We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Whenever I am in Goteborg I usally stay in that hotel. Huge rooms with very high standard. Hotel restaurant "Carnegie" with very well prepared menu and their very own mini brewery it is a definite plus of that place. Fantastic view of the river from the restaurant. Very good breakfast offer. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed here for work a few days in February, and it's a perfectly serviceable business hotel. Internet was free and the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The included breakfast is very substantial and high-quality for a buffet. I really enjoyed the blueberry and rosehip juices. There is also a small fitness centre (four machines), and a brand new sauna and steam room which I enjoyed.

The building is historic and was converted from a brewery, which I found very interesting. The rooms are surprisingly large, nicely furnished, and very clean.

I don't know that I would use this hotel as a base if I were here as a tourist because it's outside of the city centre, however, it is a very easy ride by tram (#9 or #3) into the centre, or you can take the public transit boat- a lovely way to get about - which leaves from just about a block away.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FairviewVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Weird Studio apartment, as it has 2 floors. On ground floor you the bathroom & kitchen & upper there is a bedroom. The Tv is also downstairs. It becomes ridiculous to everytime go down for washroom, even at night. The staff is friendly. Separate modems are not available as hotel claims. We stayed for about 15-16 days & the modem only arrived at the time of check out. Though they have wired internet as well. View is awesome as the location if very good, near the river.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pr_ri_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bruges, Belgium
12
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Staff at reception was friendly and helpfull. The rooms are old, but clean. For this price, I would appreciate modern bathroom. Restaurant less friendly staff, food not good (too heavy stuff, too much salted)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in October in a superior room. Had a great view of the river and you can watch boats and the larger ferries going in and out from your room - ask for a river view. Our room was spacious even taking into account our son used the sofa bed. The only thing a little dated was the bathroom, but everything was very clean. Breakfast was very good with a wide choice, but only served until 0930 weekday - fine for business travellers but not for holiday makers. The hotel is about 2 miles from the city centre, but trams run every few minutes and there is also a river ferry to the city centre every 30 mins (public transport tickets are for buses, trams and ferries). Really enjoyed Gothenburg. Found the staff helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for the river view
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrickyTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Nice and big rooms. Great food. Not the highest grade because of the staff. Both at checkin and in the restaurant the was staff seemed to be a bit nonchalant.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London
11
Reviewed 20 October 2011

As an A-Club member I always try and stay at Accor hotels as I can use and earn points, but I have to say that I would not recommend this hotel at all. Starting with cleanliness - we found chocolate wrappers on the floor and some hairs when we opened the sofa bed. Location - not as close as you are led to believe by the Accor website...count on a tram or boat into town. The standard rooms are small...Service was poor - we had an issue with representations made by the hotel which they later denied and refuse to honour. Altogether...give it a miss and stay in one of the nicer hotels in the city centre.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
2.8 km away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
5.6 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mektagonen
1.2 km away
Quality Hotel 11 & Eriksbergshallen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Spar Hotel Majorna
Spar Hotel Majorna
#16 of 67 in Gothenburg
571 reviews
4.9 km away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
4,782 reviews
4.3 km away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg

Address: Klippan 1, Gothenburg 414 51, Sweden (Formerly Novotel Goteborg)
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Gothenburg
#8 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#20 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#22 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $154 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Goteborg Hotel Gothenburg
Novotel Hotel Gothenburg
Novotel Hotel Goteborg
Novotel Gothenburg
Gothenburg Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing