We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umdloti
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spindrift Guest House
Reviewed 12 January 2017

We had our summer holiday as family with 4 teenaged boys in the Kingfisher unit. Fantastic unit, very idyllic setting, tropical feel being so close to the nature reserve. Was an excellent choice being so close to the beach and quiet neighbourhood. Units was nicely serviced daily which helped a lot. The patio and braai facilities with sea views gave the relaxation factor. Kids could even play xbox on the rainy days :). Thanks Judy and Pat

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank kjacobs708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Owner at Spindrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Thank you for your lovely response. Hope we see you all again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2017

This is the second time we've stayed at Spindrift Guest House - this time in Loerie Cottage. Our first visit two years prior, my entire family took advantage of this wonderfully-located venue and occupied all its accommodation offerings. The perfect choice in the beautiful locale of Umdloti whether you're a single business person seeking a seaside refuge, couples, family groups or friends wanting an affordable venue as a base. Appointed with all the essentials you require for a self-catering holiday, Spindrift host Judy Bean is super-attentive and always on hand if need be to assist and advise. Our 'space' at Loerie Cottage was quiet, relaxing and incredibly restful. Staff service superb! Definitely on our 'we'll be back' list!

Room Tip: All room options offer their own unique appeal and views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

2-9 January 2017
We spend 7 nights in the Rainbird Unit as a family of 4. The kids ages 8 and 11 loved every minute. With a 2 minute walk to the beach, we spotted monkeys, buck, beautiful birds and dolphins a few times too. Restaurants and shops conveniently located. Judy and Pat are lovely hosts and added a personal touch to our visit. Units are clean and tidy and serviced daily, including fresh towels. Would love to come visit again and highly recommend to friends and family!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Lynette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

My wife and I have stayed here several times for a couple of weeks at a time, when I travel with work. We just love it. It's rural settings (out of season), peace and quiet, and with easy access to the beach, restaurants, basic shops, the N2 highway and the airport, all makes Spindrift our only choice. Judy and Pat always have the place spotless, everything works - it really is like coming home. Our favourite is the Lourie cottage.

Room Tip: Lourie is ground floor which means no stairs. The other suites have amazing sea views but with steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Spindrift is an affordable option for any traveller. Even though there is no direct view of he ocean, one is merely short walk from the beach. The hosts and cleaners are friendly and welcoming. We arrived late at night with no problem to access the guesthouse at the late hour.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Heinrich T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

My wife, I and our 17 month old stayed at this wonderful venue. Perfect location, quiet and well maintained with all amenities covered, even serviced units daily. Owners are hands on and check on you often. Will be back!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank terencetobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Have stayed here several times over the years and I have to say I would not stay anywhere else in Umdloti.
Judy and her husband Pat are very welcoming and attentive without crowding you.
The Kingfisher apartment has a large balcony, a braai and fantastic views of the Indian ocean. You are literally a three minute walk from the sea.
Always leave feeling totally relaxed and itching to return.

Room Tip: If you can book the Kingfisher you will not be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carlito1074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umdloti hotels
1.4 km away
Dolphin View Cabanas
Dolphin View Cabanas
#2 of 7 in Umdloti
17 reviews
0.7 km away
Fairlight Beach House
Fairlight Beach House
#1 of 8 in Umdloti
318 reviews
0 km away
Umdloti Letting & Sales
Umdloti Letting & Sales
#1 of 2 in Umdloti
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Greenfire Lodge Dolphin Coast
0.9 km away
Umdloti Milkwood
Umdloti Milkwood
#3 of 7 in Umdloti
8 reviews
2 km away
No photo provided
Sorgente
#5 of 7 in Umdloti
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Guest House

Address: 10 Fifth Avenue | Umdloti Beach, Durban, Kwazulu, Natal , South Africa, Umdloti 4350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umdloti
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Umdloti
Price Range: $3 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spindrift Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded, Upmarket, self-catering units situated in a small coastal town on the East Coast. Beautiful, subtropical garden surrounded by coastal forest overlooking the sea. All units have magnificent sea views and we're only 180 metres from a lovely swimming beach. Whales and dolphins frequently seen between July - January Abundant bird life for enthusiasts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing