We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love the cabin !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Claus Holiday Village
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

It's just next to the Santa Village and the good thing is their shop operating hours till late as everything in the village almost close at 17:00; the owner couple and staffs are very nice and friendly, the cabin with sauna room is so wonderful after a whole day snow activity outside, comfortable bed and room decor. The hotel restaurant is also nice as they provide delicious food with fair price along with salad bar and drinks; even before we checked-in the staff was already very helpful through email communication.The distance is a problem if you don't drive your own car, only bus no.8 arrives and not very intensive schedule, taxi to city centre cost about 20 euro one way. If you arrive by air plane it will be better as they provide free shuttle service. (plus info, city centre to Rovaniemi train station, taxi 11 euro)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank miJune9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

We choose to visit not only family in Finland Christmas 2011 but also do the Santa Claus (Joulupukki) trip for a break. We spent 3 day a the village and had a wonderful time. Traveling in Finland is never economical but the village made things much more feasible and gave our energetic boys space to play and activities to attract them. Marko and Teija, who manage the hotel were wonderful and made us feel welcome from the start. We were met at the airport, shuttled to the hotel and breakfast and dinner were included in the price reducing the daily incidental cost immensely. The food was typical by Finnish cafeteria standards but quite passable. The attractions are expensive by most anyone but a Finns standards but we were expecting it. We did reindeer and dog sled rides which were the highlights of the trip. The boys enjoyed the snow, a tubing park and the kicksleds which went with every room. Everyone we met was very friendly and happy to converse with us in English or Finnish.

The cabins were nice and new and, though small by American standards, spacious by European standards. The de rigour sauna was also in the cabin and very welcome in the evenings.

If you have young children and want to experience a different cultural, though still commercial, Christmas, this one is to be recommended. Being there in the middle of winter meant the day's light was very short but that added to the charm with all the decorative light provided in the area.

I have to say again, everyone we dealt with tried to make our stay very enjoyable, especially Marko and Teija.

John

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Take a holiday at Santa Claus Village with as many kids as you can. We went with 4 kids age under 9.
I think for one kid family it might be boring. So book 3 days if you have one or 2 kids. Upon arriving we were afraid of 8 days we booked.
It passed like second
Stay at S.C. Village Cabins and feel real Santa atmosphere. Rovaniemi is city like all other cities.
Airport is really 4 minutes from village.
Food is just under average and except 3 restaurants in Rovaniemi like Nili, do not expect much and do not even think about it.
On the other side, all prices are fair and there are no surprises. Taxi from Village is to Rovaniemi is 15 euro.
Cabins/ rooms are modest but absolutely ok for all possible expectations. If possible, book whole cabin instead of half.
We were there in Christmas period and it wasn’t cold at all. From 0 to -10. By some special socks and active underware for kids before arriving.
In case of very cold weather kids need multilayer clothing for playing outside for when and how much they want. We visited extreme sports shop before going to Lapland and it was clever.
Take addresses from family and kid’s friends stayed at home, spend at least 3 hours in Santa’s Post and send as many postcards as you can.
Arrange for Santa to come visit you privately and prepare kids for questions before he arrives.
Aurora Borealis, go for it. If you see it it is magical if you do not see it it is still a great adventure.
Marko and his stuff are fully professinal

Room Tip: cabins are must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VladimirBeograd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Very warm and cozy cottages!
Floor in the bathroom is warmed up all the time. The bathroom has a sauna, where you can warm up if you are very cold or just to enjoy it. There is a fridge, micro vawe, dishes in a cottage. Location is very good, even if it's far from a city center. But to me city center is dull. Village was much better and I felt like in a fairy tale.
Staff is very helpful. Always willing to help or advise. They met as at the airport (price of the hotel includes transfer) and also airport taxi took us back from the cottage to airport.
On our last day there, restaurant gave us breakfast boxes, since we had an early flight on the next day. That was really nice of them.
Snowmobiles park is near as well as snow wonderland. We also went to husky park, northern lights, Arctic Snow Hotel and of course, visited Santa.
Everything was great!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Munani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

If you plan to go to see Santa, this is the place to stay!!!
All the cabanas are new and very comfortable.
You have plenty of activities to do, husky sleigh rides, reindeer rides, snowmobile....
And Santa.... the star of the Christmas... very kind with our son, he spent ten minutes speaking with him, asking questions....
Without any doubt the best "Christmas experince" in our life.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Experiences like we encountered at Santa Claus Village are locked into the memory banks of our family to be treasured for years to come. From the moment we were collected by Marco from Rovaniemi airport we knew the next few days would be very special. Our cabin (38) is currently the last one and on the edge of the forest which meant it was lovely and quiet. Cabins are clean, spacious enough and comfortable. We asked Marco to adjust the heating on arrival to a comfortable 20 degrees centigrade. Stored some treasured Dom Perignon in the fridge which we would later share with Santa.
If you do anything arrange for Santa to come visit you privately as he is everything you would expect Santa to be with wonderful long beard, twinkling eyes and a lovely manner. He sat with our son and answered 20 questions from my 6 year old son's class in Australia about his life. You can then take as many photos as you like and have the video running the whole time. Really special memory.
Loved all the activities- took 2 husky sleigh rides (2km and 5km) at dawn; 2 reindeer rides also at daybreak and asked the driver to stop in the middle of the forest for some photos. Amazing thing to do as so peaceful and we obtained beautiful photos of the reindeers and the forest plus the sami dress looks amazing against white snow. A myriad of activities is available to you, some expensive and some don't cost anything at all. The Gingerbread club was great for our son as he met some lovely boys and we got some time out to have a sauna or shop in the lovely little shops in the complex.
Food was average but included in the price and it filled you up - wine was not exorbitant.
On Christmas Night Santa gave everyone staying at the lodgings a present which was a lovely touch and much appreciated. Dinner that night traditional Finnish food.
Thank you to Marco and Inga for a truly wonderful experience and Santa you definitely have a special place in my heart.

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the main reception area are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Imfundu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

thank you inga for everything. for my family was perfect: first you people, then location, atractions. In four days we didn't have any spare time and we didn't have the time to do all we had in mind. And for the last: good bye Teija because we didn't have the opportunity to say it there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alinabajenaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovaniemi hotels
6.7 km away
Arctic Light Hotel
Arctic Light Hotel
#1 of 13 in Rovaniemi
406 reviews
6.7 km away
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
#4 of 13 in Rovaniemi
612 reviews
5.2 km away
Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rovaniemi
98 reviews
6.6 km away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi
6.8 km away
Scandic Rovaniemi
Scandic Rovaniemi
#9 of 13 in Rovaniemi
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Claus Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Claus Holiday Village

Address: Tahtikuja 2, Rovaniemi 96930, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Lapland > Rovaniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Rovaniemi
Price Range: $145 - $841 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Claus Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-standard cottage accommodation at the Arctic Circle, heart of Santa Claus Village. Our cabins are all equipped with up-to-date facilities, such as private saunas, bathrooms, kitchenette and terrace. There's no better way to enjoy your stay. From your cabin just a minute or two walk to Santa Claus Main Office. All activities & excursions, such as Reindeer rides, Husky dog sledge rides, snowmobile rides, etc.. available on the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Claus Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Claus Holiday Village Hotel Rovaniemi
Santa Claus Holiday Village Rovaniemi, Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing