We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Rival(Stockholm)
US$226
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Nobis Hotel(Stockholm)
US$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel C Stockholm(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
US$313
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Stockholm Slussen(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
US$180
US$157
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$215
US$184
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic No. 53(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
US$194
US$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Clarion Hotel Sign(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,741)
Filter reviews
1,741 results
Traveller rating
1,012
531
131
40
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,012
531
131
40
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscocktail barsea viewvasa museumbeautiful hotelperfect locationold townfirst floorcomfortable roomsgamla stanbusiness tripsuperior roomvisiting stockholmbreakfast buffetcity centreyogurtelevatormaxwell
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 1,741 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I visited from Australia
prior to a cruise. We spent three very pleasant days at this comfortable hotel.
We had one of their deluxe seaview rooms.
The view was indeed fabulous. The room was not huge, but that is Europe, neither was the ensuite but it was bright and clean.
Try to ask for a higher floor for a better view.
The breakfast served In their quaint dining room was very pleasant, lovely buffet or hot menu. Great for meals/drinks or coffee
on their lovely terrace watching the world goby. The location of this hotel is no. 1.
Very pleasant European style hotel, well refurbished with a gorgeous old style lift.
Wonderful friendly and professional staff
and special mention to their concierge
who is extremely helpful and welcoming.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Yveline Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar O, Informationsansvarig at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

Dear Yveline Q,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We are so pleased that you had a successful visit in Stockholm and enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Diplomat prior to your cruise. The Deluxe Sea View rooms have a wonderful view of the harbour and we are constantly working hard to improve the quality of our rooms and service. Do not hesitate to Contact our reservations department prior to your next visit so we can do our best to accommodate you with a room to meet your needs requirements. We thank you for your special mention to our wonderful concierge. They will also gladly assist you with any information or requests prior to your next visit and of course during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to both Hotel Diplomat and Stockholm again very soon for more adventures in Europe!

Kind regards,
Oscar Olsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, great room and comfy bed. The breakfast was fantastic, a lot of options and fresh fruit.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, over all a very nice hotel right by the water in Stockholm.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar O, Informationsansvarig at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

Dear Simon J,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your last stay with us in Stockholm and we hope to welcome you back again very soon. Please do not hesitate to contact our Concierge Service in preparation of your next stay so we can make it as comfortable as possible.

Kind regards,
Oscar Olsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2017

We stayed here three nights, and then one more night after a quick getaway within Sweden.

The location is fantastic - right in the middle of Stockholm and walking distance from many key attractions. The rooms were comfortable but a little small. The bathrooms were good, but the showers we ridiculously complicated - you'd need a minor engineering degree to work through the steps of turning on the water, switching between the handset and the showerhead, managing the flow, and regulating the temperature.

We didn't eat at the hotel - breakfast was not included - but enjoyed a couple of drinks at the bar with friendly and well trained bar staff.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anand C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar O, Informationsansvarig at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Dear Anand C,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are so happy that you chose to stay at Hotel Diplomat and that you enjoyed our wonderful location in Stockholm. We hope that our Reservations Department can help you find a more suitable room and an appropriate room rate with breakfast buffet included in the price next time so that you get the opportunity to enjoy our wonderful restaurant. We are sorry you found our shower system difficult and hope that our staff can assist you during your next visit! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Oscar Olsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2017

For price, rooms were disappointing. Bar was lackluster but the restaurant was good! I would give 3.5 if it was an option. The location is fun but don't go to the restaurant up the street, same address but just 1 Strandvaegen. They are a nightmare.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Kendra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar O, Informationsansvarig at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Dear Kendra B,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us at Hotel Diplomat during your last visit in Stockholm. We regret that you were not satisfied with your room size and hope that our Reservations Department can assist you with necessary information and requirements in preparation for your next stay. We always work very hard to satisfy all our valued guests and hope we can welcome you back for a more memorable stay. We are sorry about your negative experience at Strandvägen 1 and hope we can assist you with better restaurant tips next time that are more appropriate for you.

Kind regards,
Oscar Olsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2017 via mobile

Pro's:
Nice staff
Wonderful location
Window view is fantastic
Comfortable bedding
Cons:
Small shower
Hardly any closet or drawer space
Drinks in the downstairs bar are extremely expensive.
We were told at the front desk that the charges were normal for the area. Not true.
We were charged 457 DK ($57 US ) for 2 drinks. Similar 2 drinks in any other place did not exceed 216 DK.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Joyce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar O, Informationsansvarig at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Dear Joyce R,

Thank you for your positive feedback! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Diplomat and enjoyed your Sea View room and our prime location with proximity to Stockholms best attractions. We are sorry that you found the closet space too small to your liking. We work very hard to modify our prices in correlation to our closest competitors. We hope we can welcome you back to Stockholm for more enjoyable memories and that our Concierge Service can assist you with finding appropriate attractions and activities around Stockholm.

Kind regards,
Oscar Olsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews