We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,197)
Filter reviews
1,197 results
Traveller rating
135
454
389
160
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
454
389
160
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station excellent location meatballs major attractions breakfast was included clean hotel bed was comfortable central helsinki public transportation few minutes walk the heart of the city yogurt hotel is located market square waterfront europe ferry
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,197 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'll state up front that we -- my wife and I -- like Arthur. The location couldn't be better, smack dab in the center of the city, yet on a quiet little street. Walking distance to anywhere. Good sized rooms with very comfortable beds, all very clean and proper. Reasonable prices. The staff always friendly and helpful.
That said, there is room for improvement. First and foremost, even granted that the hotel was founded in 1907, it has advanced to such novelties as electronic door locks. It would not be too early to also install shower cabinets, instead of letting the water from the shower run all over the bathroom floor. Very pre-1960.
On the subject of the bathroom, a toilet brush wouldn't be a bad idea. Some guests like to clean up after themselves out of regard for their fellow guests. The brushes can be bought for €1 apiece at the Euromarket on the corner. Bought in bulk, the investment is negligible.
The hotel is smoke free, of course, but some guests will smoke even so, usually just outside the entrance. If the hotel put an ashtray there, the smokers wouldn't need to put out their cigarettes in the flower pots. (Few smokers bring their own ashtrays, like my wife.)
Finally, with a menu of just 10 dishes, the restaurant might consider changing it more often than every three months. Or else to have a bigger menu. We arrived on 5 October. On 7 October I asked when they might change the menu. Probably not before Christmas, I was told.
It is not a big issue. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. But with tired legs and feet from walking through art museums, we would have eaten more often at the hotel, if we had more to choose from.

Room tip: Look for the bigger rooms. Well worth the small extra cost.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KurtGGustafsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. Nice to hear that you like our hotel. We will pass the feed back about the toilet brushes to our management. I´m not quite sure which menu you mean; our restaurant just opened next week for evenings and that is why we have limited a la carte-menu. We first have to see how it starts with the evening opening hours.

Wishing you a warm autumn,
Miisa, Sales dept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2018 via mobile

Great location 2 min walk from railway station. 5 mins from main shopping area
Room basic expected that, needs updating.
Sewage smell in bathroom was overwhelming it permeated into bedroom if you left bathroom door and door into room open. Not pleasant.
There for 4 nights soaking wet towels from open shower never changed hung up and left to dry.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jenkins G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. Did you contact reception about this sewage problem? We always change the room if there are any problems that can´t be solved right away.

Best regards
Miisa, sales dept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2018

We stayed 4 nights but the first night when we checked in has a sort of lavatory smell but subsequent nights were ok. The size of room is reasonable and clean. WIFI was good. The lift was a bit small only can fit 2 persons with luggage.

The check in and out was quick and efficient. The reception staffs were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is with reasonable variety. Location is excellent in the heart of
Helsinki city. About 5-10 minutes walk from central train station and 2 minutes walk to nearest tram and metro station.

Highly recommend this hotel and would certainly stay again if in Helsinki. Walk out, 2 minutes to left is a Thai restaurant with good Thai Asian food. Recommend to get a Helsinki Card that includes public transportation that would take you to all attractions with free entrances to museums. Great place to shop within walking distance.

Managed to see the Aurora over Helsinki on the 7th/8th October night about 11.10pm at sea on a ferry back from Soumenlina island which was spectacular. Also fortunate to catch the "Crazy Sales" at Stockman on our final day for about 4 hours before leaving for airport

Room tip: New room with card access instead of key.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CMSoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2018

Thank you very much for your nice comments. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and warmly welcome you to stay with us again if you come back to Helsinki some day.

Miisa, Sales dept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2018

We were delighted by the very friendly and helpful reception staff in this hotel. They gave us advice about how to see the attractions of the city centre. This is so important to make an hotel experience enjoyable. The room is quite old fashioned in decor but this is quite a feature that makes it interesting. Our room was comfortable, quiet with a good shower. Breakfast was very good. I recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chriswilliams186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

Thank you very much for your nice comments. As we are an old hotel it is really important for us that our staff is friendly and helpful.

Wishing you a warm autumn!

Miisa, Sales dept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2018

The outer appearance and the reception area were really run down. However, as I opened the door of my room, it's such a lovely surprise to me. The room was just completed the renovation with modern facilities, spacious bathroom (in European standard), comfy bed and so on. Not to mention that the location was absolutely perfect, 5-min walk to Central Railway Station and nearby shopping area, numerous restaurant in different price ranges.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Ken294217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelarthur, Guest Relations Manager at Arthur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

Thank you very much for your nice feed back. We warmly welcome you to stay with us again!

Miisa, Sales dept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews