We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good trendy hotel”
Review of Clarion Hotel Sign

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Sign
Ranked #51 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The good things: Impressive breakfast buffet, nice lobby area, bar at the 8th floor looks great, but we weren't there. Great bed with beautiful picture over the bed. Clean room. Free wifi, but can be slow at times. Good location next to the centralstation (3min walk from Arlanda Express) and 5min to dronninggaten. Good selection of tv-channels (TV2 from DK is good to have). Good service. Locked room where you can store your luggage.

The bad things: The bathroomdoor couldn't close properly, but that could be fixed. The thing that cannot be fixed is, that even if it could close properly the door is not isolated, so you could still hear/smell anything happening in the toilet (Maybe this isn't the case for twin-rooms). And the floor in the bathroom was cold as well.
There isn't a safetybox.
If I understand correctly there are many rooms that do have rather bad views. We were quite lucky to get 9th floor where there was a little bit view, but not something with wow-effect.
The spa area (with access to the warm-pool) costs like 199 SEK according to the sign at the entrance to the spa area (500 sek for non-hotel-guests). That's rather expensive!

Overall good trendy hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sompop K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to reviewing us! It is important for us to know how we can improve. I am happy to hear that you liked our breakfast, location, the bed and our service.

I apologize for the bathroom door was not working proberly, good that you told us so we could fix on site. We have different design in the rooms and some of them have wooden door and some of them have frosted door to the bathroom.

We have safetyboxes in the superior and deluxe rooms, there are other safetyboxes in our luggageroom that you can use free of charge.

Have a nice summer and welcome back!
Best

Chatrine Andersson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,604)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel Sign
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,042 - 1,048 of 3,606 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

Sign is literally next door to the Arlanda Express Airport train, so the hotel was very convenient for flying home. It is close to the central train station, and to the tourist shops and restarants on Gamla Stan. It is about a 45 minute walk to the Vasa Museum, Nordiska Museum, Skansen on Djurgarden. Bus #69 which you can pick up one block from the hotel will take you there if you cannot walk that far. The hotel was the most expensive of our Oslo, Copenhagen, Gothenburg, Stockholm trip at $4590 SEK/$660 USD for 3 people for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Hello!

Thank you for staying with us, I am glad to hear that you liked our location and Hotel.
For the best prices book in advance at our website.

Have a nice summer!
Regards

Chatrine Andersson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

After 3 weeks of travelling and several hotels, we judged this one as the best in terms of staff friendliness and service. We were always greeted with a smile and enthusiastic manner. We most enjoyed the music in the lobby and cool elevators - each one is themed with different music, so you can choose the 'Rock music' 'Jazz' or 'Pop' elevator, and a screen tells you what songs are playing during your ride! The food was also the best we had found in a hotel, both for restaurant orders and meals organised for our tour group.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoinette416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review. We hope to see you soon again!
Enjoy the summer.

Best
Chatrine Andersson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Stayed at the Clarion Sign for 6 days and found the staff to be very helpful and friendly, even helped me logon to the internet and suggested I emailed boarding pass to reception to print off for my return journey.

The hotel has a big morning buffet with a great selection of food but, surprisingly for such a modern hotel the toaster is the slowest I have tried to use in years with people leaving with warm bread rather than toast! So if you want toast you may want to put it on when you get into breakfast, eat everything and then go back it may just be going brown!

The room was very clean and comfortable although I was surprised there was no facilities for making tea or coffee. The bar is typical Stockholm prices, I did not use the swimming pool as you had to pay the Spa prices - I believe this is because the spa is run by a different company.

The hotel is ideally located for the shops of central Stockholm and for the restaurants, museums and craft shops of the old town. It is also convenient for the airport and Arlandia Express which takes 20 mins.

Certainly a hotel I would return to.

Room Tip: Give the toaster a miss if you are in a hurry!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HughMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time reviewing us. Im ao happy to hear that you liked us and our service.

Hope to see you soon again!

Regards
Chatrine Andersson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Central location just a block away from the bus terminal and the central railway station. Most of Stockholm reachable by foot. Modern design and helpful staff. Unusul with glass door to the bathroom. No shower curtain so the floor got quite wet. Missed tea/coffee facility in the room.
Very hot in room, AC could not correct this even on full power. SPA is quite expensive if you just want a quick swim or sauna. Also closed for children in the afternoon. Should have sauna for free for hotel guests.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Hello,

Thanks for choosing Clarion Sign and reviewing us. I am glad to hear that you liked our location, staff and the modern design.

We different design of the bathrooms, some of them have wooden door and some have a frosted glass door.

Welcome back,
Regards
Chatrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Had a wonderful stay with the hotel's sunday luxury package, which is an excellent value.

Pros: The room had a great view over a square and the city conference center. The spa with the heated rooftop pool, large sauna, and the treatments were very enjoyable. The breakfast selection was large and good. There is one gigantic pillow for each side of the bed, and a regular sized pillow. I enjoyed the gigantic pillow. Clean room with nice design. More of the open-style bathroom, which may not be for everyone. Front desk staff was friendly.

Negatives: Because it's summer the restaurant wasn't operating at full force, but the food was still good. The curtains in the room aren't black-out. This is bad in the Stockholm summer with the 4:30 am sunrise, especially when there is a small space between the curtain and the wall.

Would recommend to a friend.

Room Tip: Room 1010! High up and facing the park or city conference center.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmeriExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Hello,

Thank you so much for giving us this great review.
Hope to see you soon again.

Regards
Chatrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I have been to Stockholm for a congress meeting in june.
The hotel is a modern masterpice of architecture but do not take the basic rooms(are much too small for two persons-even for the nordic countries!)
The pool is on the roof but you have to pay 22 eu/ day to use it!
The breakfast is ok with some organic products
Is it a walking distance to the centrum and just few steps to the central train station.
Per total: a good and pleasant hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorDermatology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Good morning from a sunny Stockholm!

Thank you for this review and most welcome back.

Regards
Chatrine Andersson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#43 of 154 in Stockholm
2,870 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#37 of 154 in Stockholm
2,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
1,292 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#48 of 154 in Stockholm
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Sign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Sign

Address: 35 Oestra Jaernvaegsgatan, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#13 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#25 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#36 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $229 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Sign 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Sign is Stockholms largest hotel with 558 double rooms placed next to the central station. The interior is provided by Scandinavian design icons, such as Arne Jacobsen, Bruno Mathsson and Alvar Aalto. Enjoy being pampered at Selma CitySpa+, treat yourself to culinary delights at American Table and take in the classic works of Scandinavian design that fill every corner of the hotel. Also offer large meeting facilities. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Sign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Stockholm
Stockholm Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing