We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Akranes HI Hostel(Akranes)(Great Value!)
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teigur Guesthouse(Akranes)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirkjuhvoll Guesthouse(Akranes)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laxarbakki Guesthouse(Akranes)(Great Value!)
US$115
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Akranes Rooms(Akranes)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moar Cottage(Akranes)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Laxarbakki(Akranes)
US$131
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (583)
Filter reviews
583 results
Traveller rating
371
139
45
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
139
45
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubnorthern lightswhale fjordgolden circlevilla romancewake up calllambthe main hotelgreat viewsitting areabreakfast and dinnerfjord viewunderfloor heatingself cateringblue lagoonenjoy the viewboth nights
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 583 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2017

We stayed for three nights with friends and had such a wonderful stay. We had a self contained chalet with 2 rooms , 2 bathrooms, small self catering kitchen and an amazing patio and hot tub. We had such fun sitting in the hot tub overlooking the fjord and mountains, soaking in the midnight sun. It was an exceptional experience. The hotel also has a lovely restaurant for breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: Get a chalet!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jane_and_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2017

Slightly disappointing outside, ( perhaps it us the Icelandic weather) but a coat of paint would not go amiss. However when you step inside the hotel is really lovely. Staff are friendly. Rooms are spacious and well appointed , with very comfortable beds. Access if you like to two hot tubs. The restaurant is excellent and breakfast is outstanding, the best we have had in our travels throughout Iceland.

Room Tip: A view over the fjord.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elspeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2017

People seemed kind but were not at all concerned that our TV never worked. They claimed that they were doing all they could, but nothing was ever done. Room tiny so much two people could not walk around at the same time. Food very good.

Room Tip: May be the only place in this part to the country!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2017

During our partial island round tour we stayd three days at this hotel and it was the bet place during our whole holiday.
Everthing is clean and neat. Nice rooms with spectacular sea view. The breakfat buffet is great. Location is very good overlooking the fjord and easy accesible from the capital either via the tunnel or via a bit long route along the fjord.
Two hot tubs with different temperatures are inviting the guests to relax and enjoy the view at the same time.

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank BenschF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2017

The Hotel Gymur is a shining northern light in itself.
The staff and location are excellent.
Ragna and Arna were welcoming, efficient and professional in all aspects, delivering attention and care to every need (including meeting with the florist on our behalf and driving me to Arkranes to get the flowers for the day ...after a very late night!). Not only when we were on location but also through communication across email and phone over many months of organising for my daughter and son-in -laws special day. From the very first contact Arna said that together we would make the day great ....and that was certainly true!
The hotel has its own special ambiance and we immediately felt comfortable in its surroundings. The cabins are open plan with contemporary and tasteful decor with all you could ask for if self catering. The rooms on split level are a different set up but cute and the beds comfortable. Guests staying with a baby had a super room with their own terrace and large bathroom.
The meal for the Reception was super and met a wide range of dietary requirements with ease. From the home smoked duck, Icelandic cod and strawberry mouse, succulent lamb, chicken and blueberry sauce, stuffed zucchini with a varied selection of trimmings to the flambe baked alaska!
Everything was as the young couple had wished and the whole experience could not be faulted.
Thankyou all for making a special day so exceptional.
P.S. Fizz in the hot tubs watching the northern lights with friends and family at the end of a very successful celebratory day was certainly the way to go to relax before a good nights sleep and a hearty breakfast the next morning!

Room Tip: The views are wonderful to the front but all are comfortable and the cabins are excellent.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews