We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & attentive, friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Diplomat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Diplomat
Ranked #11 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 nights in early September 2017. While booking with our travel agent a few months ago, I asked for a quiet room (away from elevators and street noise) and my request was granted. The room had a "view" of the courtyard near the rear, facing the apartment building next door. The room was very quiet but warm. I could not imagine staying here in a hot summer month without air conditioning or even a ceiling fan. This is why my overall rating is 4/5 (I would go 4.5 if that was an option). The elevated entryway led to a bedroom to the lower left and then a small sitting room with a TV, chairs and small refrigerator. The bathroom was to the right at entry door level.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Shout out to Maxwell who suggested that I walk a few blocks to pick up the rental car and walk back after returning the car later. I was just planning on taking a cab which would of cost me at least $25-$30 each way just to go less than a mile. He made sure we had space to park right in front as we loaded our bags.
We enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning and it was excellent. We had dinner in the restaurant there one night and again the service and food was great. We also used the spa/sauna one evening for an hour and it was very clean and relaxing. Unfortunately the hot tub was out of service.
The location was great and a walk across the bridge got you to museums. There is also a boat dock right across the street that has torus of the waterways and a "hop on - hop off" water taxi service.
If I return to the Östermalm, I would stay there again (and ask for a fan if it is warm in the room).

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar O, Informationsansvarig at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Tim R,

Thank you for your positive feedback! We are so glad you chose Hotel Diplomat for your last visit in Stockholm. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our prime location and managed to make the most of Stockholm!

Please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department prior to your next booking so that we can accommodate you with an adequate room. Fans and heaters are available for the rooms upon request depending on the season and our guests needs and we hope we can assist you better during your next visit.

We will pass on the message to our wonderful porter Maxwell and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

Kind regards,
Oscar Olsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 1,599 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I highly recommend the location - central, walkable and fantastic views from the rooms.
Maxwell greets you, remembers your name and handles just about any request you may have with grace. He made us feel at home. The concierge and front desk staff were equally good. The cafe/deli on the ground floor is the perfect spot for coffee and pastry, beautiful fresh fruit and outstanding service. The room was lovely - large with expansive views.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a corner junior suite which was well worth it for the space and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lomacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar O, Informationsansvarig at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear lomacd,

Thank you for your positive feedback! We are so glad you had a pleasant stay with us and that you had the chance of meeting our wonderful porter Maxwell along with our other wonderful staff. We hope to welcome you back again very soon for more explorations of our beautiful hotel and amenities. Please do not hesitate to contact our concierge service prior to your next visit so that we can ensure to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible!

Kind regards,
Oscar Olsen


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I visited from Australia
prior to a cruise. We spent three very pleasant days at this comfortable hotel.
We had one of their deluxe seaview rooms.
The view was indeed fabulous. The room was not huge, but that is Europe, neither was the ensuite but it was bright and clean.
Try to ask for a higher floor for a better view.
The breakfast served In their quaint dining room was very pleasant, lovely buffet or hot menu. Great for meals/drinks or coffee
on their lovely terrace watching the world goby. The location of this hotel is no. 1.
Very pleasant European style hotel, well refurbished with a gorgeous old style lift.
Wonderful friendly and professional staff
and special mention to their concierge
who is extremely helpful and welcoming.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Yveline Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar O, Informationsansvarig at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Yveline Q,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We are so pleased that you had a successful visit in Stockholm and enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Diplomat prior to your cruise. The Deluxe Sea View rooms have a wonderful view of the harbour and we are constantly working hard to improve the quality of our rooms and service. Do not hesitate to Contact our reservations department prior to your next visit so we can do our best to accommodate you with a room to meet your needs requirements. We thank you for your special mention to our wonderful concierge. They will also gladly assist you with any information or requests prior to your next visit and of course during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to both Hotel Diplomat and Stockholm again very soon for more adventures in Europe!

Kind regards,
Oscar Olsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, great room and comfy bed. The breakfast was fantastic, a lot of options and fresh fruit.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, over all a very nice hotel right by the water in Stockholm.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar O, Informationsansvarig at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Simon J,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your last stay with us in Stockholm and we hope to welcome you back again very soon. Please do not hesitate to contact our Concierge Service in preparation of your next stay so we can make it as comfortable as possible.

Kind regards,
Oscar Olsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We stayed here three nights, and then one more night after a quick getaway within Sweden.

The location is fantastic - right in the middle of Stockholm and walking distance from many key attractions. The rooms were comfortable but a little small. The bathrooms were good, but the showers we ridiculously complicated - you'd need a minor engineering degree to work through the steps of turning on the water, switching between the handset and the showerhead, managing the flow, and regulating the temperature.

We didn't eat at the hotel - breakfast was not included - but enjoyed a couple of drinks at the bar with friendly and well trained bar staff.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anand C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar O, Informationsansvarig at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Anand C,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are so happy that you chose to stay at Hotel Diplomat and that you enjoyed our wonderful location in Stockholm. We hope that our Reservations Department can help you find a more suitable room and an appropriate room rate with breakfast buffet included in the price next time so that you get the opportunity to enjoy our wonderful restaurant. We are sorry you found our shower system difficult and hope that our staff can assist you during your next visit! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Oscar Olsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

For price, rooms were disappointing. Bar was lackluster but the restaurant was good! I would give 3.5 if it was an option. The location is fun but don't go to the restaurant up the street, same address but just 1 Strandvaegen. They are a nightmare.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Kendra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar O, Informationsansvarig at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Kendra B,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us at Hotel Diplomat during your last visit in Stockholm. We regret that you were not satisfied with your room size and hope that our Reservations Department can assist you with necessary information and requirements in preparation for your next stay. We always work very hard to satisfy all our valued guests and hope we can welcome you back for a more memorable stay. We are sorry about your negative experience at Strandvägen 1 and hope we can assist you with better restaurant tips next time that are more appropriate for you.

Kind regards,
Oscar Olsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Pro's:
Nice staff
Wonderful location
Window view is fantastic
Comfortable bedding
Cons:
Small shower
Hardly any closet or drawer space
Drinks in the downstairs bar are extremely expensive.
We were told at the front desk that the charges were normal for the area. Not true.
We were charged 457 DK ($57 US ) for 2 drinks. Similar 2 drinks in any other place did not exceed 216 DK.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Joyce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar O, Informationsansvarig at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Joyce R,

Thank you for your positive feedback! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Diplomat and enjoyed your Sea View room and our prime location with proximity to Stockholms best attractions. We are sorry that you found the closet space too small to your liking. We work very hard to modify our prices in correlation to our closest competitors. We hope we can welcome you back to Stockholm for more enjoyable memories and that our Concierge Service can assist you with finding appropriate attractions and activities around Stockholm.

Kind regards,
Oscar Olsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,147 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
At Six
At Six
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
374 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,325 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomat

Address: 7C Strandvaegen | Box 14059, Stockholm 114 56, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $283 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Diplomat 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and elegant. Hotel Diplomat is a five star luxury hotel, located on Strandvägen in the city center of Stockholm. Perfectly positioned to explore the green scenery of Djurgården, Karlaplan and the vibrant Stureplan. The unique Art Nouveau palace with stunning views over Nybroviken and Stockholm’s waterfront offers a luxurious hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Diplomat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing