We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A piece of heaven on earth”
Review of Kamalaya Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kamalaya Koh Samui
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Laem Set
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A piece of heaven on earth”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The resort is built along the hillside down to the beach among the nature vegetation, it is very peaceful,and relaxing. The resort tried to meet all your needs. Excellent spa ,helpful information for your physical and mental health, great classes for tai chi, yoga, and a lot of other classes. You can detox, relax, loss some weight or just have a good time here. You do not have to think about anything, just go to the restaurant and everything is coded. Detox or regular, you just make your choice. Food is amazing for something that is so healthy for you. You can be a vegetarian or meat lover. If you are looking for wild night life ,and a lot of partying this is not the place for you. And again if you want to get out of the rat race and try to find yourself , this will be a good start.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mermaid719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    68
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
98
159
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

It is a great place if you're looking to recalibrate, get-away from stress and hectic urban life while also wanting to "invest" in your body & heath. So if you're looking to stay in a luxe resort, this is probably not exactly what you're looking for. Kamalaya is an unique sanctuary in that they offer all sorts of well-being & health-improvement programs and have practitioners from all the world that specialize in rolfing, qigong, TCM, healing, stress mgmt, etc. I went for the yoga program which was expensive and would not recommend it for intermediate or advanced level yogis. But still I had a good time taking other classes and learning new things. The massages (comp with the yoga programme) were fab and the beach coast is quite amazing. They have excellent food and I was amazed at the diversity of vegetarian dishes their chef was able to concoct. One thing to note, there is no TV so you are really detached from civilization. I left Kamalaya definitely feeling "new" and re-energized and would highly recommend it to those who are looking for peace and quiet and can appreciate being alone and living in the "now."

Room Tip: Try to the rooms atop the hill (across the reception). Great view of ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onechinawoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

I initially stayed here on my own in Dec 2010 and I looked so healthy on my return and so energised that my husband was curious. We decided to go there with our daughter for a healthy retreat for a week. We stayed in the two bedroom rock villa which is really spacious and ideal if you are travelling with family. I took the package for the three of us - I probably would have gone al-a-carte if I was going on my own again because I recall the treatments I liked previously, but decided that it would be a good idea if we all did the same program so we all were on "healthy lifestyle". Day one was hard for my husband and daughter saying - "what no alcohol!" and seeing all this incredibly healthy food. Within a day they were both onboard and really started enjoying the experience. They were surprised how quickly the day filled up with yoga, personal training in the gym, treatments and nutrition advice and it was a strange holiday in a sense as you are all so busy during the day it is like you are on an individual holiday with your individual thoughts, but then you get to regroup in the evening and share your experiences - so the best of both worlds actually - time to reconnect with yourself, but also having family to share it with. I had some transformations shifts with homeopathy which helped me shift a cough that has been lingering for a long time and also a session with a rolfing expert (a visiting practitioner) which resulted in no back or knee pain for many years and I want to follow Ferran around the world (he is based in Barcelona). The consultants are second to none, the environment is relaxing and it is an amazing place to recharge. Are the rooms the best I have ever stayed in - absolutely not....but you are not actually there for the villa, you are there to invest some time in yourself. At the end of the trip there were quite a few kilos lost, a lot of stress left behind and we all felt ready to take on the working world again. Holidays are about the experience and I think Kamalaya gets the experience just right and the service is really good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ionise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Spent three days here as a wind down. Did the job perfectly. Food and spa are excellent. Being built on a hill, you certainly get your share of exercise walking up and down to the beach. i had a hillside suite but on reflection think would have preferred one of the villas. Occasionally felt that the service was a bit slow and that they were little understaffed. Would happily return though.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PKFlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

......then this is your place! Very good service and the massages at the "wellness center" were excellent, but it wasn't a perfect fit for me. I should have been in a 5 star hotel elsewhere on the island......felt quite isolated (many people come and never leave the property which is just not me) in the SE corner of the island. Plus very steep hill to get to beach made it a chore to get from your room to beach. I didn't do the detox so could eat what I liked from the menu which was all healthy and very good........but on reflection all I needed was a high end hotel with a great spa, not all the extra "crunchy" stuff too. .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank redbritgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I went on a weight loss and spa holiday with luxury in mind and booked myself in to the 1 bedroom ocean front suite with pool. On day one found out that 95% of what I had to do as part of my package was located at the top of a huge hill... I really thought I'd never be able to do it and huffed and puffed like I was 90yrs old. On day 1 the GM walked by and asked me how it was going and I could barely speak. The whole layout of the hotel is stunning, with views that I could sit and look at for hours and hours. I had medical analysis, healing, infra-red sauna, acupuncture, massages, personal training, yoga, beauty treatments etc etc - so I was busy. They also try to sell you other treatments and my bill went up quite a lot so I’d warn to be careful of this. Loved everyone = every single person who works here just the best people I met working in any hotel/spa. There are so many things to say, so many things to recommend, the food, the treatments - everything. Only disappointment is the pool, it's small but you don't care because the beach is glorious and really no time for lounging around. By day 5 I was walking up the hill and saw again the GM and he was asking how I was liking it and I said... yeah it's great but dreading that hill and he said "what the one behind you?" and as I turned around to look realised I hadn’t even noticed it, embarrassingly it looked so tiny I wondered why I'd ever found it hard to climb! Honestly, staying here for the 12 nights changed me completely. It made me look 10-15yrs younger, feel fitter, happier, content, healthy etc etc etc. I want to go back every year. I heard people complaining that it's not the Chiva Som or Six Senses Destination, and I guess it's not but they are not aiming at spoiling you they are aiming at healing you and believe it works. I was alone and I'd have liked a tv/dvd in my room but it's a retreat for relaxation and not their policy but I found the nights a bit slow. I also found the bed so damn hard but on my last day found out that they will give you mattress covers. Bathrooms are lovely and mine had part of the bathroom built into the rockface, really unique and you feel like you are having a shower in the jungle. Lots of classes to do and the view from the pavilion is stunning. I was a bit grumpy about lack of luxury but on reflection the positive changes the entire experience made to my life, has made me realise how lucky I was to stay here... in fact I went to the Four Seasons afterwards for 8 days and that was a HUGE mistake! It is a beautiful beautiful spot and it fills your soul with such contentment that stayed with me a long long time after I left.

Room Tip: I wouldn't worry about booking the suite, because you are rarely in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tani267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Fantastic resort, super food, kind people. I did the Detox and it was great.
I lost 2 kilo's in two weeks, but Detox is not to lose wight, but I was happy with the results.
Detox is an easy way here to clean your body.
I was very happy that Ferran Moreno was there, he did the rolfing methode for my back, it was great. The whole staff was very kind and helpfull, when I was on the beach to bring me back with the buggy, was no problem at all.
I certainly want to go there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nardastip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laem Set
15.6 km away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
11.7 km away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
19.3 km away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 62 in Maret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
3.3 km away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
15.6 km away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamalaya Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamalaya Koh Samui

Property: Kamalaya Koh Samui
Address: 102/9 Moo 3, Laem Set Rd, | Na-Mueang subdistrict, Laem Set, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Laem Set
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Laem Set
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kamalaya Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kamalaya Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamalaya Koh Samui Hotel Laem Set
Kamalaya Hotel Koh Samui
Kamalaya Spa Koh Samui
Kamalaya Koh Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing