We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Helpful staff, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Hotel Witt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
First Hotel Witt
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Kalmar
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

I think we have stayed at every hotel in Kalmar, one time or another, except at Witt. And I have always thought all Kalmar hotels overpriced. Until now. Witt is still not inexpensive. But the staff is very service-minded (unlike at some hotels that I can think of where the staff makes you feel like you intrude on their privacy when you ask to pay...), the breakfast buffet is good and well tended (son loved fresh waffles for breakfast!), and the location is very good.
That the rooms are only average and that the corridors and lifts seems to have seen better days is a small thing in light of a staff who make you feel at ease. Even the breakfast felt peaceful, no pressure for hurry or worry over not getting this or that item on the buffet.

I might add that we got a large room, as we need an extra bed for our son. I think some of the "normal" rooms are rather small but ours had ample floorspace.

A pleasant place to stay and of the down-town options in Kalmar this is the one I'd recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Busifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    66
    109
    82
    36
See reviews for
80
152
15
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Very friendly staff and big and comfy rooms, TV separated from the bedroom, but again, the price was a bit too high for this type of hotel. Other than that, it was very nice, and the location is near the harbour and the restaurant area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristiana2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We/I have visited the SE region of Sweden many times over the last number of years. Have nearly always stayed at the Clarion, think its called Packhuset. For a change booked the Witt.
Next to the main square, by the sea, excellent facilities, breakfast great and room clean and comfortable. Also very helpful staff/ management. What more can you say. Will definately use this hotel when in the Kalmar region in future.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff they will give you the best room anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMS1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Right in the center of downtown Kalmar, fairly newly renovated. Our double room was extremely small but the staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is substantial and good!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzannah1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at First Hotel Witt, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Thank you for your review. We are always looking for new ways to improve our breakfast, so hopefully it taste even better next time you stay with us. For a small amount we will also upgrade you to a larger room, we have plenty of different roomcategories to choose between.

Yours sincerelly,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

I stayed in this hotel almost one year ago and I have to admit that the service have been improved. The staff was very friendly, hotel's atmosphere is great and location superb. Rooms are not too big, but are nice and well equiped.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xixarrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

When I booked the hotel, I got inspired by the pictures, but they do not really show what you will find at the location. The rooms are nice and clean, but very small. You can hardly pass the bed without knocking over something or running into your partner. The same happens if someone is in the bathroom, which is very small, too. The staff members were not too friendly. There was one nice women at the counter when we checked in, but after that no one talked to us again, not at breakfast and not at check out. The breakfast selection is ok, but we had trouble finding a table because it got really crowded and people started putting down their room keys to reserve a table while they went to get their plates and food.
The overall appearance is not the best because the hotel does not look nice from the outside and also the lobby is not the most inviting. The location is great because you can walk and see most of the city from there. Parking is a little confusing, there is parking out front but you need to remove the car early and there is a garage which we did not find.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary0128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Sussex
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

Although the hotel looked bland from the outside on its website, I was tempted by the pictures of the rooms, which looked smarter than they turned out to be. The smell of stale fug in the reception area gave a bad first impression.

We'd booked a family room (would have preferred 2 rooms with interconnecting doors, but this was difficult to find at any hotel), but when we went to our room 101 (should have known!), it only had a double bed and would not have fitted two separate beds in.
Luckily they had a larger room available, but it was very cramped for 4 of us and got very hot in the night (no comments please!) At least it was quiet.

The decor isn't as fresh as it looks on the website. Breakfast was in a typical large conference-type restaurant, although the selection of food was ok and you could make your own waffles with batter that you pour onto a griddle.

There's a pool in the basement and a sauna. If you've got young children, be careful with the pool as it's 1.4m deep (the far end looks shallow, but it isn't).

There's on-street parking, but you need to move the car early.

Had one of the worst meals ever at a restaurant on the same side of the road further down (can't remember the name). Soggy pasta with a tiny bit of sauce from a jar for SK 150.

Kalmar is lovely though, especially near the castle.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeLoveEurope_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalmar hotels
0.3 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Packhuset
0.1 km away
ProfilHotels Calmar Stadshotell
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Slottshotellet
Hotel Slottshotellet
#6 of 12 in Kalmar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.4 km away
Frimurare Hotellet
Frimurare Hotellet
#4 of 12 in Kalmar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
3.1 km away
Scandic Kalmar West
Scandic Kalmar West
#3 of 12 in Kalmar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Witt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Witt

Property: First Hotel Witt
Address: 42 Soedra Laanggatan, Kalmar 392 31, Sweden (Formerly FIRST HOTEL WITT)
Region: Sweden > Kalmar County > Kalmar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Kalmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Hotel Witt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located near town center, 400 meters from train station & 5 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your First Hotel Witt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hotel Kalmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing