We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, not too expensive”
Review of Hotelli Finn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotelli Finn
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

The hotel is downtown, in a walking distance from all the main sights. It's very convenient if you're staying in Helsinki only for a couple of days, like we did. We had a room with a private bathroom, but both the room and the bathroom were very small. The biggest issue for us was the noise from the water pipe. Also the wi-fi Internet was slow and stopped working in the middle of the night. Other than that, it was good, it seemed pretty clean too (except for the bird crap on the window). They don't have any shampoo there, so make sure to bring your own.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minoccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
There are newer reviews for Hotelli Finn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

351 - 357 of 613 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We had such a nice stay in Hotel Finn. The room was nice and clean and the location of the hotel is excellent. The staff was also very helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

It's not easy to find a city center hotel in Helsinki for less than 100 euro a night. this is one that we found and it's very central. Everything about it is simple but for a short stay it's perfect. The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly and helpfull. At the time the hotel didn't do any breakfast but right across the street there is a pub that does a good breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bleeker151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The hotel is situated on the 6th floor of a office building in the very center of the city, a ten minutes walk from railway station and Finnair bus-stop (platform 30 behind restaurant next to station).
It's a good hotel with small but very clean rooms without shower.
Reception closes after 1 am but you can enter the hotel using a entry code and/or a Card.
The hotel is situated in a small street with very nice bars and the main shopping center (Stockmann and Esplanade) at five minutes walk.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The hotel is located in the city center. I stayed here for one night and I am very pleased. First of all, I could check in early. It allowed me to explore the sights lie within easy reach, such as Stockmanns, Atheneum Art Museum and Kiasma. On the second day as I could reach on foot to the Senate Square and Lutheran Cathedral.

The room was well equipped. There I had the basic equipment (TV, air conditioning). There is a high-speed wireless inernet wi-fi.


Śniadnaia very tasty. The hotel staff very friendly.

The only downside is accessible from the airport, which takes a long time.

I recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidiacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This hotel is in the heart of Helsinki and is on the 5-6 floor and the reception is on the same floor. in my openion this one is only to be as a last resort. If you are desperat for a stay overnight or every other hotel is fully booked.
The receptionists are lovely and very helpful. They will endeavour to get you to your destinatin.
If your aim is to spend the time out and about and only to crash and sleep the night in your room then it might work for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bathroom, otherwise you will have to share. the hotel is 200-300 meters from...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samsite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed plenty of places in Scandinavia during our trip of similar price to this place. I was convinced by some of the management comments on here and website pictures that this place was on the turn for the better. The location is good but the girl at reception put us into a room on floor five which was smelly in the extreme. The drain in the dimly lit bathroom stank and made the bathroom a no go area. Upon returning from a days sightseeing we asked to be changed. The polite young man on reception said he would have been happy to oblige but there was now no free rooms. He agreed that the room stank. I look forward to hearing the management response on this... I'd say don't be conned by the 'we are in the process of changing it' line as this seems to have been the excuse on here for months now. Helsinki itself is the least interesting of the Baltic capitals we visited. Yes the room is well sized, but only good for those with an interest in staying in a circa 1985 bedroom

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank indogeorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFinn, Owner at Hotelli Finn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

First of all, I am terribly sorry about you enduring such an experience.

We have only recently received multiple complaints about the drainage in the fifth floor. All the non-ensuite rooms in that floor have been put out of sale and are going to be renovated during october, after which we move to the ensuite ones.

As to the management responses posted earlier. Currently we have finalized the renovations on all the triple rooms and quadruple rooms (or L and XL) and also on six ensuite double rooms, so generally half of the hotels rooms are now finished. We are renovating the rooms at a highest possible pace (it is hard not to bother customers if a high amount of rooms are being renovated at the same time) so changes definitely are happening. Hopefully the process will be finalized before next summer.

I sincerely wish you can in the future grant the hotel another chance to prove to be a small, convenient and nice place to stay in the center of Helsinki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,741 reviews
Hotel Helka
#13 of 66 in Helsinki
1,118 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rivoli Jardin
#26 of 66 in Helsinki
403 reviews
GLO Hotel Art
#19 of 66 in Helsinki
1,620 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 66 in Helsinki
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotelli Finn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelli Finn

Address: Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#25 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $109 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotelli Finn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotelli Finn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelli Finn Helsinki
Hotelli Finn Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing