We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City
Ranked #53 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Tromssø, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, good hotel!”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We have stayed here for both business and holyday. The hotel works great for both.
The rooms are supercool, and seems to be newly renovated. Personally I liked all the books in the room and everywhere else in the hotel. One thing I didn`t like: the rooms are a bit small.
Breakfast is ok+.
Best thing about this hotel in my view: the location. Øster is a cosy and trendy area of Stockholm, and you have the best hot dogs in Sweden just outside the hotel. There is also a lot of other great places to eat and drink within a very short distance, f.eks. “Saluhallen” and “Nybrogatan 38”.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJOTromss_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are grateful for all the feedback we get. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time I hope you will visit our nice restaurant located in the lobby.

We hope to see you soon!

Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    505
    147
    33
    19
See reviews for
113
413
53
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I have recently returned from a long weekend in Stockholm where I stayed at the Mornington Hotel.

We had a superior room which was quite small but nicely decorated, a good bathroom and nice additions - chocolates, fizzy water, good teas and nice bath products, plus robes and slippers. Building work is taking place outside the hotel and ear plugs are provided - a thoughtful touch!

We ate dinner in the hotel on the first and last night. The menu is short with some traditional Swedish options, and the food is ok, although the wine is very expensive so we stuck to beer.

The breakfast was great, loads of choice and good quality food.

Finally the location was ideal for our trip with a short walk to all the places you would want to visit on a short trip.

Room Tip: Our Superior Room was cosy so I can only imagine what a Standard Room would be like. Go for the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiet14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hforsberg, Revenue Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. Reviews are of great value to us as we always want to know if we can do anything to make your stay more comfortable.
I am glad to see that you enjoyed the extra ameneties in your Superior room with bathrobe, slippers and chocolates on the coffee tray.

Again, thank you for your review, we hope to see you with us again if you return to Stockholm.

Best Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linkoping, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Cosy atmosphere with all the books. Situated in a nice neighboorhood, close to the subway and although not the most centrally located hotel it's within walking distance to the center of the city. The tea and coffee tray with the fruit was a nice bonus. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was stylish and clean although not the most functional. The shower screen was a bit to small so water sprinkled outside the shower. The semi-transparent door to the bathroom might bother some people.I stayed in a single standard room and those details might be different in other bigger rooms.
The big plus with this place was definately its breakfast which had a vast selection of a good quality. It had all that I could have wished for.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you, we are so happy for your nice review. You give us energi to continue our work. We have worked hard to have this breakfast that is very appreciated by our guests.

We hope you will come back to us soon.

Kind Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This is a fine boutique hotel in the heart of Stockholm. The best part of it is that it's not the 'same old, same old' that you get at most chain hotels. The interior with book cases throughout (also in rooms) makes the interior cool; otherwise the design is modern. My room for two people was tiny for even one person, though, so you might want to inquire about that before making a booking. The breakfast is terrific, with out-of-the-ordinary stuff like smoothies being served. One thing that amazes me, though, is that the hotel charges for the use of the sauna. We did pay for it, though, and had an unpleasant experience when a client from the gym was hurrying us to leave the entire time we were there. I have no idea what she needed it for, as she had her gym gear on.

Overall, a fine experience for a short trip. Especially if you already know Stockholm. If not, it may take a bit of navigating with the metro.

Room Tip: Do ask aboutthe size. Mine was _tiny_.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allforservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Your comments are very helpful for us. Next time you visit us you could try our Executive rooms. They are a bit larger and free entrance to the Health Club and sauna is included.

We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

As always, much time is spent researching hotels on Tripadvisor and websites and the Mornington did not disappoint. It is centrally located with an underground station within 50 yards of its entrance if exhausted after sightseeing! The surrounding area is pleasant with two excellent restaurants directly opposite the hotel - Nybrogat 38 (need to book) and Piatti. Hotel reception staff were very friendly and efficient. The room allocated, although quite small, was perfectly adequate and well designed. The bed and pillows were very comfortable as was the sofa. The breakfast was excellent with a varied choice including good quality juices and fresh fruit salad. There is a very well-equipped gym in the basement with a sauna in the changing rooms. Five nights were spent at this hotel and, should we return to Stockholm, we would have no hesitation in booking this place once again. A very pleasant experience indeed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thank you so much for the nice review. All the comments we get are important to us. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Everyday we try to make the guests satisfied and make them feel like home. A review like this gives us motivation to continue our work.

I hope you will visit us again. Please see our web page for the best rates.
Welcome!

With kind regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Nice hotel at a fair price. Brilliant gym and the hotel is located within walking distance of the central Stockholm.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope you will visit us again soon. Welcome!

Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Recently returned from a 4 night stay here with partner. Great location in Ostermalm which is seen traditionally as an upmarket district. It's certainly a pleasant area with a few restaurants and cafes and lots of design/interiors shops. There's a supermarket just south of the hotel (on the same street) which is handy. From the hotel it is easy to walk to the city centre as well as other 'quarters' of Stockholm such as Gamla Stan, Sodermalm etc. 10-15 minutes to city centre, 30 minutes to GStan, 40 to Sodermalm, 30-35 minutes to coach/rail station.

The hotel itself is very pleasant indeed, and the 'library' theme makes for an unique atmosphere. The lobby, restaurant and breakfast room are all really well designed and pleasant to be in. The room we had was great in almost all respects. We got upgraded so I don't know what a standard room is like but ours was big enough (but not massive), with an easy chair, coffee table, desk and small sofa. Bed was two singles pushed together but that was fine. Tea/coffee facilities, tv, shaving kit, slippers, toothbrush, gown, all the usual shampoos etc. My partner loved the design of the room. All immaculately clean.

Reception and other staff friendly and welcoming. Hotel is secure, with card only access beyond the lobby; the reception staff make an effort to buzz you through when they recognise you, which is a nice touch. Breakfast was really nice with a very wide variety of Swedish and continental options. Good that breakfast is included because eating out in Stockholm is expensive. Wifi worked well for us.

I only really have two criticisms. The first is that the room could have been more soundproof. We were woken up on a couple of nights by noisy neighbours slamming the heavy door and shouting. While this is not directly the fault of the hotel, being woken up in the middle of the night is not ideal however you look at it. Saying all this, I seem to have this problem at about 50% of hotels I stay in.

The other criticism which is really minor is that the hotel bar closed at around 9pm on Easter Saturday - we discovered this after coming back for a quiet drink after a meal out. Obviously this is a public holiday that is taken more seriously here than in the UK, but in a major capital city, in a centrally located upmarket hotel, I think probably the bar should be open a bit later than this on a Saturday. I have left the score at 'excellent' though because out of all the hotels I have stayed at, this was one of the best, if not the best, and a 'very good' rating wouldn't really do it justice.

Cost wise, we got a deal online for the flights and hotel that we thought was good value. Good thing hotels in Sweden aren't as expensive as the food and drink. Very enjoyable stay overall.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hforsberg, Revenue Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for takning the time to give us some feedback on your stay with us. I am really glad to hear that you had a pleasent stay despite being woken up by loud neighbours which I wish we could have prevented.
We are proud of our collection of books that our owners have collected over the years and I am pleased to hear that the library feeling comes though.
The bar closed earlier during easter just as you stated as this is a weekend with fewer guests in the restaurant, however of course you should have been informed of the opening hours when checking in.
Most of our rooms have Queen beds so if you come back to us please let us know your preferd choich and we will do our best to accomodate this for you.

I hope you will stay with us again soon.

Best Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Elite Eden Park Hotel
Elite Eden Park Hotel
#12 of 154 in Stockholm
705 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Ostermalm
ProfilHotels Hotel Riddargatan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#25 of 154 in Stockholm
1,176 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#23 of 154 in Stockholm
630 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#19 of 154 in Stockholm
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mornington Hotel Stockholm City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornington Hotel Stockholm City

Property: Mornington Hotel Stockholm City
Address: 53 Nybrogatan | Box 5197, Stockholm 114 40, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#38 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#40 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mornington Hotel Stockholm City 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City is a four-star hotel situated in the quiet area of Ostermalm, right in the city centre. You're sure to feel right at home browsing the 4,000 volumes in our library available to both guests and visitors. Relax with a book in the lobby, enjoy a massage in the Health Club or end an eventful day with a delicious dinner in our friendly restaurant offering all the flavours of the traditional Swedish kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Mornington Hotel Stockholm City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing