We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Little Hotel”
Review of Hotel Glymur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Glymur
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Charming boutique hotel. Our room had a living area and bed up on a loft with a full wall window overlooking the fjord. There were 2 hot tubs which was great after a long day of sightseeing. There is lots of interesting artwork in room and around the hotel. The restaurant was very good and the breakfast was probably the best we had in Iceland

Room Tip: Get a room facing the fjord, Wonderful view.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Glymur
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2017

We stayed for three nights with friends and had such a wonderful stay. We had a self contained chalet with 2 rooms , 2 bathrooms, small self catering kitchen and an amazing patio and hot tub. We had such fun sitting in the hot tub overlooking the fjord and mountains, soaking in the midnight sun. It was an exceptional experience. The hotel also has a lovely restaurant for breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: Get a chalet!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jane_and_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

Slightly disappointing outside, ( perhaps it us the Icelandic weather) but a coat of paint would not go amiss. However when you step inside the hotel is really lovely. Staff are friendly. Rooms are spacious and well appointed , with very comfortable beds. Access if you like to two hot tubs. The restaurant is excellent and breakfast is outstanding, the best we have had in our travels throughout Iceland.

Room Tip: A view over the fjord.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elspeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

People seemed kind but were not at all concerned that our TV never worked. They claimed that they were doing all they could, but nothing was ever done. Room tiny so much two people could not walk around at the same time. Food very good.

Room Tip: May be the only place in this part to the country!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

During our partial island round tour we stayd three days at this hotel and it was the bet place during our whole holiday.
Everthing is clean and neat. Nice rooms with spectacular sea view. The breakfat buffet is great. Location is very good overlooking the fjord and easy accesible from the capital either via the tunnel or via a bit long route along the fjord.
Two hot tubs with different temperatures are inviting the guests to relax and enjoy the view at the same time.

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank BenschF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

The Hotel Gymur is a shining northern light in itself.
The staff and location are excellent.
Ragna and Arna were welcoming, efficient and professional in all aspects, delivering attention and care to every need (including meeting with the florist on our behalf and driving me to Arkranes to get the flowers for the day ...after a very late night!). Not only when we were on location but also through communication across email and phone over many months of organising for my daughter and son-in -laws special day. From the very first contact Arna said that together we would make the day great ....and that was certainly true!
The hotel has its own special ambiance and we immediately felt comfortable in its surroundings. The cabins are open plan with contemporary and tasteful decor with all you could ask for if self catering. The rooms on split level are a different set up but cute and the beds comfortable. Guests staying with a baby had a super room with their own terrace and large bathroom.
The meal for the Reception was super and met a wide range of dietary requirements with ease. From the home smoked duck, Icelandic cod and strawberry mouse, succulent lamb, chicken and blueberry sauce, stuffed zucchini with a varied selection of trimmings to the flambe baked alaska!
Everything was as the young couple had wished and the whole experience could not be faulted.
Thankyou all for making a special day so exceptional.
P.S. Fizz in the hot tubs watching the northern lights with friends and family at the end of a very successful celebratory day was certainly the way to go to relax before a good nights sleep and a hearty breakfast the next morning!

Room Tip: The views are wonderful to the front but all are comfortable and the cabins are excellent.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

On a recent visit to Iceland we did not book one night. On our travels we happened across Glymur Hotel and Restaurant. The best meal in Iceland from one of the top chefs celebrating 10 years. The hotel is an art gallery of exciting items, has a wonderful view across the bay. We walked a short path over a creek and down to a beautiful church just below the property. Along the way we met a small herd of horses who loved the sugar cubes we offered.This was a special day and night and very much worth the stop. The hot tubs were perfect with a view. we missed the Northern Lights, too many clouds, but the hotel puts you on a list to be informed when they show up.

Room Tip: Suites with a loft are super!
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank cstewake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akranes
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,711 reviews
ION Adventure Hotel
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
814 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
355 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glymur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glymur

Address: Hvalfjorder (Whale Fjord) - Northern Shore, Akranes, Iceland
Region: Iceland > West Region > Akranes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Price Range: $222 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Glymur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic boutique hotel, only 75 min from Keflavik International Airport. Located on a high hillside over viewing the sea. The hotel has 22 mini-suite, spa area, library, piano-bar, conference facilities and magical surroundings. The hotel has a large art collection and beautiful restaurant. Looking for something different? This is it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Glymur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glymur Hotel Akranes
Hotel Glymur Iceland/Akranes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing