We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for the price”
Review of Clarion Hotel Sign

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Sign
Ranked #51 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We upgraded to a ninth floor room with a view over the park for very little. The room was a very nice size with a wonderful view. Can't tell you about other rooms but upgrade if you can. Location is a bit away but not too far from most things. We were used to walking so it had no impact on us. Breakfast was better than what we had in a few hotels so no complaints there.
Very nice outdoor sitting area. Only complaint was slow elevators but that may have been due to kids pushing buttons.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to a park view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Hello!!

Good to hear that you liked the wonderful view from the ninth floor. I hope you had some time to visit our roof top pool. Thank you for reviewing us.

Most welcome back & enjoy the summer.
Regards
Chatrine Andersson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,090 - 1,096 of 3,830 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

One of my preferred hotels in Stockholm. Nice rooms - especillly the ones that face the square. I like the design furniture in the rooms and also the beds, which are in great quality. Room service is good if you are working late.
Modern hotel with many nice features like the design, misic in the entrance, fast check-in & -out, breakfast, taxi service and so on.

Nice in house restaurant but a big pricy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chokk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear guest!

I am glad to hear that we are one of your preferred hotels! Thank you for this great review.

Welcome back and have a nice summer!
Best
Chatrine Andersson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Ideally located a short walk from the main station for the airport train so easy arrival in the city. It is a walk of 15 minutes to The Old Town and accessible for most main shopping areas and attractions. Rooms are modern functional and quiet. Breakfast was very nice but we only noticed the omelettes chef on our last morning which was a shame as his food was delicious. Staff were all friendly and happy to help. It seemed good value for money in an otherwise lovely but very pricey city. Top tip would be to avoid taxis unless you are very wealthy!

Room Tip: We had a room at the front and the road looked busy but we were not disturbed by traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Hello!

Thank you for a great review, good to hear that you liked our omelettes chef!
Hope you had a good time in Stockholm and that we see you soon again as our guest.

Enjoy the summer!
Best
Chatrine Andersson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We had a room with no view and paid extra to upgrade it to a park facing room. This room had great natural light and was overall a much more spacious room. If we didn't upgrade, I would have a very bad review to write!

The hotel's location is not the best and it's quite a walk to most of the attractions in the city. The staff is helpful and would assist us in every small query that we had.

The hotel bar is nice and worth visiting,

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear guest,

Thanks for reviewing us & welcome back.

Regards
Chatrine Andersson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The good things: Impressive breakfast buffet, nice lobby area, bar at the 8th floor looks great, but we weren't there. Great bed with beautiful picture over the bed. Clean room. Free wifi, but can be slow at times. Good location next to the centralstation (3min walk from Arlanda Express) and 5min to dronninggaten. Good selection of tv-channels (TV2 from DK is good to have). Good service. Locked room where you can store your luggage.

The bad things: The bathroomdoor couldn't close properly, but that could be fixed. The thing that cannot be fixed is, that even if it could close properly the door is not isolated, so you could still hear/smell anything happening in the toilet (Maybe this isn't the case for twin-rooms). And the floor in the bathroom was cold as well.
There isn't a safetybox.
If I understand correctly there are many rooms that do have rather bad views. We were quite lucky to get 9th floor where there was a little bit view, but not something with wow-effect.
The spa area (with access to the warm-pool) costs like 199 SEK according to the sign at the entrance to the spa area (500 sek for non-hotel-guests). That's rather expensive!

Overall good trendy hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sompop K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to reviewing us! It is important for us to know how we can improve. I am happy to hear that you liked our breakfast, location, the bed and our service.

I apologize for the bathroom door was not working proberly, good that you told us so we could fix on site. We have different design in the rooms and some of them have wooden door and some of them have frosted door to the bathroom.

We have safetyboxes in the superior and deluxe rooms, there are other safetyboxes in our luggageroom that you can use free of charge.

Have a nice summer and welcome back!
Best

Chatrine Andersson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Sign is literally next door to the Arlanda Express Airport train, so the hotel was very convenient for flying home. It is close to the central train station, and to the tourist shops and restarants on Gamla Stan. It is about a 45 minute walk to the Vasa Museum, Nordiska Museum, Skansen on Djurgarden. Bus #69 which you can pick up one block from the hotel will take you there if you cannot walk that far. The hotel was the most expensive of our Oslo, Copenhagen, Gothenburg, Stockholm trip at $4590 SEK/$660 USD for 3 people for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Hello!

Thank you for staying with us, I am glad to hear that you liked our location and Hotel.
For the best prices book in advance at our website.

Have a nice summer!
Regards

Chatrine Andersson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

After 3 weeks of travelling and several hotels, we judged this one as the best in terms of staff friendliness and service. We were always greeted with a smile and enthusiastic manner. We most enjoyed the music in the lobby and cool elevators - each one is themed with different music, so you can choose the 'Rock music' 'Jazz' or 'Pop' elevator, and a screen tells you what songs are playing during your ride! The food was also the best we had found in a hotel, both for restaurant orders and meals organised for our tour group.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoinette416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review. We hope to see you soon again!
Enjoy the summer.

Best
Chatrine Andersson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#44 of 155 in Stockholm
3,043 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#34 of 155 in Stockholm
2,786 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#16 of 155 in Stockholm
1,441 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#60 of 155 in Stockholm
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Sign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Sign

Address: 35 Oestra Jaernvaegsgatan, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#13 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#19 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#25 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#37 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $183 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Sign 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Sign is Stockholms largest hotel with 558 double rooms placed next to the central station. The interior is provided by Scandinavian design icons, such as Arne Jacobsen, Bruno Mathsson and Alvar Aalto. Enjoy being pampered at Selma CitySpa+, treat yourself to culinary delights at American Table and take in the classic works of Scandinavian design that fill every corner of the hotel. Also offer large meeting facilities. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel Sign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Stockholm
Stockholm Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing