We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Reviewed 1 October 2009

I stayed at Hotel Astoria during a 4 night stay in Malmo. Just a short walk from Central Station and very easy to find. Check in was quick. My room was the smallest I've ever stayed in; measuring approx 12 x 14 feet and consisting of a single bed, bedside table, tv & desk, an open 'wardrobe', shower, sink, hairdryer & toilet. However it was clean, comfortable and quiet.
Pack toothpaste and hair conditioner as the soap available is in a dispenser both by the sink and in the shower. (I actually used it to wash my hair and it was perfectly fine)
Breakfast consisted of cold meats, cheeses, some cereals, various breads and boiled eggs as well as coffee, juices, milk and yoghurt.
The staff are helpful and friendly.
The lovely square of 'Lille Torg' is a corner away and I would recommend the restaurants there. Shopping is also a little further down from Lille Torg.
If you are looking for a small, central hotel I would easily recommend the Astoria.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimoneC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2009

I've recently been to Malmo and had the oportunity to stay at Astoria Hotell. I must say that the room was rather small but fot my trip purposes (i.e. a place to sleep) it was worth the money. Room was very clean and one big plus from my point of view is that in my room there was a little plant which I must say made me feel like home, it didn't give me the impression that I was staying in a hotel at all. Also, in every room the hotel displays paintings/photos of young artists which are for sale for anyone interested.
The receptionists were very friendly and have been very helpful. I would definitely go there again and I am going to recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to travel to Malmo.
Wireless internet was provided after asking at reception for details.
Location was excellent - within a couple of minutes from several squares with intense night life, from city train station and from a bus station for those going or coming from Malmo airport.
I think this summarizes it all...

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sim0na_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2006

I just happend to run across my photos of our hotel room in Malmo and thought I'd post them for everyone.

We made a one night stay in Malmo in April of this year (2006)on our way back to the States and booked a room at: Astoria Hotell Gråbrödersgatan 7, Malmö, Sweden Phone: +46 (40)78660, Fax: +46 (40) 78870.

We had a very clean, comfortable double room and, although we spent little waking time there, we enjoyed it quite well. I don't think we'll ever get used to the European style of bedding (2=1), and never encountered an actual double bed on the trip, but the bed(s) at the Astoria were very comfortable.

There was a construction site across the street but since we were there on a weekend there was no one working, thus, no noise. Since that was 8 months ago the construction may be finished by now. We paid 895 SEK for the night.

The breakfast, though not as impressive as those at Hotel Siesta in Karlskrona, was very nice. It's bit of a walk from the train depot (about a 1/2 mile) but not a problem if you're a tourist.

All in all, I'd recommend this place for the average, middle class, tourist and perhaps a stay here, with a commute would give you more for your money rather than staying in Copenhagen.
Oh yea,,, check out St Peter's Church. Beautiful!

4  Thank oldfolkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Maje A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kannibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Goyo333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Good Morning+ Malmo
#23 of 37 in Malmo
578 reviews
Gamla Staden
Moment Hotels
Moment Hotels
#19 of 37 in Malmo
380 reviews
Teaterhotellet
#31 of 37 in Malmo
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#13 of 37 in Malmo
1,479 reviews
Gamla Staden
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#20 of 37 in Malmo
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: 7 Graabroedersgatan, Malmo 211 21, Sweden (Formerly Hotel Astoria Malmo)
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range: $82 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our guests a quiet and cozy atmosphere with Malmoe's fantastic range of entertainment is just around the corner. You will find us in the beautifully preserved district of the Old Town, "Gamla Vaster" with just a few minutes walking distance to Lilla Torg and Malmo Central Station. Our lush courtyard is a relaxing oasis during the warmer months and in our breakfast area tea and coffee is at your convenience. Whether you are visiting us privately or you are traveling for business, we would like you to have a pleasant and comfortable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing