We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Aurora Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aurora Guesthouse
Ranked #25 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Reykjavik is beautiful though expensive and accommodation is no exception.

The Aurora is near the beautiful Hallgrimskirkja and the city centre attractions are an easy walk away.

The staff at the Aurora are very friendly.

My single room was small though perfectly adequate. The room shared a bathroom with 5 other rooms, access was a problem on my first morning as a guy was in there for amost an hour!

The continental breakfast was excellent.

Overall the Aurora was a decent budget guest house based on the price of alternatives.

Room Tip: Ask for a spare pillow. Also a towel as not in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank steveoftheways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2017

Reykjavik is beautiful if expensive as a holiday destination. I added 3 nights onto my American holiday without any extra cost thanks to Icelandair.

The Aurora is near the impressive Hallgrimskirkja and ideally located for the city centre as it is less than 1 km from all the city centre attractions.

The staff at the Aurora are very friendly and helpful.

My single room was small though perfectly adequate. The room shared a bathroom with 5 other rooms though access was not a challenge. A wee suggestion, could you please place a towel in the room especially for guest's staying more than one night? It did catch me out for an early shower on my first morning.

The continental breakfast was excellent.

Overall based on the price I paid the Aurora was ideal for my needs and would highly recommend for solo travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for towel on arrival if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ManofFewWords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Next time I'll stay anywhere else but there.
Recommend to Avoid it because:

1.) You would need to cross the street in the cold to get to the Breakfast Area.

2.) Entrance Door to Breakfast Area was broken, hence a draft of cold Air from the outside tends to sweep around that place and would then potentially chill your neck while you try to have breakfast (if you are lucky enough to find a seat as they are above capacity for this tiny place).

3.) You likely would have no Internet available in Hotel Room. (Staff said that I should have not complained as i could have crossed the street to use their free Wifi in the Breakfast area [which by the way closes down at 22:00])

4.) Saw a cat walking around the Kitchen during Breakfast time, which is a Hygiene concern to me. Be warned if you'd have an allergy.

5.) You would have to sign for Towels in Reception, as they are not placed in your room on arrival.

6.) Stayed at three to four time more comfortable rooms and Hotels for the same price in other Scandinavian countries.


Look for another stay.
You EASILY can find a more comfortable stay than Hotel/Guest House Aurora.

Ps.:

a.) It is understandable that a such a tiny Guesthouse cant create a large Breakfast like a Hotel, though at least some change on a daily basis, oppose the same single choice of the cheapest cheese and ham, that can be found at the local supermarket, would have been an easy thing to do.

b.) As I mentioned this politely to the reception during my stay, no action was taken.

c.) As I mentioned this during checkout I was made felt very uncomfortable so that I rather walked away and wrote this review oppose to take a financial compensation.

Room Tip: No Internet on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sigurdur H, Owner at Aurora Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Dear Irina,

We are so sorry you feel disapointed.

1) To get to the breakfast area from the across street rooms is only a 30 seconds walk.

2) Handle from the main door it´s already fixed, sometimes things broke but we try to do our best and fix it as fast as we can.We fixed 1 day later when we got the part we needed.

3) All rooms have free wifi, this is a free service we offer to our guests. Wifi is working perfectly in all our rooms, just in your building we had some issues that are already fixed, we always invite our guests also to surf the net and have a free cup of coffe or tea in the lobby if they like. We invite you to use the internet at the lobby while we where working to fix the internet conection in your room.

4) The cat you saw is the neigbour's cat, we don´t let him stay there but sometimes he get in because there are always feew tourists feeding him and taking pics. As soon as we notice he is in, we take him out. But it´s very feew times this happens. Pets are not allowed at the guesthouse.

5)Towels are free and included with the room, just they are provided under demand in reception.

You are welcome to come next time, and I hope you like more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights in January. Guesthouse is in great location just 2 minutes walk from the church and shops/restaurants. We had a 4 bed room (2 singles and 1 bunk bed) with shared toilet/bathroom facilities in the main building on the 2nd floor. Room basic but very clean and never a queued for the bathroom. Shower had hot water.
Price included a continental breakfast, cereals, juice, ham, cheese, eggs and bread, tea and coffee, all fresh and available from 7am which was good if you were going on day trips.
Would definitely recommended if you are looking for a clean and basic accommodation in central location.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orange1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We booked a transfer from the airport with Flybus (they seemed to give a return ticket price which was much cheaper than the 2 singles the other company offered).The bus was just outside the airport building but check which company's bus you are getting on. Once in the bus terminal (about 45 minutes travel) you have to change to a smaller vehicle due to restrictions on large vehicles in the city. We were dropped outside the guesthouse about 3 or 4 minutes after leaving the bus station.
We booked a double room and on arrival the reception was good - be aware you go down steps to the reception. When we booked in we were given the keys to a studio apartment, just around the corner from the guesthouse itself.
This had a shower room with toilet and a large(ish) vestibule where we could have stored half a dozen large suitcases and they would have not been in the way.
The 4' 6" bed was very comfortable although it did have one side against a wall, a table and two chairs, a coffee table, a TV and a small wardrobe were as we expected, however the apartment had an added benefit - the kitchen area, with storage cupboards. A fridge, a kitchen sink, oven, 4 hobs, microwave, kettle and toaster. there was a frying pan and a saucepan, plates, cutlery, bottle opener and tin opener - everything you might need.
Given the cost of eating out in Iceland this is a major benefit. A main meal out seems to be around £35 each. There is a Bonus supermarket (one of the cheapest places to shop) about 5 minutes walk from the accommodation.
Add we had everything we needed.
On our first night we bought a take away pizza from the pizzeria next door to the guesthouse. A "Special deal" large pizza with 3 toppings, garlic bread and 2 litres of soft drink cost us about 4000 ISK (roughly £28).
There was liquid soap in the bathroom but no towels. The soap like a few other things may have been left by the previous guests. The place was clean but some tea bags and condiments were apparently left for the next guests.
Towels were provided without any problem when we asked for them at reception.
Breakfast was ample with fresh hot bread, cheese, ham, cereals, jams, teas and coffee. At busy times it could be a little crowded in the eating area but we had no problem finding space.
Walking to all the places we intended to visit seems easy.
More about our actual trip in a review of Reykjavic later.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ibrowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

The location of the Aurora, as other reviewers have commented, is excellent. It is near the city centre and is easily accessible and has ample free parking nearby.

We were due to stay in a 4 bed room with a shared bathroom, however were upgraded to a studio apartment, just round the corner, which included an en suite bathroom and a TV and kitchen area, which was very useful.

The breakfast, which is included, was superb, with fresh coffee, fresh bread and all the other usual items in abundance. Considering the price, the breakfast is excellent value and can't be faulted.

Unfortunately we found the service at the hotel rather mixed. We did not require any advice or assistance, so to an extent kept ourselves to ourselves. The member of staff who checked us in was helpful and explained to us the best areas to park our car. The only other interaction we had with a member of staff was during breakfast on the first day of our stay and can only be described as one of the worst customer service incidents I have ever seen. While we were enjoying our breakfast, a female member of staff began shouting at us, telling us that we must eat our food in the hotel and that we couldn't take it away. It was firstly baffling, as we were clearly sat at a table, eating our food and showed no intent whatsoever of taking food away. It was secondly very embarrassing, as the breakfast hall was full of other customers. Initially we were all speechless, however a member of our party later confronted the staff member as to why she had very publicly berated us. She refused to apologise and stated that we were wrapping food in paper towels to take away. This is potentially the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard. I have never tried to wrap nutella on toast in a paper towel, but I imagine it would be messy at best! She also began another rant about how we were messy. Again this was completely untrue. I have no idea why we were singled out by this rude member of staff, but luckily we did not see her again.

Unfortunately our room was not cleaned during the duration of our 4 night stay, but luckily, we are not messy and spent little time in the room, so cleaning wasn't essential.

I am sure if we asked other members of staff for help or advice regarding Reykjavik or Iceland they would have been very obliging.

All in all, the hotel is superb value and I would probably return if on a budget or as part of a group.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank thomasfew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

this place was perfect for me as i spent most of the time outside the city exploring Iceland. it was nice to get back in the evenings, leave the car next to the hotel and walk to town for drinks and dinner.
breakfast was ok and i staff are quite friendly.
dont expect a lot of comfort and you will be ok . the only thing i didn't like was the noise from guests on the shared kitchen but i guess everyone gets so excited to be there :-)
Accommodation in Iceland is quite expensive so this guesthouse is really good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mauricio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Guesthouse Sunna
Guesthouse Sunna
#5 of 108 in Reykjavik
482 reviews
Miõborg
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
#15 of 108 in Reykjavik
112 reviews
Captain Reykjavik Guesthouse
#11 of 108 in Reykjavik
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blue House
#10 of 108 in Reykjavik
296 reviews
Igdlo Guesthouse
#32 of 108 in Reykjavik
210 reviews
Miõborg
Grettir Guesthouse
Grettir Guesthouse
#27 of 108 in Reykjavik
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Guesthouse

Address: Freyjugata 24, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: $123 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aurora Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Guesthouse is family owned and offers you affordable and comfortable accommodation located in the old part of Reykjavik, Thingholt neighborhood, in a quiet street only minutes walk to some of the main tourist attractions and the heart of the cities cafes, galleries and clubs. Whether you are a solo traveller, a couple, with a group of friends or your family; we have the perfect accommodation for you. We have a variety of rooms in shared or private facilities with made up beds. All guests have access to kitchen facilities whether you are staying in our private or shared accommodation. Are you wanting to book a tour without lining up or getting lost in Tourist Information? Do you want to try an iconic Icelandic Hot Dog or some fabulous Lobster Soup? Come and meet our friendly team who can assist you with this and more; to help your enjoy your Icelandic adventure! A delicious continental breakfast is also included with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Aurora Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing