We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“In the center of the center” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Marski

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scandic Marski
Ranked #29 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“In the center of the center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

The location is absolutely excellent if you are going to shop and need to take both train and bus. All is in 5-10 min. walking distance.

The hotel itself is a bit old and old-fashioned, the furniture in rooms needs to be changed. The are no shampoo or body lotion which is really weird for such kind of hotel.

The breakfast room is small and on Sunday morning we had to wait to get a table. The food was average and typical for a scandinavian hotel.

Check in and out was quick.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blond72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    577
    288
    88
    26
See reviews for
254
335
111
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw
Level Contributor
263 reviews
262 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Central location opposite Stockmann department store and only five minutes to get the Railway Station from the hotel by walk. The rooms were comfortable, clean and stylish. Hotel breakfast has extensive choice, all of a high quality, very good coffee. Free Wi Fi is available in the Hotel. My TV had only a few finnish canals. No international news, no sports.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pawel_WRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Location, location location! This hotel is in the middle of Helsinki, you can´t book a hotel which is more in the middle than this. Perfect for the shopping!

The hotel is clean, staff is helpful and friendly. The breakfast is excellent.Rooms are comfortable and spacious. Some of them has been recently renoviert, some of them are little bit out-dated, but still ok.

When travelling with the kids, everything has been super and kids are always welcomed here. Sofa beds works fine for them and they loved a bathtub.

I have stayed this hotel about 5-6 times and in every visit have been satisfied. And when the next time is to travel to Helsinki, I definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spumante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at Marski for 8 nights and were very satisfied with the service and living conditions. The room was spacious and had a good bath with a warm floor. The beds were comfortable though a bit too soft. It was very quiet in the room and I enjoyed it a lot (in comparison with Simonkenta where we stayed in summer which was very noisy and a terribly uncomfortable shower.)
What I also liked a lot were the staff as they were most friendly, helpful and nice. Besides, I was given an electric kettle as soon as I asked for it.
Before I decided on Scandic Marski I had been chosing between Hotel Glo and Marski, but I didn't regret my choice a bit after our stay at Marski.
It's necessary to say that we got vauchers for 96 Euros on arrival and spent them all at the restaurant where we had dinner every night. The meals were always delicious and the waitresses were nice and attentive. Special thanks to the chef as we really loved the chicken and pasta and the steaks.
The only drawback I could find were a bit too boring breakfasts - plenty of food but no variety. It was difficult to have the same dishes every morning. Though it was the only thing I didn't like and Stockmann Deli in front of Marski made up for it!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

I stayed in the “Scandic Marski” hotel one night in December 2011. I like that hotel and I highly recommend it to other tourists visiting Helsinki. First of all, it takes only five minutes to get the Railway Station from the hotel by walk. There you can take the trains to any other town of Finland or to Saint Petersburg and Moscow, Russia. It takes only three hours and fifty minutes to travel to Saint Petersburg, Russia by “Allegro” train. Big hypermarkets such as the “Stockman”, “Forum” and “Sokos” are situated either in front of the hotel on the other side of Mannerheim Avenue or in the next building. The National Museum of Finland and Ferry Boat terminal are situated in the ten minutes walking distance. Taking that ferry boat you can get the Suomenlinna (Sveaborg) fortress with its museums. It will take about eighteen minutes walk to get the Military Museum at the intersection of Maurinkatu and Liisankatu Streets.
The double room was pretty big, the bed was very comfortable. There were the TV set, refrigerator with mini bar, central heating and air conditioner in the room. Such useful things as the iron and ironing machine were also found in the room. Bath room was big enough and was equipped with the comfortable bathtub. Hairdryer is available in the bathroom too. Everything was quite new and clean.
Free Wi Fi is available in the Hotel and free internet connection via the desk top is available downstairs at the ground or zero floor. Parking although with the limited space but available.
Food in the restaurant was good and plentiful. Amazingly but is a matter of fact there were several hundreds of people in the restaurant during the breakfast time but there were neither crowds nor long queues and free places at the tables were available. This all is the good sign of high professionalism.
Hotel provides you the opportunities to attend free sauna and gym. All personnel were very helpful and spoke fluent English.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oleg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

I have stayed at this hotel many times last couple of years and I can honestly say that this hotel offers good value for money. The rooms are big with good standard and, at least if you stay at the top floor, silent.

The staff is friendly and professional and the breakfast is of good standard. The bar at the ground floor is a good place to start the evening and they also serve good quality food.

The location is great both for business and pleasure and is only a 20 mins drive (not rush hour) with a taxi from Helsinki airport.

Room Tip: I highly recommend a room on the top floor = silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omnidude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I got the impression that the guests were a bit of an inconvenience at this Hotel. We arrived 30 minutes before 2pm check in time but were made to wait till then to check in. We left our bags in the locked (but not monitored) luggage storage room and went out for lunch. When we returned at 2.10pm reception was 10 deep with people who, like us had been made to wait to check in. And everyone had to fill in a form. Surely it would be better for everyone if they were willing to be a bit flexible with the check in time. Or at the very least give people the form when they arrive to complete while they are waiting, to save time at the counter. The room itself was just a room, and ours was a deluxe, wouldn’t want to stay in the standard. My Husband and I had separate beds, no big deal but mine had dodgy springs and tilted to one side. Finally found a use for the Gideon Bible, which along with some brochures I used to level the bed! Have to say the breakfast was very good but the clean up service was slow and trying to find a clean table at even a quiet time was difficult. I have no experience with any other hotels in Helsinki and I did pay a pretty good price and the location was convenient, but just don’t expect personal service or any warmth from the Scandic Marski.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank menicci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Simonkentta
Scandic Simonkentta
#20 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#23 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#31 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Marski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Marski

Property: Scandic Marski
Address: Mannerheimintie 10, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#23 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#25 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Marski 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern Helsinki hotel with nice atmosphere and great location on Helsinki's Mannerheimintie, with the shopping streets, top boutiques, main sights and businesses just a stone's throw away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Expedia so you can book your Scandic Marski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Marski Helsinki
Hotel Scandic Marski

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing