We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Herbert Hoover Once Stayed Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Ranked #15 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 May 2011

There are two very different styles of rooms. It would be worth checking them out on the hotel's website before booking. This hotel is in an excellent location, downtown, close to the train station. They serve an excellent buffet breakfast, which is included during your stay - watch for the automatic latte machine just inside the door. It makes a great cup and is fun to watch when it's in action. And you can drink wonderfully cold water right from the faucet.

Room Tip: Choose your style. They're both good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jack-Dru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 962 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our tour around scandinavia on 12th and 13th April (so not in high season). Staff were very good. The views from the cocktail bar upstairs were a real bonus as we didn't know about that!
We were offered a choice of rooms - romantic or modern. We went with modern. Lovely and clean and good size.
Would go back again.
We also liked it as it's set back from the main areas but close enough to everywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jojo5987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

This was my second visit to this hotel and this time I got one of the "design" rooms on the upper floors. Very modern, light and airy but the glass partitions between room, bathroom and WC need some getting used to! OK if you're alone, less so if you are accompanied!
Plus side: good central location, very helpful staff, good restaurant and amazing rooftop bar
Minus: you'd better bring a sleeping mask in summer otherwise you'll be woken up at 4 am. Some good heavy curtains won't go amiss here.
Other source of annoyance: 12 floors and only one measly lift.
Having said this, it is still a very good hotel which I definitely recommend

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaK_511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We only stayed here for a night, but it was a great experience.

The room was in a good size ( for European standard) The interior was simple but nice, it was nice to see such "new" designs considering the hotel was build in the 1930s.

The location was very centre and close to everything, but it was on a hill, so it was a little tiring having to pull our luggages all the way up through the stone paved road.

The room was quiet and the curtain blocked the light well. The room temperature was also very comfortable.

The bathroom did not have bathtub or shampoo/conditioner,but again, that was common in Europe. The hairdryer was strong.

The breakfast was good!

Overall, a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SayuriH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

more than the rooms, which are fine, the bar on the top floor of the Torni Hotel is worth the trip, the only place where you can see all of Helsinki and enjoy the evening sun.
the small but high speed elevator brings you up to the 12th floor, from there you have to walk up a narrow spiral stair case. you can choose from two terraces. No table service, you have to buy drinks at the bar, starting at 5 E for beer, and 10-15 E for cocktails. dont miss the toilets, which have large windows that allow perfect but dizzy making views.

Room Tip: get a room above the eighth floor to have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jointadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

It has the best views in the city. Good restaurant and bar and a short walk to many other good places to eat and drink. Close to the best museums in town.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauldavidkahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We got a great deal at the Sokos Hotel Torni and booked a Standard Double online. We're aware that hotels in Helsinki are quite expensive so were really happy with our room given the rate we actually paid.

It had a great central location and was an easy walk from the train station where the airport bus dropped us off. There were some roadworks occurring directly in front of the hotel so a small walk through the gravel was required, but taxis were still accessible from the nearby streets. The location was on the doorstep of the central shopping district and a short stroll to the waterfront.

Staff were friendly and informative, and our room was very large and comfortable. The bed was huge, there was plenty of space to place our luggage, and the compact ensuite was clean and modern. We were really happy with the standard of the rooms which were refurbished, modern and immaculate. The bed was extremely comfortable and light blocking curtains made for a good night's sleep.

The hotel overall was very quiet and we couldn't hear noise from neighbouring rooms. We were surrounded by plenty of eating establishments and nightlife so didn't get a chance to check out the hotel's own bars and restaurants.

We'd definitely stay here again if given the opportunity - it had lots of character with all the mod cons.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grrlfrommars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#16 of 64 in Helsinki
1,388 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
1,195 reviews
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 64 in Helsinki
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Torni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Torni

Address: Yrjoenkatu 26, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $168 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Torni 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokos Hotel Torni is one of the most important landmarks in Helsinki, a classic with staying power in the heart of the city. Quiet location in Helsinki Design District, right next to the shopping and the entertainment area of Helsinki. We welcome you to experience the unique Torni spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Torni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing