We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (873)
Filter reviews
873 results
Traveller rating
545
264
45
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
264
45
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews post office christmas house santa claus arctic circle the cottages northern lights private sauna gas station private visit husky park reindeer farm reindeer ride small kitchen fairy tale magical place ice hotel souvenir shops
Filter
Updating list...
380 - 385 of 873 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We choose to visit not only family in Finland Christmas 2011 but also do the Santa Claus (Joulupukki) trip for a break. We spent 3 day a the village and had a wonderful time. Traveling in Finland is never economical but the village made things much more feasible and gave our energetic boys space to play and activities to attract them. Marko and Teija, who manage the hotel were wonderful and made us feel welcome from the start. We were met at the airport, shuttled to the hotel and breakfast and dinner were included in the price reducing the daily incidental cost immensely. The food was typical by Finnish cafeteria standards but quite passable. The attractions are expensive by most anyone but a Finns standards but we were expecting it. We did reindeer and dog sled rides which were the highlights of the trip. The boys enjoyed the snow, a tubing park and the kicksleds which went with every room. Everyone we met was very friendly and happy to converse with us in English or Finnish.

The cabins were nice and new and, though small by American standards, spacious by European standards. The de rigour sauna was also in the cabin and very welcome in the evenings.

If you have young children and want to experience a different cultural, though still commercial, Christmas, this one is to be recommended. Being there in the middle of winter meant the day's light was very short but that added to the charm with all the decorative light provided in the area.

I have to say again, everyone we dealt with tried to make our stay very enjoyable, especially Marko and Teija.

John

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Take a holiday at Santa Claus Village with as many kids as you can. We went with 4 kids age under 9.
I think for one kid family it might be boring. So book 3 days if you have one or 2 kids. Upon arriving we were afraid of 8 days we booked.
It passed like second
Stay at S.C. Village Cabins and feel real Santa atmosphere. Rovaniemi is city like all other cities.
Airport is really 4 minutes from village.
Food is just under average and except 3 restaurants in Rovaniemi like Nili, do not expect much and do not even think about it.
On the other side, all prices are fair and there are no surprises. Taxi from Village is to Rovaniemi is 15 euro.
Cabins/ rooms are modest but absolutely ok for all possible expectations. If possible, book whole cabin instead of half.
We were there in Christmas period and it wasn’t cold at all. From 0 to -10. By some special socks and active underware for kids before arriving.
In case of very cold weather kids need multilayer clothing for playing outside for when and how much they want. We visited extreme sports shop before going to Lapland and it was clever.
Take addresses from family and kid’s friends stayed at home, spend at least 3 hours in Santa’s Post and send as many postcards as you can.
Arrange for Santa to come visit you privately and prepare kids for questions before he arrives.
Aurora Borealis, go for it. If you see it it is magical if you do not see it it is still a great adventure.
Marko and his stuff are fully professinal

Room Tip: cabins are must
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vladimir Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Very warm and cozy cottages!
Floor in the bathroom is warmed up all the time. The bathroom has a sauna, where you can warm up if you are very cold or just to enjoy it. There is a fridge, micro vawe, dishes in a cottage. Location is very good, even if it's far from a city center. But to me city center is dull. Village was much better and I felt like in a fairy tale.
Staff is very helpful. Always willing to help or advise. They met as at the airport (price of the hotel includes transfer) and also airport taxi took us back from the cottage to airport.
On our last day there, restaurant gave us breakfast boxes, since we had an early flight on the next day. That was really nice of them.
Snowmobiles park is near as well as snow wonderland. We also went to husky park, northern lights, Arctic Snow Hotel and of course, visited Santa.
Everything was great!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Munani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2012

If you plan to go to see Santa, this is the place to stay!!!
All the cabanas are new and very comfortable.
You have plenty of activities to do, husky sleigh rides, reindeer rides, snowmobile....
And Santa.... the star of the Christmas... very kind with our son, he spent ten minutes speaking with him, asking questions....
Without any doubt the best "Christmas experince" in our life.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Experiences like we encountered at Santa Claus Village are locked into the memory banks of our family to be treasured for years to come. From the moment we were collected by Marco from Rovaniemi airport we knew the next few days would be very special. Our cabin (38) is currently the last one and on the edge of the forest which meant it was lovely and quiet. Cabins are clean, spacious enough and comfortable. We asked Marco to adjust the heating on arrival to a comfortable 20 degrees centigrade. Stored some treasured Dom Perignon in the fridge which we would later share with Santa.
If you do anything arrange for Santa to come visit you privately as he is everything you would expect Santa to be with wonderful long beard, twinkling eyes and a lovely manner. He sat with our son and answered 20 questions from my 6 year old son's class in Australia about his life. You can then take as many photos as you like and have the video running the whole time. Really special memory.
Loved all the activities- took 2 husky sleigh rides (2km and 5km) at dawn; 2 reindeer rides also at daybreak and asked the driver to stop in the middle of the forest for some photos. Amazing thing to do as so peaceful and we obtained beautiful photos of the reindeers and the forest plus the sami dress looks amazing against white snow. A myriad of activities is available to you, some expensive and some don't cost anything at all. The Gingerbread club was great for our son as he met some lovely boys and we got some time out to have a sauna or shop in the lovely little shops in the complex.
Food was average but included in the price and it filled you up - wine was not exorbitant.
On Christmas Night Santa gave everyone staying at the lodgings a present which was a lovely touch and much appreciated. Dinner that night traditional Finnish food.
Thank you to Marco and Inga for a truly wonderful experience and Santa you definitely have a special place in my heart.

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the main reception area are much quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Imfundu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews