We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western
Nearby Hotels
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
US$198
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel C Stockholm(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hotel(Stockholm)
US$321
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$296
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Nobis Hotel(Stockholm)
US$310
US$253
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$146
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$134
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Freys Hotel(Stockholm)
US$240
US$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveller rating
145
118
44
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
118
44
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorgreat locationliving abroadcurved staircasefirst floorold townlovely old hotelart nouveauoverlooking the courtyardroad noisesmall hotelhot dishesclose to public transportwithin walking distancesitting roomcentral locationshort walk
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 335 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This old fashioned hotel is old school in the best of ways: welcoming, helpful, cozy and delightful. My husband and I found it through an Uppsala friend, recommended as a place that Swedes like. We could have not been more pleased. 38 rooms (on ground and 1st floor--no elevator, but staff helps carry up luggage), some with Strandvagen/water views and balcony, others overlooking the courtyard. Nice sitting rooms and free WiFi and computer. Moreover, the staff would print out documents (free) and help with reservations--everyone seemed to try to make our stay as pleasant as possible. This is not a modern hotel, but it is well kept and immaculate. Ostermalm is the best of locations, having stayed in noisy Gamla Stan before (and never will again!). Breakfast was superb, and could be eaten outside or in. The clientele tends to be Scandinavian, something we really like. You don't feel like a tourist, but like a seasoned guest.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NonnaBegonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2011

f you want something different the the ordinary chainhotel, this is the place for you! We had a huge room facing cornerview of Strandvagen. This ment closing the windows at night to enable some sleep. Due to the lack of aircondition it gave us some hot nights. But who cares the room was full of charm with old furniture but new beds, the extrabeds for the kids were great and very comfortable. Plenty of space even if we had a dubbelbed, two extrabeds, a sofa with two armchairs and a desk. Tv on the room and a nice bathroom.
Breakfast was like having it at a friends house, small breakfastroom and no prepacked, sliced cheese.But it has everything you can possibly need for breakfast. There is a guestcomputer in the tv-room downstairs.
Location is great with walking distance to Djurgarden witch meens you don´t have to wait for the crowded bus nr 47. The tram and the bus run on Strandvagen just outside the hotel so you can make your own choice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sommarcatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I only have positive things to say about my stay at the hotel. The staff was helpful and friendly, the room was very cozy and clean (everything looked new) and the breakfast delicious. I booked the smallest single room, but they bumped me up to a larger room with a queen-size bed without any extra cost. I will surely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johan_Norlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2010

The time in the Hotel was very good. It is located on riverside in old beautifull historical building about 5 minutes walking to subway and 15 minutes walking to the Royal Palace and the old town.
The rooms are simple with retro charm, but comfortable. There are TV, shower with toilet, safe box, air condition.
The beds are comfortable. Free WiFi was available in the room. There is sauna in the hotel . Everyday breakfast was very nice.
The staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oxana113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2010

I stayed at Hotel Esplanade in August for more than two weeks with my wife. We stay here every time we are in Stockholm; we have tried a number of other hotels, but they all lack the Esplanade's charm and homely feel. The location could not be better and the staff is very professional and friendly. Maria, the manager, is great. Towards the end of our stay, I had to extent us for a few days and she managed to get us a wonderful room, despite the hotel being almost fully booked. We will be back! PS. I forgot to mention the fantastic breakfast...

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews