We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect location and modern interior” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Allen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Allen
Ranked #53 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location and modern interior”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

What a perfect location! We could see and do whatever we wanted in Gothenburg! We were there during the weekend of "Båtmässan" and really appreciated how the staff took care of us and had patience enough to answer all our questions! The design and the comfort of our room fullfilled our expectations by far, it was clean and everything felt new and we love that swedish design!

We can really recommend this central hotel to everyone who wants to experience the city of Gothenburg!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingOnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    50
    49
    19
    9
See reviews for
21
46
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

We visited the wonderful christmas-park at Liseberg in Gothenburg, and needed somewhere to sleep close to the park. The location of Hotel Allen is central, and its about 10 minutes walk to the Aveny (main street with a lot of shopping and restaurants) and about 20 minutes walk to Liseberg. The hotel have a small parking for guests, its not for free.

About the rooms... well, we have been travelling around a lot, in europe, asia and also Russia - but we have never before been living in such a dirty and rotten hotelroom. It smelled strange and something dead. It was very dirty, and the bathroom... well it is a own story.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Runjarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gothenburg hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

The hotel is very close to the center of town, which is not a very large one, by the way. Possibly a bit difficult to find if using public transportation from the Airport. I rated it average because there was nothing very special about it - clean, small rooms with minimal decor, fluffy bed, coffee and cake available 24/7 , as well as a computer and an info center open to all customers, nice service, the cheapest 3 star hotel in the center of Gothenburg.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SiminaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ski Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

Stayed at Hotell Allèn during a brief stopover in Gothenburg. Since I should only arrive, sleep and then be on my way again I tried to find the most inexpensive hotel close by the centralstation. In the pricelist they list 995 SEK as the cheapest rate on working days, but check in the online booking - there are "last minute" deals starting at 550 SEK! Location - some 10-15 minutes walk from the centralstation. First impression was very good - nice staff. I must admit that I had no high expectations for the room - but soon discovered that my room was located in what must be a nely refurbished part of the hotel. Everything was brand new and spotlessly clean. I can't really complain about anything, even the TV was a (considering the roomsize) huge flatscreen. The bed might be a bit narrow for some, but perfect for me. Breakfast the next day was again a pleasant surprise - very good for such a small hotel.

Conclusion: If going for standardrate and standard room this might be an ordinary hotel. But if you find a last minute deal and get one of the newly refurbished rooms I doubt that you can find better value in central Gothenburg.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isak A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

If like me you're a budget traveller then this is one of best hotels I have ever stayed in. The cleanliness, rooms were spacious and had everything you need. The food was lovely and all well presented. Staff very nice and friendly. Hotel is in excellent location. 5 minutes from the main shopping street Avenyn and about 10 minutes walk to the Liseberg theme park which is beautiful at Christmas time. I had a fab week here and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lowsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2009

Pros: Much better breakfast than most Swedish hotels, nice staff, great location
Cons: Postage stamped sized room and bath, noisy plumbing, noisy location

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dunnrej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.4 km away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#23 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.2 km away
Center Hotel
Center Hotel
#64 of 68 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.8 km away
Arena Hotel
Arena Hotel
#58 of 68 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Vasa
Hotel Vasa
#50 of 68 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#11 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.4 km away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#29 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Allen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allen

Property: Hotel Allen
Address: 10 Parkgatan, Gothenburg 411 38, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Allen 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Gothenburg at Hotel Allen This good-value hotel is a 10-minute walk from Gothenburg Central Station and 300 yards from the main street, Avenyn. It features free Wi-Fi internet plus free tea, coffee and cake. Breakfast is always included in the price. Hotel Allen's rooms include flat-screen TVs with cable channels, hardwood floors and heated bathroom floors. A free internet computer can be found in the lobby, and front desk staff can offer local tips or book nearby restaurants. The Swedish Exhibition Centre and Liseberg Amusement Park are a 15-minute walk from Hotel Allen - Hotel Chain Sweden Hotels. Parking 150 SEK, please call Hotel Allen for reservation and availibility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Allen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allen Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing