We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick, cheap and delicious!”

Baejarins Beztu Pylsur
Ranked #20 of 96 Quick Bites in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: C$4 - C$14
Cuisines: American, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Mioborg
Description: Baejarins beztu pylsur (English: The best hot dog in town) often shortened to simply "Baejarins beztu", is a popular hot dog stand in central Reykjavik, Iceland. In August 2006, the British newspaper The Guardian selected Baejarins beztu as the best hot dog stand in Europe. The majority of Icelanders have eaten at Baejarins beztu. It's downtown near the harbor and has been open since 1937. Foreign visitors are often brought to the stand to introduce them to the hot dogs there, which are often called "the Icelandic national food." Among famous people who have eaten at Baejarins beztu are Bill Clinton, former president of the United States, and James Hetfield, vocalist of the popular heavy metal band Metallica. A hot dog condiments include ketchup, sweet mustard, fried onion, raw onion and remoladi, a mayonnaise-based sauce with sweet relish. Hot dogs are often ordered with "the works," i.E., All condiments, or in Icelandic "eina med ollu".
Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

We stayed right across the street so these Icelandic hot dogs became a bit of an addiction lol. They are very delicious and I would highly recommend going at least once while you are in Reykjavik. It is also where locals like to go, so yes I very much say you have to try it, but don't get all "touristy" and change the toppings/take selfies during busy times. Eat the food exactly how it is prepared and you'll love it!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Briar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (5,654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,061 - 3,065 of 5,656 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2016

Seriously, best hot dog ever! Just go, get the dog with everything, and enjoy. You will not be sorry.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Melvillean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 21, 2016

we saw the long queues and thought this was odd , but joined anyway , and have to say its a pretty good hot dog , since they have been serving in the same location and same recipe since 1937 they must be doing something right , and glad to say we went ( not sure we would say the same if it was raining )

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank GOKMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

It's a hot dog. The quality of which you get at a minor league baseball game. Not terrible, just nothing special. The popularity is baffling but that's the Icelandic obsession with hot dogs.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ironpig-1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 19, 2016

If you're looking for something simple, tasty and cheap in Reykjavik, this is it! Friendly fast service; get your hot dog with The Works, a weird combo that hits the spot. Yummy!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa50UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Baejarins Beztu Pylsur also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Baejarins Beztu Pylsur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.