We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Ranked #61 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Had a great time in 2015 and so booked again. What a disappointment. The double room was a single with a double bed pushed against a wall. After 44 years of marriage the prospect of climbing over one another during the night did not appeal. The upgrade was £ 20 a night extra.
The wonderful hotel restaurant that introduced us to a range of delicious Scandinavian cuisine in 2015 had also changed. There was a very limited menu with very little to suggest we were in Sweden. We were told that the menu was healthy, more vegetables than meat or fish. This turned out to be an excuse for small portions. Other items on the menu included burgers and pizza. The price of the meal represented poor value for money and we did not eat there again during our 4 night stay.
The hotel appeared to be undergoing some renovations in the breakfast area. This resulted in overcrowding and excessive noise. Elements of the meal frequently ran out and guest were waiting for plates and cutlery to emerge from the dishwashing area.
Will not be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Beware standard rooms are single rooms with a small double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffrey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 2,374 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017

Room was very small for 2
Due to free breakfast service went down
Room service require more attention
Had to wait for long time at reception
Calling from service thru phone is a big challenge since to telephone directory and no one answers

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank 603eyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

Well located, about a mile from the Old Town accessed by a beautiful walk across the River. There are a few local shops, bars and restaurants with a coop very close by.
The desk staff are young but excellent and all speak and understand English perfectly.
Overall, the hotel is excellent with everything that you would expect and the quality to go with it.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

The staf was nice, but they promiced things they could not keep. Smal room, and the ekstra bed did not fit. The breakfast was nice, whit many options. The staf in the reseption was very smiling. Nice location

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank 750camillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Stayed at the Clarion 6/20/17-6/25/17. Very modern and well kept. It was an ideal location. Not right in the center of Stockholm but within walking distance to the city center and one train stop away from Central Station. We had four adults in our room and we were perfectly comfortable. The extra half bath was a nice bonus and helped us with our morning and evening routines. Staff was very friendly and helpful and they spoke English well. The breakfast was very good. A variety of food to choose from but it did get very crowded the later you would go. They tried their best to keep up and replace things as they emptied. The hotel had free wifi which worked very well and all over the property. Never got to try the bar or restaurant but the decor was very neat looking.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerseygrl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

This hotel is conveniently located 10' away from central station, so good links to go to the airport. It is also near the centre so we could walk everywhere. All the interior design is great and rooms are confortable, but I'd highlight their great staff, always nice and willing to make our stay great

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Marta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Good quality, basic hotel. The more the merrier, very busy and can be a bit overwhelming at times. Having said that the staff and very pleasant and if you can get them in a peaceful moment they are incredibly helpful. Breakfast is a bit of a bun fight, try to go when it is quieter, there is a chef who will make you an omelette of your choice if you can get near him. Rooms seem very dark, partly because of the decor. The bed was a little hard for me and the pillows unusual sizes, one very large and one very small. Shower room good, but the mirror steams up so you have to open the door and wipe down to see what you are doing. There is a mini bar, an iron and hairdryer. All you could need but no coffee or tea making facilities. There is a really good service whereby the hotel will look after your luggage if your flight is later than your check out. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel, but a really great coffee shop across the road, a metro station right next door, one stop to the centre of Stockholm.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Hi Katie,

Thank you for your for taking time to wright this feedback from your last stay with us. I can see that you have a good eye for details and thank you for your rich feedback from your stay. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the surroundings. I am also very happy that you enjoyed the breakfast and the service of the hotel staff.

I hope we'll see you here soon and that you had a great time in Stockholm.

Have a wonderful summer!

Best regards

Fredrik Berglund
Guest Relations Manager
Clarion Hotel Amaranten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Clarion Hotel Sign
Clarion Hotel Sign
#51 of 154 in Stockholm
3,903 reviews
Vasastan
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
#46 of 154 in Stockholm
882 reviews
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#41 of 154 in Stockholm
3,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Comfort Hotel Xpress Stockholm Central
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#28 of 154 in Stockholm
3,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Amaranten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Amaranten

Address: 31 Kungsholmsgatan, Stockholm 112 27, Sweden (Formerly First Hotel Amaranten)
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Kungsholmen , Kungsholmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: $157 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel Amaranten 3.5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Amaranten is located on Kungsholmen in central Stockholm. With only 700 meters from Stockholm's city center and 10 minutes walk to Central Station, the hotel is easily accessible and close to most attractions in Stockholm.Kungsholmen has a great variety of restaurants and has a charming nightlife, ranging from casual outdoor cafes to nightclubs. Near the hotel is also the City Hall and Town Hall, two of Stockholm's most famous silhouettes. At the hotel, we offer a gym and sauna. The hotel restaurant Kitchen & Table serves a combination of the best flavors of multicultural Manhattan with local ingredients from the region around one of Stockholm's most beautiful islands - Kungsholmen. You can also visit our award winngin cocktailbar Tap Room Kungsholmen to enjoy our modern takes on classical cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Amaranten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Amaranten
First Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing