We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Helsinki”
Review of Hotelli Finn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotelli Finn
Ranked #22 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Clare Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great value in Helsinki”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

It's not easy to find a city center hotel in Helsinki for less than 100 euro a night. this is one that we found and it's very central. Everything about it is simple but for a short stay it's perfect. The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly and helpfull. At the time the hotel didn't do any breakfast but right across the street there is a pub that does a good breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bleeker151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    276
    121
    27
    8
See reviews for
66
171
125
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The hotel is situated on the 6th floor of a office building in the very center of the city, a ten minutes walk from railway station and Finnair bus-stop (platform 30 behind restaurant next to station).
It's a good hotel with small but very clean rooms without shower.
Reception closes after 1 am but you can enter the hotel using a entry code and/or a Card.
The hotel is situated in a small street with very nice bars and the main shopping center (Stockmann and Esplanade) at five minutes walk.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The hotel is located in the city center. I stayed here for one night and I am very pleased. First of all, I could check in early. It allowed me to explore the sights lie within easy reach, such as Stockmanns, Atheneum Art Museum and Kiasma. On the second day as I could reach on foot to the Senate Square and Lutheran Cathedral.

The room was well equipped. There I had the basic equipment (TV, air conditioning). There is a high-speed wireless inernet wi-fi.


Śniadnaia very tasty. The hotel staff very friendly.

The only downside is accessible from the airport, which takes a long time.

I recommend!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidiacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This hotel is in the heart of Helsinki and is on the 5-6 floor and the reception is on the same floor. in my openion this one is only to be as a last resort. If you are desperat for a stay overnight or every other hotel is fully booked.
The receptionists are lovely and very helpful. They will endeavour to get you to your destinatin.
If your aim is to spend the time out and about and only to crash and sleep the night in your room then it might work for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bathroom, otherwise you will have to share. the hotel is 200-300 meters from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samsite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed plenty of places in Scandinavia during our trip of similar price to this place. I was convinced by some of the management comments on here and website pictures that this place was on the turn for the better. The location is good but the girl at reception put us into a room on floor five which was smelly in the extreme. The drain in the dimly lit bathroom stank and made the bathroom a no go area. Upon returning from a days sightseeing we asked to be changed. The polite young man on reception said he would have been happy to oblige but there was now no free rooms. He agreed that the room stank. I look forward to hearing the management response on this... I'd say don't be conned by the 'we are in the process of changing it' line as this seems to have been the excuse on here for months now. Helsinki itself is the least interesting of the Baltic capitals we visited. Yes the room is well sized, but only good for those with an interest in staying in a circa 1985 bedroom

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank indogeorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFinn, Owner at Hotelli Finn, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
First of all, I am terribly sorry about you enduring such an experience.

We have only recently received multiple complaints about the drainage in the fifth floor. All the non-ensuite rooms in that floor have been put out of sale and are going to be renovated during october, after which we move to the ensuite ones.

As to the management responses posted earlier. Currently we have finalized the renovations on all the triple rooms and quadruple rooms (or L and XL) and also on six ensuite double rooms, so generally half of the hotels rooms are now finished. We are renovating the rooms at a highest possible pace (it is hard not to bother customers if a high amount of rooms are being renovated at the same time) so changes definitely are happening. Hopefully the process will be finalized before next summer.

I sincerely wish you can in the future grant the hotel another chance to prove to be a small, convenient and nice place to stay in the center of Helsinki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I had read very favourable reviews of this hotel so had a certain expectation upon arriving. On first appearance, one is greeted by friendly staff and a nice chilled-out ambiance. However, there seemed to be a problem with the drainage, resulting in a nasty smell coming from the bathroom. We asked to be moved to a different room it was so intolerable. Curiously, they didn't even question our request, or go and look at the room. This smacked of this perhaps being a recurring problem. The other room we were moved to was thankfully, much better. However there was still a smell of a drain in the bathroom. It seems that one's experience of Hotel Finn is entirely dependent on what room one is given. A lottery that results in reviews like this.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ted049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The hotel is on one floor in what appears to be an office building right downtown across from Stockmann the big department store. Stayed for 1 night and was very pleased with the accommodations. Any hotel in Helsinki seems to be extremely expensive so a budget option that provides a reasonably sized and comfortable bed and room was nice to find. Lobby was only open to 12 midnight so hustled to get there by 23:45 and found they were gone already anyway. But e-mailed in advance and was provided the access codes to the buidling and the hotel front door and had my room key nicely laid out on the front counter just as they said it would be. Only recommendation was my room was without shower and the shower down the hall was in a tiny closet next to a washing machine and was quite awkward and not as spotless as I would have liked. Recommend they build a proper shower room for those guests without a shower ensuite. Other than that, a pretty pleasant stay and would definitely recommend and consider staying there again if I find myself in Helsinki.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel Rivoli Jardin
#28 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#5 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski
Scandic Marski
#31 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
GLO Hotel Art
#18 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotelli Finn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelli Finn

Property: Hotelli Finn
Address: Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#25 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotelli Finn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotelli Finn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelli Finn Helsinki
Hotelli Finn Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing