We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spindrift Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$116
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Surf Motel(Umdloti)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Sorgente(Umdloti)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Lazy Lizard(Umdloti)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
17
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hostsfriendly dogsnature reservemain beachbraai facilitiesrestaurants and shopsserviced dailyindian oceangreat viewwithin walking distancesea viewjudyrainbirdpatkingfishercottagevenue
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 26 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2016

My wife and I stayed at Spindrift Guest House three nights at the end of January 2016. The spacious room has beautiful terrace with stunning view on the ocean. The house is surrounded with beautiful garden with lots of birds. You feel like in a heaven. Judy, the host, is very nice and friendly. Strongly recommended!

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Jaromír G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2015 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying here for more than one occasion, very nice accommodation just be mindful of the monkeys as this is a nature reserve, walking distance to the beach and the owner Judy is very nice, will recommend it anytime awesome place.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank machabam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2015

I usually keep an eye on the birding and wildlife potential offered by any accommodation that I book on my travels. The allure of doing some bird photography and viewing whilst on other business or pleasure is an opportunity not to be missed. And Spindrift came out tops in both its proximity to nature and the quality of the accommodation it provides. The facility is on the edge of the indigenous forest in Umdhloti. The owners are very nature conscious and their efforts in preserving the natural environment lends itself to the presence of some very uncommon bird species on the property. Whilst I was there I was fortunate to mark up three Southern African bird species that I had not seen before. But enough for the nature-what of the accommodation? I spent three nights in the Loerie cottage comprising a lounge and kitchenette and a separate bedroom and en suite bathroom-now thats a lot of space to move in, in a bed and breakfast establishment-but space well appreciated. Good bed, good mattress, clean linen which is chnaged daily, bathroom accessories included soap lotion-I would have preferred a bar of soap rather. The kitchen has sufficient uitensils to allow for a good self catering experience. The area is very peaceful, safe and quiet (with a lot of bird chirping of course). The beach is within two hundred metres of the facility and access to a long stretch of good sea shore is available. The owners are very friendly and I spent some good time chatting to them. And all of this for R650 for the Loerie unit per night (without breakfast and for two people. This accommodation must rank very highly as one of the bed and breakfast gems close to Durban-highly recommended.

Room Tip: it is best to discuss your space requirements with the owners
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bhoops2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2014

Spindrift offers exactly what we want from a coastal hideaway - two blocks away from the quieter side of the beach, a patio with a view of the ocean, everything we need for an easy self-catering break, near the airport, parking, in a little area with just enough to walk to and everything else a short drive away if we need it. And sweet, well-mannered dogs, and a lovely host. And chocolate biscuits on arrival.

Room Tip: Pick one of the two cottages with a patio (sea view)
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRPenfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Absolutely wonderful place to go for a family beach holiday . Set in the green canopy of coastal forest with good birdwatching, the short walk down to the beach through a tunnel of dappled
light and back again after a glorious hot morning on the private beach was one of many
highlights. Very clean, simple rooms in blue and white were comfortable. The balcony upstairs,
(leading off lounge and kitchen) which looks out over the sea was so relaxing- especially with a cup of coffee and a rusk early in the morning. Our hosts, Pat and Judy were warm and welcoming
and very tolerant of excited children. The outside shower with HOT water was a boon for the
sandy kids. Well serviced and equipped we cannot wait to return .

Room Tip: kingfisher is double story with good balcony and sea view. Loerie is,one bedroom downstairs comfy but no sea view. Rain bird has erything but is up long stairs. All nice though.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews