We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, spacious room, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #59 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location, spacious room, friendly staff”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed for 5 nights with family. The location is excellent - literally a minute away from the focal Stureplan square and Kungsgatan shopping street. We never had to use a taxi to get to any of the central museums, shopping streets, restaurants or the old town - we walked there or took the underground metro from the nearby stop at the Stureplan square.
The staff were helpful, very friendly and very responsive - they upgraded us to a room with separate beds and allowed us to check out late (3pm) on our last day for free. They took all of our endless questions happily.
Our room was spacious, very well lit and with great insulation. The only downside was the bed - on the 3rd night it becomes obvious the mattress isn't of the finest quality, and it starts taking a tittle toll on your back.
The breakfast buffet was super fresh and abundant, with international options and lovely local touches on the menu. Only downside was the somewhat restrictive serving hours (6.30-9.30am) compared to other places we've stayed.
The state of cleaning throughout the hotel was overall satisfactory - with one indescribable vile smell coming from the elevator on a couple of occasions which was a bit weird - most probably due to the cleaning staff using the customer lifts to move around (very) dirty laundry.
The price we paid (a little less than 200 euros per night) was definitely on the expensive site but having spent endless hours trawling on the web, it really doesn't get much better than this unless you want to share your bathroom with strangers in one of Sweden's hostels...
I would happily stay again and do recommend this hotel - it just doesn't get the full 5 stars as I would expect nothing but perfection for the price.
One watch out for miles and more members: you will lose the miles you're entitled to unless you book directly from their website (we booked through booking.com).
One alternative I will look into for our next visit would be the Scandic Hotel Anglais which we were highly recommended - we walked past it, it's one block away from Best Western, looked absolutely fine and can be cheaper if you book in advance.
The only thing where price becomes an issue in Stockholm is the hotel stay, so make sure you do invest in decent accommodation to enjoy properly this stunning city.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmaCha81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    316
    94
    51
    16
See reviews for
105
212
33
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I stayed at the Kung Carl for two nights while on a business trip to Stockholm. It was recommended to me by my local contacts for its proximity to the meeting location and good quality. I had a few hours free on one day and walked out of the hotel and around Stockholm for a couple of hours.
I booked a single room but was upgraded to a double, which was a delightful room up in the roof on the 6th floor. Very comfortable, modern and clean but with some unusual pieces of decoration, making it memorable. Strong, free wi-fi throughout the hotel (which is a booking must for me).
Hotel staff were very helpful (especially with sorting out key cards that wouldn't work the lifts, ordering a taxi and printing my boarding pass).
We ate dinner at the hotel which was excellent (although the price was eye-watering by British standards) and the breakfast buffet was also good with a wide choice of international and Swedish food.

Room Tip: Other travellers have remarked about noise. I didn't hear anything but I was on the 6th floor mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamsFamilyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We were a group of friends that managed to strike a good deal with Best Western and their Stureplan hotel. Since we were 5, we got 2 rooms, 1 of which had a very nice balcony overlooking the Stureplan square. The other, though, only had a tiny circular window that barely let in enough daylight to light up the room midday.

Stureplan is Stockholm’s “Upper east side”. The King Carl Hotel tries to fit in, and on the outside it really does, but some of the interior gives it away. For instance, our big red velvet sofa was completely worn out and appeared as rather tacky. The same applied for some the one chair and the small table in our room. Beside from that

Another issue that gives the hotel away is the breakfast. The variation regarding bread, warm dishes and cold drinks, was poor, and the space between the tables was narrow at best. Too crowded, too little “legroom”.

In addition, when there only is one elevator in the hotel, please be careful to install an efficient one! Getting up to the 6th floor was a real test of patience.

Another thing that irritated us was the service. Sometimes we had to wait several minutes on the receptionists because both were talking in the phone. Other times, one was talking in the phone while the second one was busy with paperwork. We’d expected better from nice Swedish girls.

Room Tip: Some of the 6th floor rooms have balconies. Be aware though that rooms facing east-northeast have no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kethom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
124 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Need a place to rest, with very nice rooms and they have personal touches in every room? This is the place. To just calm down in the bar, or have a lunch during the day.
Nice place to stay and very nice staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konigs Wusterhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Especially in the high segment they have very nice and special rooms (e.g. with a bathtube in the middle of the room). I also like the location and the breakfast (nice and cosy room with a view on the street), but all rooms are very noisy when it comes to street noise. The hotel even provides ear plugs for that reason.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armor-Reisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

It seems that at the check-in is like gambling. If you are lucky, you can be offered a large and astonishing room, but in my case, I was offered a small room with a smaller bath.

The door of the bathroom touched the bed, and bathroom had always to be used with the door open.

Considering the rate/night I was charged, this hotel was not worth it at all. Not recommended for leisure unless you may want to risk your stay in Stockholm. Location is one of the strong points as well as staff.

Restaurant and bar, again does not meet a minimum rate of value/money, so better to try any of the restaurants around.

this is one of the examples how a hotel chain can ruin its reputation because of having this policy of pretending to be "stylish", overpriced but with no attention to the small details like assigning an average room or a outstanding room at ramdom for customers that have paid the same rate.

Room Tip: It is up to the reception, preferably the "new part"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaime G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 29 February 2012

One of the most romantic rooms I have stayed in with a beautiful and comfortabel bed.
Friendly and service minded staff. Location is great next door to restaurants, bars, and shops.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
#60 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western & Hotel
Best Western & Hotel
#36 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#26 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#24 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Ostermalm
Scandic Anglais
Scandic Anglais
#76 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection

Property: Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Address: Birger Jarlsgatan 21, Stockholm 111 87, Sweden (Formerly Hotel Kung Carl, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#43 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#44 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Hotel offers modern comforts and amenities, set in the Financial and Commercial center of the city; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Hotell Kung Carl Hotel Stockholm
Best Western Hotel Stockholm
Best Western Stockholm
Stockholm Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing