We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with modern rooms”
Review of Clarion Hotel Sign

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Sign
Ranked #52 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before moving into our temporary flat which was within a stone's throw. Was afraid about all the "tour bus" posts and the "crowded" negative reviews but was pleasantly surprised by the Clarion Hotel Sign. It's big for sure. We were lucky to get a room on the top floor overlooking the green park below with beautiful Stockholm buildings as a back drop. It made our first day in Sweden a spectacularly memorable one. The rooms are smallish but I liked how sleek and minimalist they were. The bathroom is slightly awkward as the door is cloudy glass and if you need privacy....well, that's not going to happen. But there are lots of bathrooms in the lobby (yes, with black toilet paper!) if you need... The morning breakfast buffet is pretty incredible with lots of offerings--herring, salmon, boiled eggs for instance as well as a whole condiments bar with flaxseed, turmeric and various spices for the 5+ kinds of yogurts available. Tons of bread choices as well as fruits, jams, sliced meats and cheeses. Really a total smorgasbord (Swedish origin of course!). The proximity to Arlanda Express cannot be beat--which is also next to the main T Centralin train station. No need for taxis. The touristy but have-to-do Ice Bar is a three minute walk as well as some great restaurants and shopping/pedestrian areas. Basically you can do touristy things and local things easily from this hotel. Since I now live close by and walk by this hotel almost every day, I can say without hesitation that this is a great centrally located hotel with good amenities and perks for a decent price. Don't worry about the tour busses. They really don't make a difference.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

533 - 539 of 3,841 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2015

Perfect resonably priced hotel, great for our girls weekend away. Room was clean, quite basic, but the beds were comfy. We had a peaceful nights sleep.
The only thing I really missed was having tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Also, lack of towels and no shower mat so the floor got soaked.

The buffet at breakfast was amazing. Such a choice, everybody well catered for. Only problem was we went down at a very busy time (10am) and found it very tricky to get somewhere to sit. We did eventually find somewhere but had to share a table with others, which wasn't really a problem. This hotel caters for people on conferences so gets very busy. So maybe try to go down to breakfast earlier to get a table.

Check in was efficient and the staff were friendly & helpful, nothing was too much bother.

I would recommend this hotel for a short city break.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PyrfordPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2015

Personal very friendly and all with swedish style. I love the music in the hall and the bar.
Probably we return, because we have a good feeling with the bed, super comfortable.
The breakfast have a lot of options, but every day with a LOT of people.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank biotps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Great hotel where the reception was welcoming. Elevators plays different music genre, prefers the jazz elevator. "Sunday roast" as varied varied every Sunday, was lovely. And we particularly noticed that the wait staff was attentive. Great, good Scandinavian breakfast. Had room into the courtyard, but it was bright with fun decorations at night

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Planlegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2015

The location of this property is ideal for accessing the central train station (within walking distance) and several good restaurants are very close. The room wasn't huge but it was adequate and the bed very comfortable. The bar in the lobby is over priced and should be avoided. The breakfast buffet was great!!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fayo400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Hotel is nice. Room amenities were also good. We got a corner room with fantastic views so no complaints about that. But strangely its entrance was wired. There one door after other to go inside that room. So the in between area was always closed and has some smell. Rooms are updated, modern and with good furnishings. There was major leakage in bathroom sink.
Breakfast was nice, staff was very helpful. We stayed there for 3 nights. Hotel is close to train station (little more than 1/2 KM). I am not sure if that's a good thing or bad. We had to catch a train to Oslo at 6AM and no taxi was ready to go to train station.

Room Tip: Room with Garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sonal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

The location is fantastic. Hotel is very good, just had some minor issues with the room cleaning. A not surprised to see how expensive it was to go for a dip in the pool, even as a weekend guest, but it was still a good bath. Breakfast was a bit crowded, but still - they kept everything coming and made it work out very well after all.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank SUhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#43 of 154 in Stockholm
3,047 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#36 of 154 in Stockholm
2,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
1,448 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#60 of 154 in Stockholm
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Sign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Sign

Address: 35 Oestra Jaernvaegsgatan, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#13 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#19 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#25 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#39 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $183 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Sign 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Sign is Stockholms largest hotel with 558 double rooms placed next to the central station. The interior is provided by Scandinavian design icons, such as Arne Jacobsen, Bruno Mathsson and Alvar Aalto. Enjoy being pampered at Selma CitySpa+, treat yourself to culinary delights at American Table and take in the classic works of Scandinavian design that fill every corner of the hotel. Also offer large meeting facilities. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel Sign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Stockholm
Stockholm Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing