We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, quiet area, great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Flora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Flora
Ranked #28 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Perfect location, quiet area, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

Stayed at the end of November 2011 two nights. Great choice!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golfaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    131
    48
    7
    1
See reviews for
30
120
23
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Stayed here for one night with my boyfriend, the hotel is very conveniently located with the tram and bus station close by but easy walk most places. It overlooks the river which is lovely in the sun, and is in a quiet location.

We stayed in a "basic" room, which was perfectly clean, comfortable bed and nice facilities. The breakfast was a good buffet style.

Most importantly the staff are extremely helpful, the hotel appears to really take care of its guests and was happy to assist in any way possible.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kat_f_goo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

I sort of felt like I was in some type of institutional accommodation here. With the bare white walls and tile flooring throughout the rooms and bathroom it did have a hospital feeling about it. That aside, you can't hold it against them as the rooms were spotless and well appointed with a good television, bed, etc. It's well located for everything in Gothenburg - we were able to walk absolutely everywhere. Gothenburg is not a cheap city so the value for money in this hotel is good. We really liked the common areas in this hotel, was nice to sit and have a glass of wine after a day of sightseeing, in their little cubby cove in front of the windows, watching the world go by.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel so you can see the park from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Where to start? Okay the good bits, reception excellent, staff great. Breakfast adequate, Bar great and very reasonable. Location, just about perfect. Bedrooms, a little basis. Freestanding open hanging space, no alarm clock, no safe, no tea/coffee,very limited TV channels, no iPod dock (a bonus I know but becoming more common). Bottled water drunk on arrival, never replenished, a little stingy I would say. Bathroom basic but sufficient. Room was plenty big enough and locks on corrider doors so felt very secure. I did like this place and would stay again, it wouldn't hurt too much to give bedrooms a little more facilites. Cost of wine by bottle/glass the cheapest I found in all Sweden so great for nightcap or pre-dinner.

Room Tip: Beeter views at front and higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TartanLad48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

I stayed at the Flora Hotel for 3 nights on a business trip. The hotel decor is very smart - nice pieces of furniture and very original style that make a cosy atmosphere. Rooms very well furnished, immaculate cleanness, and excellent breakfast. The staff is kind, smiling and efficient. Wi-fi connection free of charge.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

I stayed four nights for business at the university. From the moment I walked in the door, I felt taken care of. The staff was truly friendly and helpful with everything from restaurant recommendations to making me a cappuccino on my arrival, to random housekeeping requests.

The rooms are European style (meaning smaller than typical American standards) with modern furnishings. Every detail was considered to make the most of the space. It did not feel too small. On the other hand, I would consider it much more appropriate for a business trip than a family vacation--for example, there's no closet in the room, but a very nice setup for hanging clothes and laying out folded items on shelves.

Breakfast was ample. They transform the lobby to the breakfast room in the morning. Felt very cozy and charming. My favorite part of the hotel was the window seating so I could sit with my laptop or reading a book while watching people passing by.

The location is fantastic. Across from the park, on the edge of the pedestrian shopping district, and within easy walking distance of the Haga historic/pedestrian district. I would love to stay there again and would recommend it to anyone. I wouldn't say it's the cheapest place in Gothenburg by any means. But in terms of quality and boutique feel, it's fabulous.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 00annette00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eksjö
Level Contributor
128 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

Stayed here a couple of years ago. This time I was more pleased. I contacted the reception in advance to make sure I wouldn´t get a terrace facing room. I ended up with a nice room facing a small street. The decor is cool and modern. The bathroom nice and fresh. The downside was that they only supplied toiletries in very small bottles that were never replenished and didn´t last for the entire stay.

No minibar or fridge and I never found any icemashine either.. You have to go down to the bar in the receptionarea if you want something cold to drink. No aircon if you´re not staying at any of the rooftop rooms. I can tell you I had a warm night but then it was one of the warmer days in Sweden.

The location is great, just behind the Saluhall and close to all major shopping, restaurants and "Filmstaden" if you want to go to the movies.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sommarcatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#11 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.3 km away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#9 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.2 km away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.5 km away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#21 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flora

Property: Hotel Flora
Address: 2 Groensakstorget, Gothenburg 411 17, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#12 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#19 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Flora 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Flora is a family owned four star hotel located in the center of Gothenburg. 67 rooms all designed for your comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flora Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing