We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean hotel - about 5/10 minutes walk from Reykjavik centre”
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Excellent for a 3* hotel; much better than some 4* hotels! Rooms were modern and very clean and were cleaned/ change of towels daily. The rooms were compact but not too small and in any case, we didn't spend an awful lot of time in there as we were out seeing the sights and touring. Hotel staff were VERY helpful and arranged visits/ tours/ taxis etc. On the walk in to town, we discovered a Phallological Museum which if we'd stayed right in the centre, we would have missed; definitely a novelty as I have never been to one of those before!! ;)

Food was fine: buffet breakfast with something for everyone but not to everyone's liking as some Brits were (embarrassingly) moaning that there were no full fat fry ups for breakfast; when will our nation learn NOT to expect little England everywhere we go? Somebody will moan there was no kettle in the room: invest in a travel one; I take mine everywhere outside of Britain! There are local restaurants not far; we ate at 2 or 3 different ones, all within a short walk. The hotel does not do lunches or evening meals, although there is a bar for those end of day drinks if you want one.

We had a fantastic time; the hotel was a great base and we would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Icelandair have some good deals if you want package trips/ excursions thrown in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,391 - 1,397 of 1,690 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

First time in Iceland to see Northern Lights (successful!!). Hotel seemed almost brand new and situated just around the corner from the main street. Staff very helpful and could not do enough for us. Breakfast was excellent. Helped to arrange all the trips we wanted. Room was very comfortable and bathroom brilliant.
Will definitely go again.

Room Tip: Room 214 was quiet and seemed brand new on the same floor as reception so no stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moyski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The Hotel Klettur is ideally located, being a ten minute walk from the heart of downtown Reykjavik. The rooms are comfortable, if bland. The whole interior of the hotel is bland though. Beige carpets, walls, and fittings. A splash of colour wouldn't hurt. The room had comfy beds, a good size TV (BBC1, ITV’s 1,2 and 4, and countless European channels, as well as numerous radio stations, including the BBC ones), and a handy fridge. The rooms were hot – they really crank the heating up here!

Breakfast was the standard European fayre; cheese, ham, salami, hard boiled eggs etc, but also locally grown tomatoes, cucumbers and peppers, and a wide selection of breads. Good stuff, and strong coffee to boot. I liked it.

The hotel bar was a disappointment. It’s effectively a counter selling bottles bought from the liquor store, with one draft lager. And it’s not cheap; 1,600k for a pint and a half. Go elsewhere, the ambience will be better and it will be about 40% cheaper. There is no call to spend an evening in here unless you’re totally unadventurous, or very easily pleased.

All in all, it’s a pleasant hotel. Sure, it’s bland, and uninspiring, and full of British package deal tourists, but when you’ve been out and about and witnessed the natural wonders of Iceland, you need something a bit sterile to bring you back to earth.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BloodyHollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Lovely, fairly new, modern hotel. Cannot recommend this hotel enough. Staff were really helpful, and the rooms spacious- we had a deluxe room which came with a lovely balcony. 10 min walk to all the action of Reykjavik which is good as away from the noise of the city. Breakfast also included which was pleasant and definitely a plus as iceland is quite expensive!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitchi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Spent three nights at Hotel Klettur and really enjoyed our stay. Staff were consistently helpful and professional, the room was modern, clean and comfortable. Great walk in shower and nice to have a fridge in the room. Breakfast was good - fruit, yoghurt, ceral, cold meat and cheese, bread/toast, pastries - but was exactly the same every day so would of got boring if we'd had a longer stay. We had a room at the back of the hotel on the sixth floor and the view over the sea and mountains was amazing especially as we had so much snow during our stay. Short (10 min) walk into town - but there were some nice local restaurants close by. No wifi in the room but they have us a cable so we had wired internet connection. Only complaint was that there was no tea and coffee making facilities in the room - so recommend you bring a travel kettle

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJguapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in February on northern lights city break! This hotel is perfectly placed to walk to the downtown area which has numerous restaurants, bars and shops! Front of house staff were very helpful and polite!

The only thing which, in my opinion, would make this hotel better is tea and coffee facilities in the room as it cost 300kr (about £1.50) after breakfast for a cuppa!

Reykjavik as a city is very large and we kept ourselves to the downtown area but found this had plenty to offer! Had some very good food in a couple of restaurants called the Icelandic bar and another that served amazing soup in bread that I can not remember the name of but it is on the main street. The prices in Iceland are reasonable, the same as any European capital basically (about £3 - £3.50 a pint).

We were booked on to a bus tour for the blue lagoon and northern lights. We had 2 very different experiences. The blue lagoon was just a small bus shuttling people to and from the blue lagoon and was perfectly ok! However the northern lights tour was a large bus (62 people) which drove around for 4 hours chasing the lights (we didn't see them). I would highly recommend hiring a car and going yourselves as we did for the golden circle and found it much better as we could stop when we wanted and go to places off the regular route! The front of house at the hotel provided us with routes to travel and places to visit!

All in all this hotel was comfortable, affordable and in a great location! Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulfrank242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in February with breakfast included. Our room was on the 6th floor with a balcony, which was an added surprise! The room had two double beds which were extremely comfortable and the duvets were more than adequate to keep you warm. Both the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and we found the front of house to be very helpful in suggesting tours we could take and they also provided us with general information on the city as a whole. It is only a short 10-15 minute walk from the hotel to the main shopping and restaurant area, although we visited a restaurant called The Pot and Pan which was just around the corner from the hotel which we found to be very good and extremely reasonable in price. The only thing I could suggest to rate this hotel 5/5 would be to have tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
22 Hill Hotel
#26 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,048 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,164 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#35 of 54 in Reykjavik
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#9 of 54 in Reykjavik
825 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#36 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Address: Mjoelnisholt 12-14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $189 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing