We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rates way too high for value you get”
Review of First Hotel Witt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First Hotel Witt
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Kalmar
Reviewed 20 August 2010

When I booked the hotel, I got inspired by the pictures, but they do not really show what you will find at the location. The rooms are nice and clean, but very small. You can hardly pass the bed without knocking over something or running into your partner. The same happens if someone is in the bathroom, which is very small, too. The staff members were not too friendly. There was one nice women at the counter when we checked in, but after that no one talked to us again, not at breakfast and not at check out. The breakfast selection is ok, but we had trouble finding a table because it got really crowded and people started putting down their room keys to reserve a table while they went to get their plates and food.
The overall appearance is not the best because the hotel does not look nice from the outside and also the lobby is not the most inviting. The location is great because you can walk and see most of the city from there. Parking is a little confusing, there is parking out front but you need to remove the car early and there is a garage which we did not find.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary0128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2010

Although the hotel looked bland from the outside on its website, I was tempted by the pictures of the rooms, which looked smarter than they turned out to be. The smell of stale fug in the reception area gave a bad first impression.

We'd booked a family room (would have preferred 2 rooms with interconnecting doors, but this was difficult to find at any hotel), but when we went to our room 101 (should have known!), it only had a double bed and would not have fitted two separate beds in.
Luckily they had a larger room available, but it was very cramped for 4 of us and got very hot in the night (no comments please!) At least it was quiet.

The decor isn't as fresh as it looks on the website. Breakfast was in a typical large conference-type restaurant, although the selection of food was ok and you could make your own waffles with batter that you pour onto a griddle.

There's a pool in the basement and a sauna. If you've got young children, be careful with the pool as it's 1.4m deep (the far end looks shallow, but it isn't).

There's on-street parking, but you need to move the car early.

Had one of the worst meals ever at a restaurant on the same side of the road further down (can't remember the name). Soggy pasta with a tiny bit of sauce from a jar for SK 150.

Kalmar is lovely though, especially near the castle.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeLoveEurope_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Stayed here for a conference for a couple of nights.
The receptionist was not very helpful re. the parking opportunities nearby, as the parking basement was full. Took a while finding a parking spot.
Breakfast was fine.
Rooms are stylish and spacious. Wi-fi connection worked fine.
Location is smack in the middle of town.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGlen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2007

Stayed for 2 nights.
I didn't have any reservation so directly visited this hotel so got very good price.
Taxi driver recommended "Packhuset" which was very close to this hotel but First hotel was also nice hotel.
Room (and bed) was small but it cleaned enough.
There was very nice restaurant near by.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank live_baby_live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Chester, N.H. U.S.A.
18
Reviewed 5 January 2004

My two sisters and I stayed at the First Hotel Witt in June, 2002 and were very pleased. We had had trouble finding hotels able to provide a triple room for us so that we could all be together, and First Hotel Witt was very accomodating. We were in Sweden to look up family sites and relatives, and our grandfather was born in Ryskey, not far from Kalmar. Hotel staff helped us to figure out the bus we should take to go to Ryskey. We also needed to reach our cousin, who lived in Valborg, by e-mail, when we arrived in country, to let him know our approximate arrival time in Gothenberg. The person at the desk directed us to a computer we could use, but when we had trouble with it, she very graciously allowed us to use the one in her office. Our travel agent had not been able to find us a hotel in Kalmar, so my sister found First Hotel Witt on the internet, and made our reservations, and we were very pleased. The room rate was very acceptable for our budget, and the service was very friendly and helpful. We would dearly love to be able to return some day!!

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Barbro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stigaakel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalmar
0.3 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Packhuset
0.0 km away
ProfilHotels Calmar Stadshotell
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus Kalmarsund Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Scandic Kalmar West
Scandic Kalmar West
#3 of 11 in Kalmar
318 reviews
6.4 km away
Hotel Skansen
Hotel Skansen
#1 of 1 in Farjestaden
464 reviews
0.4 km away
Frimurare Hotellet
Frimurare Hotellet
#6 of 11 in Kalmar
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Witt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Witt

Address: 42 Soedra Laanggatan, Kalmar 392 31, Sweden (Formerly FIRST HOTEL WITT)
Region: Sweden > Kalmar County > Kalmar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Kalmar
Price Range: $130 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Hotel Witt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located near town center, 400 meters from train station & 5 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Witt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hotel Kalmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing