The Pipes of Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ProfilHotels Hotel Aveny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aveny Hotel Umeå

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing