We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”
Review of Stockholm Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stockholm Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2015

The hostel is clean and comfortable. Reception was efficient, but not welcoming or friendly. The location is out of the city center. The metro stop by the hostel is 5 minutes walk and the ride is about 7 minutes to the city center. Stockholm public transport is excellent. As we had purchased the Stockholm Card, using the metro was no problem. We selected this hostel because everything else was booked. We stayed in a private double room. The room was affordable and the bed was comfortable. There was no window in the room, it got pretty stuffy, but not too hot. Our room was directly off the spacious and well stocked kitchen. We heard no noise and it was very quiet. Bed sheets and towels were not included in the price. There was fast free Wifi and a TV in our room. Unlike the other hostels we stayed in on our Eurotrip, this one did not encourage community or socializing among guests. They had a strict no alcohol policy, which we heard from friends is the law in all hostels in Stockholm. The neighborhood seemed very safe. There were cafes and supermarkets within walking distance, but no visibly good restaurants or attractions. If you are looking to meet fellow travelers or have a fun time, this is not the hostel for you. If you are looking for a safe, quiet place to stay I would recommend it. I would probably try a different hostel if I returned to Stockholm.

Room Tip: Our room didn't have a window. Very quiet despite being right off the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fLoweRsT92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2015

+helpful receptionists
+clean rooms
+reasonably priced
+good location
+big kitchen & fridge (although we didn’t use it)
+even though is pretty small very nice and simple interior decoration

-room has no window
-we had to pay 10 SEK/paper for printing
-no shower curtain
-reception’s closed from 8.00-15.00

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mila X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Mei F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 June 2015

we tried to save USD 10/night and got the private bathroom that was not connected to the room. This turned out to be room #16. The location was very close to the lobby so not much privacy coming and going. Room was clean, big and spacious but bunk bed had nasty squeak first night. Next night pushed up against wall. All doors are heavy which leads to loud vibrations throughout. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. We did not use/see the kitchen area. Two blocks from subway or an easy 20 minute walk to central station.

Room Tip: See comments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 93andcounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2015

Clean and quiet. I liked the no-alcohol rule. Awesome kitchen facilities, it had two big fridges and a freezer.

I found the room a little bit warm. Maybe to have fans available will be a great improvement.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cari12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2015

Location great - close to a metro station and price very reasonable so can't really complain in an expensive city such as Stockholm. Beds were comfy enough and room nice and clean.
Will stay again if go back to Stockholm.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AliceB_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015

The hostel does a very good job and letting you know that this not for partiers. It's quiet, very clean, and easy to get to. It's a 5 minute train ride to the city center and there are a lot of great places to shop, eat, and buy groceries within blocks of the hostel. Note...it's not open from 8am - 3pm, but it's easy enough to arrange with them to get an access code to drop off your luggage before check-in.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluestar2151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
#9 of 154 in Stockholm
2,459 reviews
Norrmalm
Downtown Camper by Scandic
Downtown Camper by Scandic
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
346 reviews
Norrmalm
City Backpackers Hostel
City Backpackers Hostel
#1 of 72 in Stockholm
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
#6 of 72 in Stockholm
707 reviews
Kungsholmen
City Hostel
City Hostel
#2 of 72 in Stockholm
448 reviews
Vasastan
Hostel Dalagatan
Hostel Dalagatan
#13 of 72 in Stockholm
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stockholm Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockholm Hostel

Address: 15 Alstroemergatan, Stockholm 112 47, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Kungsholmen , Kungsholmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 72 Speciality Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range: $84 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stockholm Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stockholm Hostel is probably the most modern and tailored hostel in Sweden with a private bathroom in every room. We strive to deliver the best hostel experience in Stockholm and give you most value for money. We have 29 rooms. Everyone features flat screen television, internet access, comfortable beds and a unique design bathroom. The rooms range from 2 beds to 6 beds/room. We got a big beautiful social area in the centre of the hostel for people to meet each other. A big spacious kitchen for cooking any type of food. The location is just perfect. Restaurants and bars are around the corner as well as buses and subways. Shopping centre 50 metres away. According to our guests the best feature we got is our high service minded staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Stockholm Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing