We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stockholm's number 1 attraction”

Skansen Open-Air Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$47.20*
and up
Hop-On Hop-Off Bus and Boat Ticket in Stockholm
Ranked #7 of 303 things to do in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Skansen is the world's first open-air museum, founded in 1891. Here you can stroll through five centuries of Swedish history, from north to south, with a real sense of the past all around the historical buildings and dwellings, peopled by characters in period dress. Living history over 150 dwellings and other buildings from all over Sweden have been dismantled and reassembled in an area of 300 000 m2 at Skansen. You can travel back in time and meet people from the past. On summer evenings you can also come along and watch traditional Swedish folk dancing! Skansen Zoo at Skansen you will find both domestic and wild Nordic animals such as bears, wolves and lynx. Don't miss our guided tours in English during the summer and in December. Our newly-opened Children's Zoo gives youngsters the opportunity to meet a variety of interesting animals.Added attractions Skansen hold a traditional celebrations to mark occasions such as Walpurg is Night, Midsummer and Christmas. Enjoy a delicious meal in one of the restaurants with breathtaking views over Stockholm. And don't miss our Museum shop, selling traditional handicrafts and Swedish design products.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Dublin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Stockholm's number 1 attraction”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

A fantastic Sunday afternoon was spent at Skansen, we took the number 7 tram from the city centre and missed all the traffic there and back, it dropped us right at the entrance.

We paid to get in, a very reasonable entrance charge for what you get, then headed to the Colobus monkey area, where they were being fed. Plenty of space to see for adults and kids alike.

We then wandered around the park, loads of fascinating old, original buildings from Sweden's history giving an insight of how life was a hundred plus years ago.

There were some large enclosures where we saw brown bears, wolves, elks, bison, wolverines etc. The bears in particular were very playful and you are pretty much guaranteed to get a good view of them.

The park itself is quite hilly, so could be an issue if you are elderly or with a buggy, however this didn't affect my personal visit, so I won't deduct marks for this.

If you come to Sweden, you simply have to spend the time and visit Skansen. You will not regret it!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MBDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,972
    2,300
    888
    242
    91
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Skansen? Confused.”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Skansen was touted as key attraction in Stockhom, and so we took time to look around.

Maybe i missed the point, but the contents of the outdoor museum did not do justice to hype and grand entrance display. Unfortunately it appeared that the majority of the animals were elsewhere, although the reindeer were present.

Overall it seems that Stockholm has many beautiful attractions but Skansen is not one of them.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank RotherhitheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Retreat from the busy Stockholm”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I live in Stockholm and visit Skansen several times a year as a way to relax. Sometimes looking at the animals, sometimes sitting on the grass reading, sometimes sitting on a bench looking out over the water eating a sandwich, sometimes going into the old houses talking to the people working there and learning about Sweden and our history. I recommend you stay a whole day and don't miss the aquarium, pet a spider or a snake!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ElisabethAagren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Absolute fun for anyone”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I am so glad that I finally got to experience Skansen. The park is not totally open in the early spring but there is still enough to see to spend an entire day there (we went from open to close). There is a lot of walking, so be prepared for that. All of the park is just beautiful and well kept. The buildings are amazingly preserved and all have informative signs in both Swedish and English about their history. The animals are a lot of fun to see and have some of the best habitats to live in that I have ever seen. The brown bears had just awoken from hibernation recently and were very playful and active. The boars had new babies that were a lot of fun to watch. The sami camps were very interesting and the history told there was very informative. The restaurant down near the front of the park, next to the windmill and right about the aquarium (I think it was Skansen Terrassen) had delicious food at surprisingly good costs. I had the traditional meatballs and my husband had a wild game platter. The restaurant had a lovely view of the water as well. note that during the early spring the funicular rail is not open to ride. Everyone that was staff that we met was very friendly and helpful and spoke English as well. The giftshop out front is awesome and has very reasonable pricing for souvenirs. Overall I believe Skansen is a must see when visiting Stockholm whether you have children or not. It is just so much fun and there is so much interesting stuff to see.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

A mix between zoo and traditional village museum. A very nice walk in a very intresting park.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skansen Open-Air Museum also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Skansen Open-Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing