We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, easy access ocation”
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Clean tidy hotel with good facilities. Be careful to check room .. first night (of 4 in total), we were allocated the worst room in the hotel (on third level) - easily changed next day. Breakfast in tarrif and very good. Happy hour made beer znd wine proce reasonable for Iceland! All staff, except one, very friendly and helpful. Concierge very helpful with local and airport bus information.

Room Tip: 3rd floor or higher, city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WillGerritson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear WillGerritson,

Thank you for your stay and for your review.
We are glad you liked the hotel facilities and the cleanliness of the rooms. We do apologize for the poor experience and service you encountered during your stay. Service and standards are something that we pride ourselves on and we are disappointed to know that we did not fully succeed this time.
We are glad that the receptionist was able to get you another room the following day. Hope that this didn´t affect your stay in Iceland and that you had a good time.

We We hope to see you in Iceland again.

Kind regards,
hotel Klettur team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

This was our second visit to the Klettur, and the hotel has improved following it's refurb.
The rooms were as before, spotlessly clean, Icelandic spartan, but had everything you could want. And nice and warm.
Breakfast buffet was good, with a reasonable choice of stuff.
Only a 10 minute walk to the centre, so nice and quiet as well.
Hotel desk staff very helpful in booking restaurants & taxis.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chaz-b98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Chaz-b98,

Thank you for your review and your stay. We are happy to read that you liked our refurbishment and that you were happy with the breakfast choices.

We hope to see you in Iceland again!

Kind regards,
hotel Klettur team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Pool table was great for kids. Breakfast selection was very good! Not a long walk into the centre of Reykjavik but shopping isn't a pleasure due to EXTORTIONATE prices! Room was spacious for a city centre.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Kathryn c,

Thank you so much for the great review and for your stay.
We are glad to read that you liked the hotel and that you were happy with the location.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again in Iceland.

Best regards,
hotel Klettur team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Quiet and clean hotel, friendly staff, only 15 min walk to the center of town. Rich and healthy breakfast buffet. Very convenient to start the Iceland vacation. Bus transportation from Keflavik airport.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank activtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear activtraveller,

Thank you for your review and for your stay. We are happy to read that you liked the hotel, the effort from our staff, the selection at breakfast and our convenient location.

We hope to see you in Iceland again.

All best,
Hotel Klettur team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

my friends and I we stayed only for one night on the end of our 1 week trip. the view from our hotel room was disappointing, no view only the next hotel room. But the room was clean and equipped with kettle, coffee and tea. the bathroom was huge with a nice shower.
the breakfast was very nice and variety, also served my favorite breakfast "porridge "....loved it!
I can recommend the hotel is nearly to the city center and reaching by walking very quickly.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Angela K,

Thank you for your review and for your stay.
We are sorry if the view from the room was not really what you wanted. But we are glad to know that you liked the cleanliness, the room facilities and the selection at breakfast.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again in hotel Klettur.

Best regards,
hotel Klettur team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Room was adequate, a bit small but price was low and you can pay more for a bigger room if you care. Location was excellent, near the bus station, moderate walk to downtown, relatively inexpensive (for Iceland) food nearby. The staff at the hotel was very helpful.
I'm not going to book through this website again, though, because when I asked questions about getting twin beds, they told me as if they had checked that there was no guarantee, it would depend on availability. At the hotel, they told me all rooms have twin beds, a double is simply made from the two as needed. So the agent pretended to have contacted the hotel but clearly did not.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Joan F,

Thank you for your feedback and for your stay.

We are glad to read that you liked the effort from our staff and our location.
Our Double rooms either have two separate single beds or twin beds. We are sorry to hear that the agent had not checked this out in advance.

We hope to see you again in hotel Klettur.

Best,
hotel Klettur team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Very nice hotel within walking distance to good shopping and the intriguing Penis Museum. Tasty and plentiful daily breakfast. Helpful staff. If you have an early arriving flight, make certain you book early check-in. It's extra money but well worth it.

In need of a "spiffing up".

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear jtmason,

Thank you for your review and for your feedback.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed the interesting museum, our location, the plentiful breakfast and our awesome team! We appreciate all the kind comments.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
hotel Klettur team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#35 of 55 in Reykjavik
608 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
22 Hill Hotel
#28 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fosshotel Lind
#36 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,020 reviews
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#9 of 55 in Reykjavik
870 reviews
Laugardalur
Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin
#47 of 55 in Reykjavik
2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Address: Mjoelnisholt 12-14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $220 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing