We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2017

First off, this is an old boat. If sleeping on an old boat doesn't sound enjoyable, this might not be the place for you. I quite enjoyed a bit of a different hotel experience this time. My cabin was very quiet and cozy and I got some of the best sleep of my entire trip. The yacht hotel is located on a small island adjacent to Old Town / Gamla Stan and is also within walking distance to Sodermalm and Centralen. I found it to be a convenient and affordable base camp for exploring Stockholm.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Bennett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (913)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 913 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the above 2nd till 6th Nov, good comfortable stay, good food on Yacht too. Made a pleasant change from staying in a standard hotel. History worth researching regards the yacht. Staff were friendly and informative regards things to do places to visit in Stockholm

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Was there for one night. Room was very small and not in good condition. I could hear people walking in the lobby all night long , so my sleep was affected. Bathrooms are also extra small. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast nothing special. There are better options nearby if you are spending 1100 Sek per night .

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitin_3686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

This is a really cute, cosy hotel with friendly and helpful staff. The location is central and both the hotel and restaurant was great value for money. The included breakfast is also great and really sets you up for the day (useful in a costly city!).

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bluetangxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

After traveling for 36 hours from Los Angeles, we arrived to our cozy digs on this beautifully maintained and well run yacht hotel, right on the waterfront adjacent to Gamla Stan. It's a very convenient location, the hotel berths are small but very comfortable. We really enjoyed the excellent breakfast buffet, overlooking the bay, City Hall and Sodermalm. A big thumbs up!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

Stayed for 3 nights in one of the larger cabins which was good although you could hear other noises from other rooms. Bathrooms small but a good hot strong shower makes up for it. Restaurant was closed during our stay which was a disappointment so cannot comment on that but breakfast was good with good choice. Good location with a pleasant stroll to either the old town or shopping streets. Would recommend a stay here.for a different hotel experience.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Suestonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

Docked near the Riddarholmskyrkan -- the spire of which I could see through my porthole -- this decommissioned yacht has a wonderful wood-and-brass atmosphere. The very small rooms (meaning cabins) are functional and comfortable. My single was in fact outfitted with a bunk bed. Perhaps November is a quiet month, but I heard no river traffic. There is a fine view of City Hall from the deck. The Old Town is adjacent. Breakfast is the usual; I could have done without the piped-in pop music. Helpful staff. The restaurant is closed Sundays and Mondays. Maybe next time. Drinks, nuts and chips are available after hours but no sandwiches. Something to keep in mind if you arrive late. Steep stairs, as one might expect on a boat. I expect to be back.

Room Tip: I was on the main level. Stairs to upper and lower levels are a bit steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Albrechtsberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Comfort Hotel Xpress Stockholm Central
Södermalm
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
#9 of 154 in Stockholm
2,459 reviews
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#99 of 154 in Stockholm
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hornstull & Långholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Vasastan
Best Western Plus Time Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Riddarholmen, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Formerly Malardrottningen Hotel and Restaurant)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Stockholm
#44 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: C$107 - C$232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malardrottningen or that the ship is really called: Lady Hutton, began its journey in 1924 and no one knows where or when it ends. With its amazing history, she has managed to take care of Barbara Hutton, the British Navy, traveled around the world and since 1982 moored at Riddarholms Quay. The Yacht has 61 cabins, sauna, restaurant and is perhaps best known for the latter. The restaurant with the beautiful view of Malaren, serves Scandinavian dishes using only the best ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malardrottningen Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing