We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than satisfying”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First Hotel Christian IV
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Kristianstad
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Having stayed at the Christian IV in Kristianstad two nights in the summer of 2008, we cannot recommend the hotel.

When we arrived a very timid receptionist just handed us the key to a narrow dark room with a view straight into a yellowish brick wall and with the noise of ventilators. Walking back to the reception we asked for a better room, with a little more air, almost without a word we were sent to the fourth floor, and a room almost above the other, filled up with a double bed and to extra beds. We did not need a four bedroom with no floor space at all and so we went down again. Turned out that the receptionist apparently did not know the location of the rooms, and by the way twice the conversation was interrupted because he had to listen at length to someone on the phone. We finally tried a third room, on the fifth floor in the attic. It was very hot under the roof and with a low sloping ceiling over half the room. We gave up tired of going up and down after a lenghty journey, and accepted the room on the premise that the third bed was removed.

Breakfast took place in a room that was not very inviting, to say at least. Half the buffet was in one end of the room, the other half in a separate room at the opposite end. Which certainly made for at a lot of traffic back and forth. Music was provided by an old transistor radio placed on the floor, and some of the windows were so dirty you could barely see through them.

Although a “First” hotel there was certainly nothing first about the parts of the hotel that we saw.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
1  Thank Via2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
There are newer reviews for First Hotel Christian IV
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2006

Building is a former bank, very impressing from the outside.
Big room with "cuddle"-chairs
Receptionist very helpful to find out where to buy the pillows they had in the bedrooms.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2005

We got a very good rate on this hotel and weren't sure of what to expect. We travelled around Sweden for 2 weeks and this is in the top of our list of hotels. The building is the nicest in town, room was very big, service was very friendly and helpful and breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fuencarral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2005

Stayed here Aug 24-26. Kristianstad is a small town and this hotel right across the street from the train station. You can walk anywhere downtown from this hotel. The rooms were good size. Did not have very good water pressure in my room on the 4th floor. Hotel also had a power outage for 10 minutes one morning. Nice little hotel in downtown Kristianstad close to the train station.

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pikapptcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank N590JDconniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janus_LC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cajsastina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kristianstad hotels
0.2 km away
Quality Hotel Grand
Quality Hotel Grand
#2 of 7 in Kristianstad
369 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Duxiana Kristianstad
Hotel Duxiana Kristianstad
#4 of 7 in Kristianstad
29 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Bishops Arms
Hotel Bishops Arms
#6 of 7 in Kristianstad
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Stads Hotellet Kristianstad
Stads Hotellet Kristianstad
#3 of 7 in Kristianstad
78 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Hotel Anno 1937
Best Western Hotel Anno 1937
#5 of 7 in Kristianstad
84 reviews
2.3 km away
Annas Hotell
Annas Hotell
#1 of 7 in Kristianstad
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Christian IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Christian IV

Address: 15 Vaestra Boulevarden, Kristianstad 291 31, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Kristianstad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Kristianstad
Price Range: $119 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Hotel Christian IV 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your First Hotel Christian IV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hotel Kristianstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing