We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Light breakfast room-service would be nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Ranked #63 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The bed was great, the bathroom was lovely, the room was clean- but when all you want is a cup of coffee in the morning (before you get ready for the day), trekking down 8 floors to the makeshift buffet is not ideal. The hotel has a great location- close to water front and restaurants/shops.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bagokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

540 - 546 of 2,338 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

Hotel is situated on Kungsholmgaten which is about 5 minutes walk from the central station and the entrance to the blue line subway is beside the hotel. Rooms are compact but very comfortable, breakfast is amazing with a huge selection to suit any mood. Nice bar in the main lobby as well as a restaurant (I did not eat in the restaurant so I cannot comment). Very close to plenty of restaurants and bars. Staff were very friendly and helpful, I had a couple of problems with my room which meant I had to move but this was no problem at all. I would recommend one of the larger rooms, especially if you are tall as the "Moderate" rooms feel a bit claustrophobic. Price is a little high but for the centre of Stockholm it was reasonable value.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I had a very enjoyable stay in this hotel. The room was clean, simple, comfortable and quiet. The staff on reception were friendly and helpful. Good selection of hot and cold food for breakfast. I'd have no reservations staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My partner and I were heading up to Stockholm for the Easter break and saw this hotel had an "Easter offer". Normally we stay at Scandic, but decided this offer was worth trying.
Had we paid normal tariff for First Hotel Amaranten it would definitely not have been worth the money. The room we had was cramped and barely any room to walk between the writing desk and the bed. In the shower the water went from normal temperature to extremely hot without warning. We found we were always waiting for elevators which seemed to minds of their own which were not at all logical. The breakfast was wayyyy too crowded - even at 9:30 - 10am. You were forever bumping into people, the staff were trying (but failing) to keep the plates refilled. Juice ran out on both mornings, yoghurt on the first. On our first morning the scrambled eggs has a horrible after-taste. Internet was a joke - it is provided by The Cloud and we were lucky to get on .. and when we did the speeds were just unusable most of the time.

HOWEVER, it was not all bad. The staff at the hotel were friendly and made us feel welcome. The beds were insanely comfortable, so quality of sleep was definitely not an issue. The location of the hotel is literally above a subway entrance. Would we stay again? Not for the everyday tariff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_prebble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I had a terrible stay at Amaranten. The curtains are too small and the sun is in your face as of 7 am. No mini bar. And a continuous noise probably from the airco which is located on the roof.
Unacceptable for the price.
Breakfast is nice. Location nearby the underground is convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cm1840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I should start by saying that I got my room at a VERY good price via one of First's 24-hour sales, so watch out for these. Stockholm is expensive, and this place would also have been at full price.

My room was very clean and modern - kind of typically Scandinavian in design with its wooden floor and clean finishes. The room was not huge, but perfectly adequate. I found the bed to be incredibly comfortable. Easy Wifi and a good (and not relatively OK priced bar) were further positives.

The downsides were the lack of coffee/tea facilities or a safe (surely should be at the full-price) and street noise (partly could not be helped - roadworks).

Breakfast was perfectly reasonable but lacking in fresh juices and fruit. It seemed to be quite busy so not the place if you like quiet mornings.

Generally the hotel is well located for the station and business district, and approx 20 minutes stroll to Gamla Stan. I did not use any city transport. I found central Stockholm a tad confusing, so get clear directions before leaving the station!

Room Tip: At the back to avoid street noise - but I did have roadworks so it was an exceptional situation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aber_james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I stayed in this hotel with a group of 30 people, all stayed in double room.
We said that we where going arrive at 13h00 and they said that was ok, but when we arrived there they still didn't have the room ready for us, so we hat to leave the baggage’s in the hotel and went to eat in a restaurant nearby, finally at 15h00, we got our keys, we arrive to the room and it looks ok, lots of space, but the bathroom was the worst thin i ever seen, when we took a bath the water went all over the floor, some tube problems, we took hours to take a bath because of the low quantity of water.
The breakfast was another problem; we almost didn’t have a table to eat, since the size of the room is not enough for all the guests in the hotel
The elevators was another problem, we had to wait a long time to get one, and the fist time I try to use the stairs I didn’t found the exit to the reception area, it was very confusing

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vera D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#44 of 155 in Stockholm
3,044 reviews
Norrmalm
Clarion Hotel Sign
Clarion Hotel Sign
#52 of 155 in Stockholm
3,832 reviews
Vasastan
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
#46 of 155 in Stockholm
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Comfort Hotel Xpress Stockholm Central
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#55 of 155 in Stockholm
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Amaranten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Amaranten

Address: 31 Kungsholmsgatan, Stockholm 112 27, Sweden (Formerly First Hotel Amaranten)
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Kungsholmen , Kungsholmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: $157 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel Amaranten 3.5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Amaranten is located on Kungsholmen in central Stockholm. With only 700 meters from Stockholm's city center and 10 minutes walk to Central Station, the hotel is easily accessible and close to most attractions in Stockholm.Kungsholmen has a great variety of restaurants and has a charming nightlife, ranging from casual outdoor cafes to nightclubs. Near the hotel is also the City Hall and Town Hall, two of Stockholm's most famous silhouettes. At the hotel, we offer a gym and sauna. The hotel restaurant Kitchen & Table serves a combination of the best flavors of multicultural Manhattan with local ingredients from the region around one of Stockholm's most beautiful islands - Kungsholmen. You can also visit our award winngin cocktailbar Tap Room Kungsholmen to enjoy our modern takes on classical cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel Amaranten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Amaranten
First Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing