We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centerhotel Arnarhvoll

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Knebel, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Modern hotel with excellent location, two minutes from the old town and shopping streets, overlooking the sea and mountains.

Some free parking behind the hotel, alternatively there is pay parking in front of the hotel. It costs almost nothing. (think it was £ 0,5, - pr. hour in the first 2 hours, then £ 0,05, - afterwards. Free between 18.00 - 10.00, and on sundays.

The hotel is beautifully presented, although there are some discrepancies in the design. We had a Superior Room, but spatially, it was not spectacular, but fine for us. If the standard rooms are smaller, there is not much space to deal with. There are no lockers, but a couple of free-hanging shelves and a hanging rail - just enough.

We had excellent views of sea and mountains, tea and coffee, minibar, iron, safety box, etc. in the room. Very good bed and a small table w / 2 chairs. Also desk with chair.

Missing a curtain on one of the windows was not a big problem, but sloppy.

The bathroom was with tub, but the shield made​​, so everything was wet after the bath. Nice little SPA-department in the basement with steam room, sauna and hot tub for up to 8 people.(free admission with a superior room, otherwise it costs € 10, I think.)

The staff was very professional, good service and proper cleaning.

Breakfast was ok with the usual international selection , but no variation over the 8 nights we had.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomaslech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    554
    188
    33
    19
See reviews for
151
683
81
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed at the Centerhotel Arnarhvoll for 4 nights in February 2012 and found it to be excellent for what we needed. There are about 5 Centerhotels in Reykjavik, but this hotel is located right opposite the Harpa concert hall and our room on the 6th floor looked out over the water with a beautiful view of Mount Esja. It's a couple of streets off the main drag so is much more quiet than some of the hotels we saw but is also close enough to be in the centre of everything. The walk into town took only a couple of minutes, and it's also very close to the Gray Line bus terminal which opperates several excursions around Iceland.

The room itself was on the small side but we only used it to sleep so it wasn't a problem. The bed was extremely comfortable and the tv seemed to be full of UK channels (BBC, ITV, etc...) The only downside to the room was the bathroom, which seemed to be more of a wet room. There was a toilet and sink, but the shower was rather strange and got the whole bathroom floor completely wet after use. For what is supposed to be a 'high end' hotel (according to our guide book) the bathroom could have been better. But it wasn't enough to spoil our stay.

Breakfast is upstairs on the top floor, overlooking the water and town. There was a good selection of food on offer, my favourite being the waffle making machine! There was also cereal, cold meats and cheeses, hot food like beans, scrambles eggs and sausages as well as fruit and bread for toasting. We filled up on this before venturing out as Iceland is on the expensive side.

The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, and one lady recommended the Iceland Bar to us for somewhere to eat local yet inexpensive (for Iceland!) food. It was lovely and we went back a few times.

The hotel is one of the many on the pick up list for the Fly Bus service from the airport. Our pick up on the last day was at 5:30am so we thought we would miss out on breakfast but the front desk arranged for coffee, juice and croissants to be waiting for us in the lobby so we could eat before we left.

If I came back to Iceland, I would probably opt for an apartment because eating out can get rather expensive on top of all the trips, so i'd pack my suitcase full of food and visit the supermarket for cheaper eating options, but I have no problems in recommending the Centerhotel Arnarhvoll to anyone looking for a relaxing stay in Reykjavik.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a high floor overlooking the water, and it was perfect. Lovely view of Moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saraviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Completely by accident we found this hotel is in the perfect location in Reykjavik - right on the edge of the historic and popular Downtown 101 district, close to all the shopping, restaurants, bars, museums and galleries, and the Old Harbour, but just far enough away (only a few hundred yards) to be quiet at night. The views from the front of the hotel and the Panorama Restaurant (on the 8th floor) are spectacular, over Flaxafloi Bay to Mount Esja, and across to the new Harpa Concert Hall (which cleverly lights itself up as a sort of light show at night).
Our room was clean and comfortable with underfloor heating, although a wardrobe rather than just hanging space, and some drawers, would have been useful! The bed was comfortable too, with a very good mattress. It was great having free internet access in the room. However, the bathroom was small and the shower/wet room was a pain, soaking everything in sight.
The breakfast was very good - a buffet with plenty of choice: cooked foods, continental, toast, fruit, cereal and waffles.
Finally, the staff were all very friendly and helpful, and spoke excellent English.
All in all, a very good choice for a reasonably-priced hotel in an excellent location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel, overlooking the bay and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennies-from-Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewood, Kentucky
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

This hotel had it's pros and cons. The view from my room was GREAT!! Lots of space inside the room. I booked it because it wasn't located on the main road with noise. Noise from outside wasn't an issue at all but the noise on the inside was HORRIBLE! The walls were so thin so I could hear everything. People walking on the tile floor above me, every door slamming in the hallway, the cleaning people cleaning rooms close by... it was bad!! I slept with earplugs every night and sometimes even that wasn't enough. I don't think I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KYtraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We originally booked Centerhotel Thingholt but due to overbooking we also spent a few nights here. Whilst I still prefered Thingholt we had a very pleasant stay here. The location is good - just off the main street so you miss the noise of the busy bars. The location is also handy for the Grey Line ticket office.
We had a deluxe room with an ocean view - whilst I imagine this would be beautiful in the Summertime we could not see much of the ocean for the dark. The room was clean and modern but had little space for our luggage.
The breakfast is okay but the buffet system doesn't really work. Often couldn't get a seat because of how busy it was in the restaurant. Good views from the restaurant though, we stayed over NYE and watched the fireworks from the rooftop.
The spa was nice but one of the steamrooms was broken, there were glasses left around the jacuzzi and the lights flickered. Could be very relaxing and romantic with a bit of upkeep!

Overall we had a lovely stay here and thoroughly enjoyed Iceland. I would look at Thingholt though for a more stylish and central stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The room was clean and spacious, but very spartan furnishing, no closet space. Good bed. Nice spa (hot tub/sauna/steam room) in the basement. No lobby to speak of. fron desk staff very nice and helpful with reservation and information.
The carpets in the corridors were dirty and badly in need of refurbishing.
Breakfast buffet choices limited and food overall not very good

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gino41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolind, Denmark
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed in July 2011 (yeah, I'm a bit late in reviewing, I know...). Hotel was located centrally, was very clean and while not spacious, was certainly adequate in size for our needs - which consisted of sleep, showering and changing clothes!

Check in staff, while not warm, were certainly professional and efficient. We were able to find parking in the hotel's adjacent lot for most of the stay (the sole exception was late Sat nite, and we found on street parking literally across the street). Did not dine there.

All in all, everything we expected, and at a very reasonable price for Reykjavik.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the bay/sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
CenterHotel Thingholt
#18 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
CenterHotel Plaza
CenterHotel Plaza
#35 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerhotel Arnarhvoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerhotel Arnarhvoll

Property: Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Address: Ingolfsstraeti 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centerhotel Arnarhvoll 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Centerhotel Arnarhvoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll Reykjavík
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing