We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel but a bit far away from the City Center.”
Review of Hotel von Kraemer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel von Kraemer
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Uppsala
Reviewed 16 December 2016

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The overall stay was quite nice. The rooms were clean and fancy, the breakfast buffet had a lot of options, the internet was fast in all places of the hotel and the hotel staff was very polite and helpful. The only negative that I have to mention was the distance from the hotel to the city center. It is a walking distance of about 20 minutes - not so far away but not easy to walk with -3 degrees outside and frozen-slippery streets. By taxi is about 10 minutes and the cost is about 15€ (one-way). There is no smoking area in the hotel and if you want to smoke you have to go outside of the main entrance and cross the street. Smoking is only allowed at the other side of the street because on the ground floor of the hotel there is a Clinic with patients.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2016

The hotell is fairly new. With reception in 4th floor.. strange layout, have to use key card on every door. Very prison like and far from a feeling staying at a hotel. Reason is that the hotel only have one staff at reception during night I guess.

The hotel rooms are OK size, but we did pay extra for a bigger room, but they are not the same as seen on their Web page. So, kinda feeling tricked that way..

My wife work at a hotel as a asistant housekeeping maneger, so she know a thing or two about clean rooms. And they are clean, but they can use 3 to 5 more minuter per room to make them spotless, e.g. spots and stains all over that can easily be removed with a dry cloth. And not to forget that they had empty soap dispensers, c'mon cleaning staff...

The hotel room do not have a house phone, asked why and got a answer the hotel management did not want that when they opened the hotell, e.g. the staff talking to the guests don't know what to t
answer them, or explain why we don't have phones in the rooms. So, you have to walk down to the reception when you need help, and being a hospital hotell open for public guests also, they should have phones in the rooms!

Asked why we only have one channel on the TV, they asked me to do a D.Y.I fix, unplugging TV from the "box" thingy and wait 30 secs, they did not ask to assist us right away at all. They want us to take care of it ourself first, then talk to them the next day if not fixed... Really...? That is not hotell service at all, and never seen that on any hotels I have stayed in, from low bush hotels in Asia, Africa or other places.. they all find ways to try to help out. But not at this hotel. The business layout is a self running or self sustained hotell, meant to be for guests that are in and out, but they have nothing on their site saying so, in fact, they are giving us the impression to be a ordinary hotel with good standards towards service and hospitality.

Breakfast is just bread, beacon, eggs, cerials, that's it.. Very simple and OK on a low budget hotel, but for what we paid for 5 nights, it is not (APROX 9000 NOK)

If you expect service, don't stay here. If you want a simple, fairly clean room and without service, by all means, book.

One thing:
My impression is that the staff do their best, although some are not trained to do their best in hotel politiness. Not rude, just unaware on how to aproach guests in fashionable matter.

Overall ok room to stay at, just to bad it is so hard to get stuff done or get in touch with the staff when you need them due to lacking phones on the rooms.

As a patient from Norway, attending specialist health care, and just 80 meters (aprox. 74 yrds) from the hospital it is convenient for me to stay here. But next time we will look for another hotell before we stay here again. Not scared away, it is just the fact I know we can get more for our money at another hotell. A price at NOK 6000,- is more a correct price, e.g. we paid 30 percent to much for what we got, or did not get to be more correct.

Room Tip: Reception at 4th floor, strange layout. Close to the hospitals if you are a patient. You get better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Nice & quiet hotel which is a short 10 mins stroll into town. Near the castle, botanical garden & university library. Simple design and perfectly comfortable. The restaurant is very decent. Upsalla is a compact university town so a short visit of 2 days is adaquate to see everything.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank Sudokuace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We stayed here as tourists on our last holiday night, tired of camping in a small tent and longing for a good bed. This hotel offered that great bed and furthermore it was just a good hotel. Not charming in any way, just very functional, although one has a very nice view over the city (not the center, but the industry side of town) and there is a great roof terrace. I did feel a bit out of place as a camping tourist as it felt like a business hotel. I figured it would be mostly people going to conferences sleeping there.
Breakfast buffet was great. Rain shower didn't work unfortunately and the sink was not cleaned well enough.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nalle28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016

A good base for the university area but also a short and pleasant walk to the castle, cathedral, museum and on to the main shopping area. We stayed for a week visiting family and found our room really comfortable, I liked the floor to ceiling windows which opened up to give a view over the city. Scandi stylish, but not at the expense of homeliness. The bed had to be one of the best I've slept in, too.

Room Tip: Floor 4 (top)rooms have good view. The hotel was nice and quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank acp262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Great receptionist, don't know his name but he worked the evening on Sunday June 5th and was quiet new. Went above and beyond to help us find something we left in a room when we changed (rooms).

Super friendly staff and a relaxed sphere. Young staff and down to earth. Really close to the hospital so perfect for that perhaps a bit far to the city (15 mins walk).

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Thank JulesMattsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Located next to the university and the hospital. Just a hop, skip and a jump away from the town centre and the river.
Home to one of the best restaurants in town. Rooms are simple and clean. Believe it or not, laundry is free: the catch is that you go to the washing machine and do it yourself! The minibar in the room is empty: you buy what you want from the reception and fill the fridge yourself. How Swedish!
Fastest WiFi of any hotel I have staying in anywhere in the world!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GavinKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uppsala hotels
1.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala
0.9 km away
Grand Hotell Hornan
Grand Hotell Hornan
#7 of 17 in Uppsala
167 reviews
1.2 km away
Elite Hotel Academia
Elite Hotel Academia
#3 of 17 in Uppsala
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Best Western Hotel Svava
1.5 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Uppsala
0.9 km away
Akademihotellet
Akademihotellet
#10 of 17 in Uppsala
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel von Kraemer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel von Kraemer

Address: 26 Von Kraemers Alle, Uppsala 752 37, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Uppsala
Price Range: $228 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel von Kraemer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel von Kraemer is located in the leafy suburb of Kabo, near Uppsala Castle and the University Hospital with a view overlooking the city. You can stay with us, eat with us, have a drink with us, and have meetings or relaxing conversations in our quiet, vibrant environment. Our staff love to provide the very best of service with heart, soul and genuine care, and we want your stay with us to be as good as it can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel von Kraemer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing