We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
64
190
133
28
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
190
133
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews radisson blu main building railway station irish bar the hotel is clean nice view bit outdated excellent breakfast excellent location standard room short stay few steps scrambled eggs comfortable stay city centre nice staff hotel is situated
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 424 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2018

Nice basic hotel with reasonably small rooms but good location and tasty breakfast.The hotel was full and therefore the service did not work very well. On the whole, however, the hotel is quite a good choice in Vaasa, Finland.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kaveriHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jani B, Service manager at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2018

Dear kaveriHelsinki,

Thank you for your review.

A full hotel is no excuse for service not being supreme. Therefor we are continuously training our staff in customer service.
Great to hear you enjoyd our hotel in here in Vaasa and we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Jani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2018

A nice hotel, reasonable prices, excellent breakfast with local products. I do not need more for a great stay in Vaasa. No problems with parking or anything else. We had a suite, which was very neat and cosy.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank 611riittak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jani B, Service manager at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2018

Dear 611riittak,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to hear everything went smoothly during your stay with us. We hope you enjoyd sunny summer Vaasa!

Have a great and sunny summer,
Jani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2018

This hotel is located in the heart of Vaasa by a beautiful esplanade. Vaasa Central Station is 2 minutes’ walk away.

The hotel has two wings: the Royal wing with 11 floors and the traditional Central wing from 1941. The wings are connected with an underground passage.

The Royal wing has an indoor rooftop pool and saunas with panoramic views over central Vaasa.

The hotel has two restaurants and an Irish pub O'Malley's. Restaurant Frans & Nicole specializes in French-inspired cuisine, while Restaurant Wazaca offers Mexican flavors. Our Frans & Nicole dinner was excellent.

The hotel is undergoing renovations at the moment. There will be three different room themes "We love our Sea", "We love our Forest" and "We love our City".

We booked a suite and got it with the city theme. The suites are situated on the 10th floor of the Royal building.

Probably we were one of the first guests in this room. The paint was still smelling and the living room television inoperative. The suite was stylish but there were many peculiarities with the furniture.

The bed was only 140 cm wide which is quite strange for a suite. There were huge gaps between the fixed bedside tables and the bed. Obviously, the space was planned for a bigger bed.

Also, there were no wardrobes, only one bar and hooks on the wall. There was an oversized dining table in the living room, only to be used from one side. The sofa and the working desk was tightly fitted. It is a pity that the interior layout cannot be planned properly when doing renovations.

This was our only complaint. Otherwise, the hotel was better than we expected. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast served in the Central wing was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jani B, Service manager at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2018

Dear Mikael F,

Thank you for your very thorough review.

You have studied our hotel very well as you know a lot about our history and services. The last of our newly renovated rooms were taken into use in the midsummer week and we are still waiting for some furniture to complete the rooms. So there is still a little to do with the rooms.

We are very grateful for your review and wish to have you for another visit here in Vaasa very soon!

Best regards,
Jani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018

Plus: solid breakfast, pool (small), central location
Minus: The room was more like a poor student accomodation with gloomy tapestry, wooden chairs, no fridge, no safe, no wardrobe, no place to put down your luggage. Water run on the bathroom floor under the shower cabinet. Loud rows at the corridor late at night. Stayed three nights.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank soilikki2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jani B, Service manager at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2018

Dear soilikki2018,

Thank you for your review.

I am sad to hear you did not enjoy our newly renovated rooms. I am also sorry for the disturbances that happened in the corridors during the last evening of your stay. I do hope the compensation we agreed upon check out was sufficient.

Have a great and sunny summer and we hope to see you again at our hotel!

Best regards,
Jani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2018

Three years ago when I stayed here last it was Radisson Blu and now the hotel is part of another regional chain, Sokos hotels.

Centrally located, good service choices for the traveler, plenty of rooms, good service, gym, excellent wifi and decent breakfast.

Stayed here for one night in June 2018. Check-in was very fast, service oriented staff, clean room with a recent facelift and very comfortable bed.

The breakfast (across the street) was excellent. Broad variety of choices, attentive staff and plenty to eat.

My favorite hotel in Vaasa. Price-quality ratio is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Totti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jani B, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

Hello Totti K,

Thank you for your review.

Im happy to hear you enjoy our services and we are your favorite hotel here in sunny Vaasa. If you wish to explore the city on a longer visit please pick up one of the free bicycles from the reception go on a ride!

Have a great summer!

Best regards,
Jani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews