We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,339)
Filter reviews
2,339 results
Traveller rating
750
1,039
361
118
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
750
1,039
361
118
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arlanda express train station junior suite family room baltic cruise perfect location business trip nice breakfast the breakfast area old town nice room single room standard room breakfast buffet is min walk rooms are small gamla stan
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 2,339 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2018

We stayed here for several nights at the end of a tour of the cities along the Baltic Sea. The hotel is conveniently located in an active business district, with good transit and pedestrian access to interesting parts of the city. However, we found the room to be small, poorly ventilated and uncomfortable. Unfortunately (and this isn't the hotel's fault), I had come down with a cold and slight fever at the end of the trip and stayed cooped up in the room for a day or so, which just highlighted for me how cramped the room was, without even a comfortable place to sit (other than the bed). And although I don't travel with the intention of watching TV, in this case I needed a distraction and found only one English language channel - BBC news. I love the Beeb, but I can't watch it all day.

Housekeeping was also marginal, as we had to constantly remind the front desk to have housekeeping replace tissue and toilet paper in their daily rounds.

On the positive side, the breakfast buffet options are excellent, though they are laid out in a sort of disorganized manner and the guest has to search all over the room to find items that should be grouped together.

The weekday rate for the room seemed very high, but the weekend discount (Friday night) was much more reasonable.

Room tip: Rooms on the street side can be very noisy, even though the window has to be kept open for fresh air.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mrancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

There in mid September. Busy Hotel as was the breakfast buffet. Food quality was very good but weekend seating & food access were kind of a (rugby term)scrum. Signs in the elevator however warned that planning was a good idea ie avoiding 9-10am on weekends might be smart. Weekdays a bit calmer.
Room was a junior suite also a good idea as the smaller rooms we walked by during housekeeping looked (for an American) microscopic. Check the square footages.
Some would describe the room as slightly dated. Others as folksy. Was Neat & pretty clean however & was reasonably well decorated & comfortable
Bathroom tiny. Persistent faint sewage smell out of toilet & shower drain. Wet towel over drain seemed to do the trick. Last night the towels weren’t changed (annoying & felt dismissive of a departing guest) but found backups in the closet.
Since we like walking a lot & aren’t afraid of European/ Scandinavian subways location was good.
All in all for the price was a pretty good hotel. Value for the money was between moderate & good closer to the latter.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

When we arrived at The Grand Central, there was an issue about our reservation that we had not foreseen. Things were handled graciously by the front desk, and the hotel accommodated the slight delay by providing us with an upgraded room. This was unexpected, as the issue was very quickly addressed, but certainly appreciated!
Throughout our stay, the front desk personnel were helpful in many ways, and this contributed to our high opinion of the establishment.
As has been our experience so far in Scandinavia, the breakfast offerings were generous and varied at The Grand Central, too.
All hotel personnel were friendly and helpful.
We definitely recommend this fine hotel!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank RainelleT_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2018

Perfekt locating for a visit in Stockholm a weekend with pleaser and shopping. Good service and a clean cosy room. The breakfast was tasty an have all sorts of food and bread and it was very well prepared

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank lnyman968002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

Best thing about the Grand Central is the staff on reception. Cheerful, polite and professional.
Rooms laid out in a large U on each floor with the lifts at one end so if you are at the other end it is a very long walk! Room basic and missing many normal items, e.g. tissues, no yea/coffee. Wash basin tiny.
Breakfast buffet area too small for number of guests, quality average at best.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews