We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
First Hotel Mortensen
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Reviewed 17 September 2011

A very conveniently-located hotel in the historic centre of Malmö, and in a building with character. Friendly reception and we were given a spacious room on the 1st floor (1st above ground-level) with an adequate bathroom (shower only – although the shower-door leaked out water). The elevator seemed very slow but we had no real need to use it being on the 1st floor. Although a “4-star” hotel it didn’t have the expected “extras” (found in chain-hotels), but that didn’t really matter, especially when only a weekend stay of 2 nights. The buffet breakfast was very good (and happened to be included in the pre-booking). There was also a free internet terminal + a mini-library on our floor hallway. Sound-proofed windows kept out the street noise, and the absence of air-conditioning wasn’t an issue at that time of year (and no need of heating either).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lexyleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

The building itself is very interesting with style.
All the rooms are nicely decorated with tapestries and antique like furniture.
All the windows are double shilded from the street noise.
Our room (triple room) was very spacy.
Breakfast was excellent in plenty and with very tasty salmon sandwiches.
It is located 10 minutes from Malmo Central railway station and near the Lila Torg lovely square.
There is an elevator in the hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed two nights here on a business trip and found this hotel has a good price/value rate.
Hotel Baltzar's main advantage is it's central location since it is in the middle of the pedestrian area of Malmö, everything is within walking distance. Lobby area is nice, the breakfast is ok and the bed is comfortable enough but on the other hand my room's only window looked to an internal utility shaft and my colleague room was full of dustballs until he mentioned it to the staff.
But overall, I recommend Hotel Baltzar to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nygyuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Very convenient and comfortable central hotel. We requested a superior room and were pleased with the spaciousness.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardener080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

You cannot live more in the centre of Malmö.
We arrived on a friday evening and they had a jazz trio playing soft music. Super nice!
We ate a light meal and drank cava, spanish "champagne", for very reasonable prices, in the restaurant.
Had a perfect saturday morning breakfast and then just stepped out of the door and we were in the middle of beautiful Malmö.
A four star hotel at the top of the scale.
I would recommend hotel Baltzar anytime.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BalooStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We stayed at the Baltzar Hotel one night in Dec 2010; on transit to Germany. Public parking garage close by; the hotel is clean, breakfast choice was excellent. We got a very large room on the top floor, almost a suite. Beds were a bit soft, but OK. Bathroom somewhat small, compared to the room size, but good and clean. Very friendly staff! Location couldn't be better, you step out of the door and you're in the heart of Malmö. Would certainly go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thearndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Cozy and centrally located. We just stayed for one night and the only negative part was that the room was a bit hot at night. Besides that i would really recommend this charming hotel. It was really wort the 850 SEK we payed!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom_and_molly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Scandic Stortorget
Scandic Stortorget
#26 of 37 in Malmo
409 reviews
Gamla Staden
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#20 of 37 in Malmo
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Scandic S:t Jorgen
Scandic S:t Jorgen
#15 of 37 in Malmo
886 reviews
Gamla Staden
Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo
Gamla Staden
Elite Hotel Residens
Elite Hotel Residens
#21 of 37 in Malmo
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Mortensen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Mortensen

Address: 45 Baltzarsgatan, Malmo 211 36, Sweden (Formerly Hotel Baltzar)
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
Price Range: $119 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Mortensen 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your First Hotel Mortensen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltzar Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing