We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel on our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Ranked #61 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 15 June 2017

Great hotel, very busy, but quiet, clean well furnished room with the largest pillows we have ever seen! Great choice for breakfast, including omelettes made to order.
Well placed for the city centre (9 minutes walk to main station)

Room Tip: Room looking into inner area of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregory886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Gregory!

Thank you very much for your very kind compliments, which I will gladly share with the entire team. It makes us thoroughly happy when our guests enjoyed their stay as much as you did. Feedback like yours motivates us to live the Clarion Hotel Amaranten spirit and give our best every single day.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Stockholm, hopefully very soon.
And yes, it is the biggest pillows you will ever see ;)

Fredrik Berglund
Clarion Hotel Amaranten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 2,374 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Staying here for a single night. Came in late.
Great bar, awesome restaurant. Hyggelige decorations and ambience.
Just about the nicest half English half Swedish waitress I've ever crossed paths with. Excellent food. Excellent recommendations. This will be my new hotel of choice when in Stockholm on business or leisure for that matter. Haven't even gone to my room yet and I'm all excited.
This place comes with my highest recommendation and I'm not easily pleased at all.


Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear Thomas

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback.
I am so glad to hear that you had a great time at our place and that you enjoyed the service. I think that the waitress that was serving you was Sofia, she is amazing, glad that you got the opportunity to meet her.

I would be so happy to see you here soon again, and again and again.
Best Regards

Fredrik Berglund
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

I booked a "standard" room only to find out that the room itself was ca 7 m2. Only suitable for 1 person, nowhere really to put a suitcase and not a space you'd want to spend a lot of time in. On top of this the standard rooms are all on lower floors facing the (busy) street. The airconditioning in my room was poor and lacked any fan capability, plus since the hotel has one of those nifty things that you have to put your key card in to get any electricity (and any AC). Sicne my room had been in the sun all day it eventually cooled down around 5 am and I could get a couple of hours sleep. If you are going to book here try one of the superduperextradeluxe rooms instead. facing the courtyard if you are a light sleeper. Otherwise full marks to clarion on their renovation. fresh and clean room. if you like an indian meal, you are also just across the road from the unassuming saffran restaurant - one stockholms best indias.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grillt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear Grillt,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor regarding your most recent stay at Clarion Hotel Amaranten.

I am very sorry that you did not had the stay that you nor I would like you to have.
I apologize for the inconvenience regarding the booking and the information about the rooms. Our small single rooms is open to book for 2 people, these are 11-15 m2, our standard double rooms are 18-20m2, them both can be found from floor 1 up to level 6. I do not know how you receive the other information about the rooms but it is very dreary for me to hear that something went wrong and if we did not offer you a room higher up the building.

Please let me know if you are coming back to the hotel, then I want to make sure that you get a big room and a room facing the garden if requested.

Hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back here soon again.
Have a great day!

Kind Regards
Fredrik Berglund
Guest Relation Manager
Clarion Hotel Amaranten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Amaranten is an awesome hotel. you cant go above that. The service is excellent the only thing I was not happy about was the carpet in the hall way as it smelled stale. That takes away the glamour of the hotel.
Floor 4 to be exact.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank 165matthiasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion_Amaranten, Receptionschef at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback, we´re very happy to hear that you liked our hotel and hope that you will visit us again soon! We will make sure to take this with our maintenance team and see to it that it will be cleaned properly!

Have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

PROS:
Clean and modern hotel.
Friendly front desk staff.
Delicious buffet breakfast.
Very quiet, and comfortable beds for a great night's sleep.

CONS:
Room was not serviced after day one, and on the second day we had to ask twice to have it cleaned. Even then it was not adequately cleaned (bath not wiped down, amenities not refilled, tissue box left empty for entirety of our stay etc).
Very cheap 1 ply toilet paper throughout the hotel - not good enough for a hotel of this calibre.
Room amenities low standard - no safe in room, weak hairdryer.

Room Tip: Get to breakfast early on weekends - it's a busy place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AussieTraveller2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Hi mate!

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor regarding your most recent stay at Clarion Hotel Amaranten.

I apologize for the inconvenience regarding the cleaning. I do not know what has happened regarding the cleaning of your room but I am sorry and I will see with the housekeeping manager why the outcome was that it was.

I am very happy to hear that you liked our interior, beds, breakfast and staff that makes me amazingly happy!
Have a great day and enjoy the rest of your travel. I hope that there will be a new account - AussieTraveller2018 and that we get the opportunity to host does guys.

Kind Regards
Fredrik Berglund
Guest Relation Manger
Clarion Hotel Amaranten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Love this hotel. Good location, updated rooms, clean and quiet. Was able to block out the Nordic bright nights completely.
Breakfast is crowded and not the best but the rest of the hotel is great. Friendly staff

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Erika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion_Amaranten, Receptionschef at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding the breakfast, we will make sure to do everything that we can to make it better until next time you visit. I´m very happy yo hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and hope that you will be back soon!:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

The experience of the hotel was good, although I am left with the feeling that this hotel aims to be more than what it is. The bathroom was dusty and there were soap missing. Its small things, but you expect them to be in place when you pay a relatively high price for the room.

With that said, the beds were excellent (if you prefer a slightly soft bed) and the breakfast had a very good selection as was refilled and never ran out of food.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Ragne Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion_Amaranten, Receptionschef at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback!
We apologize that the cleaning wasn't up to part and will make sure that the information will be passed on to the housekeeping department and better ourselves until next time.

Hope to see you again soon - and again, thank you so much for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Clarion Hotel Sign
Clarion Hotel Sign
#51 of 154 in Stockholm
3,903 reviews
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#41 of 154 in Stockholm
3,086 reviews
Vasastan
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
#46 of 154 in Stockholm
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Comfort Hotel Xpress Stockholm Central
Norrmalm
Downtown Camper by Scandic
Downtown Camper by Scandic
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
338 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Amaranten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Amaranten

Address: 31 Kungsholmsgatan, Stockholm 112 27, Sweden (Formerly First Hotel Amaranten)
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Kungsholmen , Kungsholmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: $158 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel Amaranten 3.5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Amaranten is located on Kungsholmen in central Stockholm. With only 700 meters from Stockholm's city center and 10 minutes walk to Central Station, the hotel is easily accessible and close to most attractions in Stockholm.Kungsholmen has a great variety of restaurants and has a charming nightlife, ranging from casual outdoor cafes to nightclubs. Near the hotel is also the City Hall and Town Hall, two of Stockholm's most famous silhouettes. At the hotel, we offer a gym and sauna. The hotel restaurant Kitchen & Table serves a combination of the best flavors of multicultural Manhattan with local ingredients from the region around one of Stockholm's most beautiful islands - Kungsholmen. You can also visit our award winngin cocktailbar Tap Room Kungsholmen to enjoy our modern takes on classical cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Amaranten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Amaranten
First Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing