We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings”
Review of Hotel Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Esplanade
Ranked #70 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We want to give this hotel a wonderful review but we can't. We loved the great location, the cute courtyard entrance, the wonderful curved staircase, the gorgeous original stained glass everywhere, the helpful (though a little icy) reception people, and the sauna! But the guest room we stayed in was ...dreadful. :-( The cheap, mismatched furnishings, soiled wallcovering, absence of aircon/fan, street noise, and dowdy 1975 bathroom made us wince. Our recommendation is to pay the extra amount for room 10 or room 14 and really enjoy this grande dame. Otherwise, don't waste your money .... :-(

Room Tip: Choose room 10 or room 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RossyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    102
    41
    21
    6
See reviews for
44
117
28
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This old fashioned hotel is old school in the best of ways: welcoming, helpful, cozy and delightful. My husband and I found it through an Uppsala friend, recommended as a place that Swedes like. We could have not been more pleased. 38 rooms (on ground and 1st floor--no elevator, but staff helps carry up luggage), some with Strandvagen/water views and balcony, others overlooking the courtyard. Nice sitting rooms and free WiFi and computer. Moreover, the staff would print out documents (free) and help with reservations--everyone seemed to try to make our stay as pleasant as possible. This is not a modern hotel, but it is well kept and immaculate. Ostermalm is the best of locations, having stayed in noisy Gamla Stan before (and never will again!). Breakfast was superb, and could be eaten outside or in. The clientele tends to be Scandinavian, something we really like. You don't feel like a tourist, but like a seasoned guest.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NonnaBegonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eksjö
Level Contributor
132 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

f you want something different the the ordinary chainhotel, this is the place for you! We had a huge room facing cornerview of Strandvagen. This ment closing the windows at night to enable some sleep. Due to the lack of aircondition it gave us some hot nights. But who cares the room was full of charm with old furniture but new beds, the extrabeds for the kids were great and very comfortable. Plenty of space even if we had a dubbelbed, two extrabeds, a sofa with two armchairs and a desk. Tv on the room and a nice bathroom.
Breakfast was like having it at a friends house, small breakfastroom and no prepacked, sliced cheese.But it has everything you can possibly need for breakfast. There is a guestcomputer in the tv-room downstairs.
Location is great with walking distance to Djurgarden witch meens you don´t have to wait for the crowded bus nr 47. The tram and the bus run on Strandvagen just outside the hotel so you can make your own choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sommarcatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

I only have positive things to say about my stay at the hotel. The staff was helpful and friendly, the room was very cozy and clean (everything looked new) and the breakfast delicious. I booked the smallest single room, but they bumped me up to a larger room with a queen-size bed without any extra cost. I will surely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan_Norlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

The time in the Hotel was very good. It is located on riverside in old beautifull historical building about 5 minutes walking to subway and 15 minutes walking to the Royal Palace and the old town.
The rooms are simple with retro charm, but comfortable. There are TV, shower with toilet, safe box, air condition.
The beds are comfortable. Free WiFi was available in the room. There is sauna in the hotel . Everyday breakfast was very nice.
The staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxana113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

I stayed at Hotel Esplanade in August for more than two weeks with my wife. We stay here every time we are in Stockholm; we have tried a number of other hotels, but they all lack the Esplanade's charm and homely feel. The location could not be better and the staff is very professional and friendly. Maria, the manager, is great. Towards the end of our stay, I had to extent us for a few days and she managed to get us a wonderful room, despite the hotel being almost fully booked. We will be back! PS. I forgot to mention the fantastic breakfast...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

I frequently travel to Stockholm for business and I always make a point to stay here. The service is friendly, the location is superb, the rooms have a certain retro charm which creates a sense of have travelled back in time. If you like the standard cookie-cutter modern design hotels you go next door (and pay more) but if you want a place that will give even a business trip something extra then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paa_resande_fot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Berns Hotel
Berns Hotel
#67 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#21 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#25 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esplanade

Property: Hotel Esplanade
Address: 7A Strandvaegen, Stockholm 114 56, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#50 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing