We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spartan but perfect”
Review of Guesthouse Sunna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Guesthouse Sunna
Ranked #6 of 110 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Spartan but perfect”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

It had all the necessary things a room needs, and more. Beds were comfy, the shower got the job done, and the place was quiet at night. The best parts of this place are the wonderful front desk staff that go out of their way to help with all your arrangements, and LOCATION! Our room looked out to the beautiful church. It was walkable to everywhere you need to go. And the breakfast can't be beat. For the price, it was a gem!

Room Tip: Watch out for the friendly cat who wants to sneak in to your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    203
    41
    10
    5
See reviews for
68
191
82
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This moderately priced guesthouse is just off the square which features Hallgrimskirke, the impressive modernist church that dominates Reykjavik's skyline. We had a room with shared facilities facing the side street. Not at all noisy and close to downtown. Our room was quite small but comfortable and there was a small kitchen /dining area which seemed to be shared between 3 maybe 4 rooms. Breakfasts were excellent and plentiful although the breakfast room could become quite crowded.

Room Tip: If anything we would probably pay the bit extra for a room with ensuite. That said they have very se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flathead53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex ,england
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed for five nights in November, booking this direct with the hotel after reading the reviews and we weren't disappointed. The booking process was simple via e-mail with prompt response to questions.The location was perfect and it was only a short walk to the main areas and sights. Our room was on the ground floor and was warm and comfortable. Like others, we would have preferred a double bed or even a double duvet, as we had twin beds pushed together with single duvets. However we can understand the need for this. The bathroom was compact but adequate. The staff were exceptionally helpful, especially Malin, who seemed to be on the desk every time we had a query. Such patience! The breakfast was excellent, with good choices and lovely fresh bread. Totally recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southdownstrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This hotel is in a great location, right beside the big church in Reykjavik and in a quiet area a short walk from the centre. The breakfasts are great with fresh home-made bread every morning (which we could smell baking the night before), hardboiled eggs, cheese, ham and fruit.

The only reason I didn't rate the hotel higher is that the room we were in had twin beds pushed together with separate duvets, which I know is common in Europe but not very comfortable or romantic for a couple. The beds were also a bit too soft for our tastes. Otherwise, it was excellent value for money and the people at the hotel were very helpful.

If anyone wants a suggestion for somewhere to eat near to this hotel, we loved eating at Cafe Garðurinn on Klapparstígur 37. They do great vegetarian food, good tea and coffee (including different types of tea) and a chocolate cake to die for. If they were open on Sundays we would have gone there every day.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katyajv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We booked the double room with private bath. It turned out to be a large apartment with a full kitchen and sofa and plenty of space. Bathroom was small but adequate. TV had a DVD player and the shop around the corner rents cheap DVDs. Breakfast was always fresh and delicious. Internet access plus a guest computer at reception. Walking distance to everything in Reykjavik. And basically the same price as a hostel. Only downside is it's still central enough that you can hear late-night drunken foot traffic, so bring ear plugs for the weekends.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuquesouq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Guesthouse Sunna was clean and perfectly-located. Everything was within a short walk away, there was parking available for our rental car, but it was not too close to the bars so we never had to worry about bar crawlers. The 1-bedroom apt we stayed in was very roomy with comfortable beds and nice furniture. Having a fully-equipped kitchen and a supermarket within walking distance worked out really well for me, my husband, and my brother. The breakfast was very good as well. The only thing is, the windows were not as well covered with the blinds, so if you need absolute darkness when you go to sleep, you may need to bring a sleeping mask.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilingtraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I can not speak highly enough about the excellent experience we had while staying at Sunna. The welcoming staff, the delicious (and varied) breakfast selections, the cleanliness throughout, the on-site parking and the central location (easily within walking distance to historical areas, the harbour and even the domestic airport).
We were fortunate enough to have booked an apartment which we found very roomy and we made good use of the well equipped kitchen - a bonus for families.
I look forward to a return visit - a home away from home !!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reunion70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,156 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#26 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,344 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Sunna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Sunna

Property: Guesthouse Sunna
Address: Thorsgata 26, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Sunna 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern, family owned guest house in a "country hotel style".Well located in the old city center. Across the street from Hallgrims church and the beautiful sculpture garden of The National Einar Jensson Gallery. The Flybus from Keflavik airport stops right at our doorstep. Only a few minutes walk away from the busy streets with popular cafes and restaurants, good variety of shops, museums and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Guesthouse Sunna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Sunna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing