We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Lamb street food

Lamb street food
Ranked #4 of 575 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Description: Lamb Street Food draws much inspiration from Iceland's rich gastronomic past. Here you'll find the happy marriage of high quality Icelandic ingredients and age-old culinary traditions from the Far East. Quintessentially Icelandic with a taste for world cuisines - all on one plate. Lamb Street Food works closely with Icelandic farmers and producers who supply only the highest quality ingredients.
Restaurant details
Description: Lamb Street Food draws much inspiration from Iceland's rich gastronomic past. Here you'll find the happy marriage of high quality Icelandic ingredients and age-old culinary traditions from the Far East. Quintessentially Icelandic with a taste for world cuisines - all on one plate. Lamb Street Food works closely with Icelandic farmers and producers who supply only the highest quality ingredients.
Reviewed October 16, 2018 via mobile

Have visited this place the last two nights and suffice to say I was very impressed.

Would highly recommend to anyone in the area. Staff are helpful and friendly which is very hard to find here and the two dishes I tried were brilliant.
The chefs special was the best one but the other was still great.
Lamb cooked to perfection and all the ingredients work perfectly together.

Must visit.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank PhilHartley82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita D, Owner at Lamb street food, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2018

Dear PhilHartley82

Thanks for your kind words and recommendation, It´s very much appreciated by me and my staff to get this kind off feedback on our food and work.

Cheers & best regards
Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 146 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2018

Fusion cuisine as a concept is the apotheosis of cultural exchange and can only exist and thrive where there is significant enough trade and travel to allow a local population to fall in love with exotic flavors, then experiment with adding them to the traditional, locally produced fare. Fusion cuisine as the basis for a restaurant is highly risky, and thus that more rewarding when it turns out well.

Lamb Street Food starts with Iceland’s most traditional protein source, locally raised, free-range lamb. That lamb is then compacted into a cone and slowly spit-roasted. This is the same process that is used world-wide for shawarma, gyro, or donner kebab. Most of those street foods around the world are mixed meats, compacted piecemeal of lamb, beef, and/or chicken. Lamb Street Food uses only locally sourced lamb, and the resulting flavor is divine.

The first choice in the complex menu is wrap or plate. The Plate, however, still provides you with the other amazing feature of the restaurant, the house-made flat bread. The difference between the wrap and the plate is that the wrap has only a little veg and sauce wrapped in with an astounding amount of lamb (resulting in a burrito about the width of my forearm and at least half that length), while the plate has that same wrap sliced into sections and arrayed in a salad of fresh, locally sourced from the carbon-reducing geothermal greenhouses of the island. You can build your own wraps, but unless you visit every day, do yourself the great favor of choosing one of the perfectly balanced pre-arranged options. The salad and sauces are fusion of traditional, healthy Icelandic fare with the flavor explosion of Middle-Eastern spicing. The only possible draw-back to the visit is that no shawarma or gyro back home will ever taste as good.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ABQRaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita D, Owner at Lamb street food, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Dear ABQRaz

Thank you for this ever so great review, which I loved reading. It´s wonderful to see and feel that the concept we worked together, ever so carefully, is a success and there are people like you who totally get it - Amazing good feeling :)

Cheers & best regards
Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2018

The lamb is absolutely tender and oh so flavorful. The sauces offer a wide variety of flavor profiles and spice levels. The staff were also wonderfully accommodating to us as English speakers.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita D, Owner at Lamb street food, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2018

Dear Rachel R

Thanks for your nice review. I just want you to know that it´s much appreciated by me and my staff, it keeps us on our toes and feeds us the happyness we need to do our best everyday :)

Cheers & best regards
Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2018

We ate here twice. It was that good. We tried different things on both visits and each was better than the last – and that was saying something!
The place itself is just by the harbour (close to where we were staying). It's a little out of the city centre, which was ideal as it wasn't heaving but had a warm, inviting atmosphere nonetheless.

Friendly service. They prepare the wraps at front of store so you can watch as you sit, waiting with a beer or a water (free – the water, not the beer). For Reykjavik, it's a good price and for delicious food like this you'll have no problem paying. Perfect end to a day touring Iceland's Golden Circle.

A must visit!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frances P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita D, Owner at Lamb street food, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2018

Dear Frances P

I´ve read your review three times already and there´s just one word that comes to my mind - supercalifragilisticexpialidocious :) Thank you!

Cheers & best regards
Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2018 via mobile

Great food, great tastes. You can combine your own or choose one of the suggested wraps and choose falafel or lamb. Great for vegetarians. The bread was good, combination of flavours and the lamb with the touch of pomegranate was wonderful. Worth a try if in the area. Good local beers.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank A6865ENsharons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita D, Owner at Lamb street food, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2018

Dear sharon s

It´s so amazing that people like you take time on their trip to write feedback on our food, you have no idea how much this means to us - Thank you!

Cheers & best regards
Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lamb street food also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Lamb street food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing