We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Charming Hotel with Friendly & Courteous Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Royal Gothenburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
310 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel with Friendly & Courteous Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

My husband and I took a three day trip to Göteborg over the Easter weekend. We stayed 2 nights in the Hotel Royal and couldn't have been happier! The hotel's front door is right on the corner at Drottninggattan and was only a 3 block, 7 minute walk from the train station.
The breakfast was lovely, and included cereals, 3 different kinds of eggs, meats, cheeses, breads, yogurt and milk, tea & coffee and even 3 different kinds of cookies next to a bowl of Easter candy!
We had dealings with 3 different desk clerks and all of them had smiles on their faces and were anxious to do whatever was needed to make us happy.
We had a room on the first floor which was easy to get to climbing the wide stairs. Our room was clean, updated and comfortable. There was art on the walls and matching bedspread and curtains on the two windows which faced a little courtyard with outdoor seating (we were in room 239). The bathroom was clean and had a large shower stall. My husband couldn't figure out how to get hot water, but with a little knob-turning we finally got it.
Every afternoon in the lobby they put out a fresh yummy cake or brownies for the guests, and there is hot water to make tea or instant coffee.
Hotel Royal knows how to please its clientele and get rave reviews! This is one of the better hotels I've stayed in, and I've traveled around the world.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    239
    23
    9
    3
See reviews for
114
291
90
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

In a quieter street a short walk from the station and an easy walk to main shopping areas. Very tastefully decorated hotel. Our lovely room overlooked an internal courtyard and was very quiet. An excellent breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twofromLonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

location close to railwaystaition and pedestrian area of the inner city. Not a great look from outside, but inside a comfortable boutique hotel with character.

Room Tip: best to ask for a room to the inside and if you can get the fourth floor, quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeidiAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Great location (close to train station, but not in a shabby street). Great service from the staff (made a point of introducing themselves, etc).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
215 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 596 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We arrive in Gothenburgh by train from Stockholm.The Hotel location could not be better if you arrive by train ,because it is only few steps away from train station.Easy walk even with lugagge.
The lady at the reception was lovely and gave us a warm welcome!She could not be more helpful giving restaurant recommendations,maps,etc,during our stay. The same friendliness on departure.
Beautiful "tower room" ( one double and one single room connected) , spacious and clean.
The only downside was the street noise during our two nights stay.It was some kind of summer festival in the city,so it was impossible to sleep in any of the two nights we spent there!The problem was not the music because we didn`t hear it,but the people voices in the street screaming all night were terrible ( we were on top floor!).Other than this the hotel was perfect.Tea and biscuits available for guests in the lobby,free internet and good breakfast.
Reasonable rates for Sweden!

Room Tip: on summer ask for a room at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank margarida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

The oldest hotel in Gothenburg is 3 minutes from Central Station and Airport Bus terminal, 5 minutes from theatre,landing stages, 10 minutes from Concert Hall, Theatre, Art Gallery and Park. In other words absolutely prime position. I had single room overlooking courtyard, so quiet that I could have window open - pristine room, only rather small bed was something one could complain about. Superb breakfast, helpful friendly staff, free wi-fi, internet, free coffee, tea and cake all day, two small but pleasant lounges. Reasonable rates for Sweden.

Room Tip: Overlooking courtyard best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Super friendly staff, great room, lovely city. perfect blend of B&B, business and boutique hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.4 km away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#4 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.3 km away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#9 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 68 in Gothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#10 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
1.9 km away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Gothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Gothenburg

Property: Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Address: 67 Drottninggatan, Gothenburg 411 07, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Gothenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal is the oldest hotel in Gothenburg founded in 1852. The hotel has 75 rooms of different sizes, situated on four floors.Royal Hotel breathes a 19-century atmosphere with its hand wrought iron banisters and painted glass ceiling dating back to 1897. The old world charm combined with modern features such as I-pads in the lounge and free wireless internet access in all rooms, makes it a cozy as well as comfortable hotel in the heart of town.All rooms with recently renovated bathrooms. The breakfast room is spacious and a Scandinavian style breakfast buffet is served every day.The Royal has 35 double rooms. Our famous octagonal "tower rooms" are very popular with our guests. Free check in coffee/tea with home baked cake is served all afternoons and evenings. Our newly decorated lounges are very popular with guests for relaxing, or working via our wireless internet service with printer access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Royal Gothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing