We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal and Finnish”
Review of Klaus K Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Klaus K Hotel
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Personal and Finnish”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed one night at Klaus K, and first must state that we had the basic twin room. The room size is relatively small compared to other hotels in Helsinki. Special note on the size of the TV and BED - both very small. I checked that if you upgrade, you get better sizes, but for 139 € (weekend, one night) I would have expected a bit more. The room was indeed personally furnished, but perhaps for a little acquired taste. Breakfast is also a bit different - but not necessarily in a bad way. Most of the products are organic and all Finnish local production, so thumbs up for that. The breakfast room (restaurant Ilmatar) is rather small, so there might be some waiting during the busiest hours. Free glass of sparkling wine at check-in was a nice - and very un-Finnish - surprise.

Room Tip: Play it safe and do not take the smallest room - you also get a nicer view perhaps?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fintraveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    557
    161
    49
    19
See reviews for
98
492
128
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Have visited this hotel a couple of times on business trip and can definitely recommend it. Very good prices for a comfortable business hotel with very friendly and service minded staff. The restaurant down stairs is ok but the nearby you can find a selection of some excellent ones.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Johan334, Thank you for taking the time to write a few comments about your experience at Klaus K! As you noted, we have many business guests although we also accommodate many families and leisure weekend getaways. The next time you are in Helsinki I hope I may welcome you back! All the best, Marc Skvorc, Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Comfortable and chic design hotel. Breakfast is absolutely amazing and you need to take your time to enjoy the wonderful array of food! Cheaper rooms are a little small but comfortable, however we found the room very hot and it was not possible to open more than one small window. The staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient. The hotel has a great location right in the centre of the city with easy access to the museums and galleries.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKandMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Most of the key points about this hotel have been charted by other reviewers - nice design, friendly staff, decent Italian restaurant and thumping night club, although the rooms are on the pokey side. I did though want to highlight one other major plus point (for me). They serve absolutely excellent coffee at breakfast. As a long standing 'victim' of hotel coffee the world over, it is lovely to find one that takes it seriously. The house brew is Monsoon Malabar (one of my favourites) and well worth an extra cup in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meansuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeroThynell, Manager at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear meansuitcase,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other TripAdvisor users. It is always very encouraging to learn that our efforts are appreciated by our guests. I totally agree with you with regards to coffee! Our house blend Monsoon Malabar comes from a small local coffee roastery just few blocks away from the hotel. I hope that you realized to buy some from our Market to take with you?

All the best!

Tero Thynell
Rooms Manager
Klaus K Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieksamaki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

very good hotel and very good customer service. Amazing breakfast. Great location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review! I hope to welcome you back to Klaus K the next time you are in Helsinki! All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

If you are like me and appreciate fine design and comfort when traveling, you will love the Klaus K Hotel. Tastefully done, the hotel combines Scandinavian efficiency with fine design and comfort. Location is great for discovering the city, the staff are very warm and friendly and the hotel facilities are a bonus for the weary traveler. Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbroumand_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you for your encouraging comments! You tapped into many of the aspects I'm very proud of in our operation and design. I look forward to welcoming you back to Klaus K the next time you return to Helsinki. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furth, Österreich
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The Hotel is in the middle of the city center of Helsinki, everything is within walking distance. The people at the reception are extremely helpful and friendly. Taxi station is direct in front of the hotel. The only thing I can say is that the rooms are indeed very small, however the prices are reasonable for what you get which is: a very large breakfast buffet, fitness center, Saune, free wifi. Recommendation for everybody who wants to stay in city center of Helsinki.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naurithron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 65 in Helsinki
442 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 65 in Helsinki
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Haven
#8 of 65 in Helsinki
1,000 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 65 in Helsinki
1,345 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klaus K Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klaus K Hotel

Property: Klaus K Hotel
Address: Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Klaus K Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 171 rooms including 30 Skylofts (of which 3 suites), 3 art rooms are provided with state-of-the-art equipment ranging from custom made beds and mattresses to laptop size safe to oversized robe and towels to LED television to free wireless high speed internet. Room categories playfully range from Mystical to Passion to Desire to Envy to Sky Lofts, all describing the emotions that are depicted from the mythical Finnish literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Klaus K Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klaus k Helsinki
Hotel Klaus k

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing