We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Convenience and Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Carlton
Ranked #41 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This is a great little hotel. Unusual in that is above a coffee shop and restaurant, and only has 16 rooms, but with pleasant attentive service and an outstanding location. You're in downtown Helsinki, just a block away from the central rail station and the bus stop for the Finnair transportation to the airport. Most of central Helsinki including the harbor is within walking distance. Lots of options for shopping and dining with no need for a car and public transportation is just out the door if you need it. Rooms are not particularly large, but very comfortable. Should note that since this is such a small location it does not have an elevator so you will need to negotiate steps. Super breakfast is included in the room rate, and a meal we had in the restaurant in the evening was also very good. In summary this is simply a very pleasant place to stay in a very pleasant city. Everything in Helsinki just has a comfortable feeling. Not a lot of world known tourist sites (don't miss the Fortress of Suomenlinna) but with many beautiful old cut stone buildings in a very clean city, a place that you feel good visiting and wandering about. A great stop off to wind down after visiting a busy place like London - I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bavarianbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

A small and clean hotel in heart of helsinki. Helpfull staffs good foods and clean rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roberts00100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

cute hotel, in the heart of helsinki . personel service. Great staff

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

This is a very small Best Western hotel – only 19 rooms – situated above a busy Robert’s Coffee shop and an Iguana Café. The check-in desk for the hotel is literally attached to the barista’s counter in the coffee shop. The hotel is located one block east of the main train station in the city centre of Helsinki – a perfect location if sightseeing is your main goal, or if you need to be near the transportation hub of Helsinki. You can easily walk from the train/bus station, or numerous trams stop on the street in front of the hotel, just a few steps from the front door. There is also a metro station just around the corner.

I had a double room with two twin beds that was generously sized. The beds, linens and pillows were very comfortable, and the bathroom had a nice shower with complimentary mini soap, shampoo and body gel. A hairdryer was also provided. The room had a large closet with a trouser press inside (although we couldn’t get it to heat up), and there was a very sparse mini bar and a hot pot to make coffee/tea. The room also had a flat screen TV and desk/chair for my laptop. There was complimentary wireless internet throughout the hotel and coffee shop/café downstairs, and the passcode was provided at check-in. I found the internet connection to be very fast and reliable. Our room had three very large windows that opened onto the busy street in front of the hotel, which was nice for a bit of a breeze and to view the bustling city activity. The windows were double paned (actually, they were two entirely separate sets of windows that closed one after the other – not sure how else to describe it), which did help cut some of the noise from the street – but unfortunately I still didn’t sleep well, as the traffic was quite loud during the morning hours. If traffic noise bothers you, you may want to ask for one of the rooms that do NOT face the street (there were only 2 or 3 rooms that faced the back) – or find alternate accommodations. I would’ve preferred if the room had a safe/lockbox, but it did not. I suppose I could’ve locked some things inside the mini-bar (there was some sort of a space inside the mini-bar, with a removable key), but that just seemed weird, so I didn’t do it.

The complimentary breakfast buffet was pretty minimal, and was served in the Iguana Café space (the Café apparently doesn’t open for business to the public until after mid-day). Note that it is a “continental” breakfast. The first morning we were there, there was only bread, cold cut meats, some cheese, plain yogurt, muesli and Rice Krispies, The orange juice was empty, and the milk was nearly empty. There was one pot of brewed coffee. On the second day we were there, in addition to the items mentioned above, the juice and milk were full, and there were also some hard boiled eggs, some croissants, and some fruit flavored yogurt containers. Overall, it was sufficient, but nothing glamorous. Also, it seemed that there was nobody there to re-fill the food items or to clean up after the guests, as there were used dishes sitting around on the tables.

In general, the hotel staff members were friendly and helpful. However, I got the idea that the hotel is not the primary focus of the business, as the staff members were usually busy with the coffee shop and café patrons, and would only come to the small hotel “desk” when a hotel guest approached. Overall, I thought that the hotel was a comfortable 3-star hotel in a great central location, but like all hotels in Helsinki, it was overpriced. I would never pay that much for a mid-range hotel here in the U.S.

My biggest complaint about this hotel was the poor communication in making and re-confirming my reservation. I feel it’s important to be able to contact a hotel via email and receive a prompt and accurate response. This hotel didn’t do a good job on that account. When I tried to make the reservation originally, their computer system was down for almost a week. Due to this outage, my reservation couldn’t be made through the BestWestern.com website, nor through their central reservations center – so I had to contact the hotel directly via email to make the reservation. It took nearly 5 days to make the reservation, which I felt was unacceptable (and they got the rate wrong during the email exchange, so it took even longer to get it corrected). I’m not sure if it was because the hotel staff are busy with the coffee shop and café and don’t check their hotel email frequently, or if there was some other problem, but it was frustrating. Then when I emailed the hotel to re-confirm my reservation prior to arrival, and to ask for directions, they quoted me an incorrect rate AGAIN, and when I tried to get a response from them regarding a correct rate, they never replied. After 3 days of not receiving any response from them, I finally had to call them (international long distance!) just to confirm that they had my reservation – and they yet AGAIN quoted me the incorrect rate, which I finally got corrected over the phone. Needless to say, when I arrived at the hotel, I had to ensure that they had the correct rate (they did – finally!).

So, although the accommodations and location of this hotel were both satisfactory, I’d warn travelers to beware that the communication via email may not be as timely as desired.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back have less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BethanieKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Good hotel, very well located: 3 minutes walking to the shopping zone, 5 minutes to the harbor, 3 minutes to the railway station... Service is nice, food is OK and rooms are clean. Reasonable price for the centre of Helsinki.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NOLINA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Even though the bestwestern.com and other travel agent website promise a free "Airport car, 24-hour courtesy service" I called the hotel and this does not exist.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyclon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

My husband & I have stayed at this hotel on 3 occasions in 2008, twice with my elderly mother. The staff were very helpful, and courteous. The rooms are clean and quiet, and have nice big bathrooms. It's located close to train, bus & ferry. Reasonably priced for the centre of Helsinki. Caters well for the traveller. This hotel is our choice for Helsinki.

Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
Thank ChristinaC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
#43 of 64 in Helsinki
324 reviews
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#36 of 64 in Helsinki
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arthur Hotel
#42 of 64 in Helsinki
1,023 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 64 in Helsinki
622 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Carlton

Address: Kaisaniemenkatu 3, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range: $135 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Carlton 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Hotel Carlton has an excellent location in the very heart of Helsinki. Superb shopping and sightseeing possibilities, museums, wonderful restaurants, urban nightlife and a casino are all within a short walking distance. On-site you will find our lively coffee shop and Lost In Helsinki restaurant. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, Best Western Hotel Carlton is the perfect choice for you to spend your nights in comfort and security! Our friendly staff is always happy to help you with any request you may have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing