We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cafe Salutorget”
Review of Salutorget

Salutorget
Ranked #48 of 1,538 Restaurants in Helsinki
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Helsinki
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cafe Salutorget”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

The Restaurant Salutorget has a small cafe next to it, just a half a dozen small tables. I like to go there in the mornings because it is such a quiet little place, if you go there before 10.30 you propably will be the only customer there. They have table service and they offer quite a long list of excellent teas, I usually have a Darjeeling. Apparently the tea is unlimitless as usually when I've nearly finished my first, second, even third cup, one of the staff
comes round and offers me a fresh cup. One of the nicer things is that they bring you honey free of charge, in most places the tiny pot of honey costs 50c.

Why I rated Salutorget Cafe only 4* is because sometimes it is a bit difficult to attract the staff's attention even though I might be the only customer there. But then again, they are young, enthusiastic, courteous and multi-lingual, so a perfect place to stop by if you only have a couple of hours to spend before you have to catch your cruise ship.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Signe_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    161
    49
    20
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality food &service in elegant environment”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Excellent food of Finnish ingredients,served with friendly touch in a beautifully renovated building situated in the very heart of Helsinki city.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank countrygirlHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Finland, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Stylish restaurant with delicious food, excellent service and fair prices”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

The perfect place for a great meal in Helsinki - unique and scrumptous dishes from local delicacies, outstanding service by friendly but discreet staff, reasonable prices and a festive but relaxed atmosphere. Add the fabulous location in a gorgeously renovated bank building just across from Helsinki's main market square and the shores of the Baltic Sea, and you have everything you need for a fabulous dining experience! Even the bathrooms are something to see (as they're located in the old bank vault)!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KelliMicheleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nurmijarvi, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Glamorous, good food and polite service”
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We had fabulous Christmas lunch there. The best part was, that the food wasn't typical Finnish Christmas food, but classy and tasty scandinavian style dishes. There was three options to choose from starters, main course and dessert. The food was really good. Staff was very polite and nice. We didn't have to wait our food at all.

The decoration of the restaurant was glamorous. It isn't cheap chain restaurant and you can see it immediately when you enter the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cadhlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“hearty breakfast at salutorget cafe”
Reviewed 2 December 2011

It's hard to find a cafe in Helsinki that serves late breakfasts, so we were happily surprised on a late Sunday afternoon to find Salutorget Cafe still serving breakfast. They had three options, Continental, Scandinavian and Salutorgets Warm Breakfast.

We opted for Salutorgets Warm Breakfast of sausage, bacon & scrambled eggs (a rarity on breakfast menus, the other two options were way too healthy). It was a wonderful hearty breakfast, including croissants, marmalade, butter, toast, coffee and fresh juice. For approx 15e it's a bargain.

The service was very friendly and polite, and they kept our coffee cups filled. The cafe itself is a lovely 'enjoy coffee and read the paper as long as you like' kind of place, with huge windows and comfortable seats. It's also quite small, but an ideal place if you want to enjoy coffee & cake or a glass of wine with a friend.

The restaurant part of Salutorget is large and caters to larger groups, it also serves brunch (haven't tried it).

Salutoeget is just opposite the main market place in the center of Helsinki, so it's only a hop, skip and jump away from the main attractions.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank maria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salutorget also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Salutorget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing