We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
40
50
10
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
50
10
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel train station private sauna fresh orange juice nice option traditional hotel small bar best hotel in town hotel feels other hotels irish pub breakfast buffet comfortable beds little bit nice breakfast city centre vasa
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 105 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

Great stay during our recent trip to visit family in the Vasa region. Easy walk from train station and to shops and bars downtown (we were there during midsummer so nearly everything was closed though except the Irish pub!). Friendly reception, well appointed rooms, historic details. The best part though of course is the sauna in the room (double rooms only I believe)! Daily sauna is mandatory in Finland ;) All in all a very pleasant stay.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank RHooperCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2018

This hotel is located directly opposite the railway and bus station. So everything is near.

The hotel consists of two wings. It was a surprise that our suite was located in the newer wing. When I made the booking from hotel's website, the pictures indicated that suites would be located in the older wing.

Our suite was a spacious room with a quite dull decor. Also, I wouldn't call it a suite. Just four chairs and a table combined with a bed doesn't make a suite, although there was a television in the sauna. The air conditioning unit was very noisy.

The breakfast is served in the Gustavian breakfast room. It had a wide selection of food.

The staff was friendly. Also, the bar was cozy with reasonably priced drinks.

The overall appearance was a little bit shabby.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mikael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

A small and cozy hotel. It is by far the best breakfast of all the hotels in Vaasa.
The staff are very friendly and the entrance to the hotel feels like home.
The rooms are clean and some also have a private sauna.
Astor is centrally located, very close to the train station.
I would highly recommend this hotel for your next stay in Vaasa.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emmeelle76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018

It’s tricky to review this hotel. The location is good and it’s great that its historical status as a hotel has been saved by the current owners. However, I feel there is a missed opportunity. It’s not a stylish boutique type hotel nor is it a very cosy old hotel. It falls somewhere in-between and although there has been some renovation, it is all rather unimaginative decor.
I liked the novelty of a sauna in my bathroom, although I never used it. My colleague had a vast one with two shower cubicles, but it looked like something you see at a public swimming pool rather than intimate hotel room luxury.

The room furniture was not attractive with two vast and unnecessary leather arm chairs taking up most of the free space. However, the rooms were clean, breakfast reasonable and the staff seemed friendly, so you would not be disappointed, but equally not thrilled by your experience at the Hotel Astor.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is very well located by the railway station. A small and adequate hotel with fine rooms. Not anything very special but a cosy atmosphere. The bar in the lobby with the hunting trophies give a picture of the general feeling. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was also to my liking. Should be something for everyone.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank GHWrede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews